We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clube Humbria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Clube Humbria to your Saves list
Clube Humbria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada de Albufeira, Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200-609, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Olhos de Agua
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Before i begin this hotel as others have mentioned is not 4 star more 3 star, but this is only a slight gripe. The hotel itself is good with the normal reception and bar area (bar by reception does not open till the evening) with a shop (can be expensive). Swimming pool is not the biggest with a rather strange hedge around it which restricts the amount of sunbed space hence the lack of available beds by the pool. It also restricts the view if like me you need to watch your children in the pool but overall the kids enjoyed it.( that's what counts). Restaurant was good with alright selection of food one meat dish one fish dish but never had any problems. The bar was ok and entertainment was more for the kids not for adults, one thing with regards to the bar is the limited selection of drinks ( beer wine brandy vodka rum) cocktails were out of a machine and sangra was on tap. Would not return but this is due to location not hotel as its 15 min in taxi to alberfura about 10 euros.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    522
    303
    116
    58
See reviews for
642
310
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is the first review I have ever written and want to give an open and honest evaluation of a hotel, that with only a few improvements, could be really good value for money. We have just returned from Club Humbria on 7th September 2013 after a two week holiday. Good points first....the surrounding apartments you see around the pool area are really lovely. The apartments are sympathetically built in a traditional portugese style and when lying on the sun beds around the pool you would assume you are truly staying in a 4* hotel.
The larger pool area is quite good too. The service at meal times is pretty good, the waiting staff are polite and attentive and only too happy to help. You have to wait to be seated and it would be wise to avoid busy periods (i.e., 9.30am and 9pm) as there can be long queues however we weren't waiting too long, perhaps around 10mins at the most. I was surprised at the quality of the draft red wine and beer, very good and I'm pretty fussy about my wine! The apartments are very spacious and have a small kitchen area which is unusual for an all inclusive hotel. The beds are comfortable and even the sofa beds are pretty good. Breakfast pretty good, no complaints.
Not so good points.......there must be a limited number of staff, particularly cleaning staff as the communal areas leading up to the apartments were not clean for instance there was a dead moth, fluff balls on the stairs for 2 weeks (minor issue that we could overlook but couldn't help but feel slightly irritated as it doesn't take much to quickly sweep the stairwell/landing/lifts (it is not a particularly large hotel holding a maximum of 750 guests) - made me think how often they were cleaned which then puts doubt about cleanliness in other areas). Outisde bar area where they serve drinks and snacks from 12pm to 5.30pm very shoddy - the tables and chairs could do with an update and the mess was at times shocking with chips, plastic cups, paper plates etc. strewn all over the place - I noticed that from 12-5.30 apart from the bar staff clearing what they could from the tables the surrounding areas weren't touched until morning most days. The food around the bar area very poor with a choice of ice cream (strawberry or chocolate); chips; burger (AWFUL); processed ham/chicken, tuna rolls.
Food in the restaurant pretty basic with limited choice, fish (often overcooked), meat (not always cooked well and the meat/lamb/beef/pork chewy most of the time) - salad choices pretty good - deserts pretty basic with lots of defosted (sometimes still frozen) gateaux'. Children's menu pretty poor with something different every night ranging from burgers (slightly better than those served around the pool); pizza (really nice); fishcakes (dubious); chicken nuggets (only on one night out of 14) and often they would put up a meat dish that I wouldn't dare give to my 4 year old in case she choked as it was soooo chewy. The soup and pasta dishes were pretty good, we tried every one they had and couldn't complain. I am being a little picky here but I love my food and with just a bit more choice the food could be vastly improved.
Beds around the pool area needed repair/replacement, didn't seem to be enough either with many people using the grassed areas away from the pool. Not many parasols and what were there were falling apart - most of the guests bought there own from a local shop for 7 euros! If you have a buggy you will find the hotel pretty difficult to get around as we did. There are ramps however they are sooo steep - my husband had to push her down/up them as I kept slipping. You cannot get to the kids club with your buggy unless there are two of you to carry the buggy up and down the steps. The doors in/out of the hotel difficult to get the buggy in and out of - manageable but frustrating! We weren't expecting too much from the entertainment however were hoping that our 4 year old would be kept interested however we felt really disappointed. Daniel, Ruben and Rita were pretty talented and great with the kids (especially the older kids). When they turned up for the kids club it was good and our daughter and others' kids seemed to enjoy it however most days they didn't even show up and we would be waiting 45 minutes, my husband complained however they were pretty relaxed about it saying "sometimes there isn't enough people turn up" a poor excuse really as if they turned up they would see people waiting! The evening entertainment not good but could be vastly improved - there was a mini disco for only half an hour that the kids thoroughly enjoyed however from 9.30 til 11pm it was pretty dire. One night out of 14 Rita, Daniel and Ruben put on a Grease show and it was great - this was the only decent entertainment that the whole family could enjoy - they are pretty talented and could have put more effort in providing similar shows rather than the odd quiz or odd/bizarre 'sketch' show that we found difficult to understand (acting was good though!)
Anyway all in all this holiday was ok but would never go back - it really could be so much better with just a few improvements.
Amanda and Andrew - North Yorkshire

Room Tip: block f facing the pool - good, quiet location with a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here in 2010 NOT 2013 (Girlfriend and 3yr old son) on an all inclusive basis and we were very impressed with the hotel as it was very nice inside and always very clean. There was a vast amount of food available at meal times with huge array of fruit on offer. The food was nice but after a few days we were starting to struggle to build a main meal in the evening but managed by trying some of the more odd looking offerings. The area the hotel is in wasn't very busy with the beach a good 15 minute walk away down a very steep road. we made this trip 2-3 times out of the 7 as the pool area despite being very nice was a bit oddly shaped and made it cramped with sun beds etc I would stay here again with a second thought just the location and the distance from any shops and restaurants put me off

Room Tip: A pool view Away from the Bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

If this is your first All inclusive holiday or even your first foreign holiday you will probably be quite pleased with the Clube Humbria.
I have to say though, that we have stayed 4 star before and have stayed 2 star before .... and this is NOT 4 star !
We wanted a quiet week away so we booked the first week in Sept, expecting all the kids to have gone back to school. Sure enough all the British kids dutifully disappeared on the Tuesday, only to be replaced by 100s of foreign, pre- school screamers. It was our fault for not doing our research properly. Just a cautionary note for anyone in the same situation.
The pool area is like a pavement about 3 meters wide around pool backed by a hedge. It looks very nice but restricts the pool side to a one sun-bed depth. Consequently beds are jams packed next to each other around the pool only 1 deep. The only other option is to go on the grassy area, but then the hedge is in the way of the pool. This is a major design failing in my opinion.
By the pool you are literally rubbing shoulders with a half naked stranger who then proceeds to erect a 3 metre sun shade and blocks the sunlight to a dozen sun worshippers just so they can read their Ipad.
If the hedge was removed and the grassy hill area was dug out or terraced they could triple the poolside hard standing area instantly and vastly improve things.
Rooms - We had a large clean apartment, No Bugs or ants, cleaned daily (eventually, could be anytime up to 5.30). There is Aircon’ and a fan in both rooms.
Our shower head was held together with tape and dispensed a choice of, dangerously hot or freezing cold water. Well when I say a “choice”, that indicates some degree of control. it’s actually more of a lottery as to what you get.
There is a small portable TV which can be moved into the bedroom if required. A couple of English TV channels.
Our room had a nice large balcony with plenty of room for table, 2 plastic chairs and the large fold out airer / clothes drier. (supplied). Be aware though that not all room balconies are this big.
Bar - Pool bar open from 12.00 and gets large queues with people waiting for snacks etc. Go to the inside bar which is generally a lot quieter during the day. Although the bar staff do tend to disappear for a while, when they return service is quick.
Nice clean big restaurant, with plenty of seating. Only problem is that they insist on seating you. This causes long queues at peak times. It’s unnecessary but it probably earns them and extra star. Strange to have a 4 star maitre D’ service but they still allow people in wearing swimming shorts and vest tops.
Food - what there is, is good but very limited.
Breakfast has the usual A.I. selection but just not every item every day.
Good beans, burned fried eggs, good scrambled eggs, horrendous excuse for bacon, small spicy foreign sausages, selection of breads, cheese, ham, cereals, fruit etc.
Lunch and dinner consists of only 2 main dish choices 1 usually fish based the other meat. No kids area for chips burgers etc. Good deserts but generally an appalling lack of choice for a large 4 star hotel. I could understand it if this was a small, family run hotel but this place has nearly 200 rooms.
One evening the dinner menu was a choice of garlic smothered fish or Pork (which a lot of people don’t eat).
We ate out for 3 x evening meals and 4 x lunches, something we have never had to do previously on All inclusive. Especially at a 4 star!
Six coffee machines dispensing all sorts of strange tasting brews. My advice is to go for the older looking one, press for the button just marked “coffee” and use the breakfast milk jugs to top up. That’s about as close you will get to a normal cup of coffee.
Tips .... Go prepared for a 2 star hotel, go out of season if possible and don’t expect to spend too much time at the poolside. If you are not fussy what you eat and can get this hotel cheap then I’m sure you will have a lovely time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband an I and our 2 children of ages 6 an 1 spent a week here. It was a fabulous family holiday. The weather was
Lovely but the hotel itself was gorgeous. The all inclusive was a great option with 2 children. The food had a reasonable amount of choices but tasted fantastic! The accommodation was immaculate and staff were cleaning an maintaining all the time! The facilities were good an the childrens pool ideal for my children's ages. My children loved the kids entertainment from 8.30-9pm but the evening entertainment wasn't amazing but served a purpose! A little walk to a gorgeous beach an some lovely local shops. People were friendly an atmosphere great! we will definitely return here! :-) family based holiday!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Was really pleasantly surprised by this little gem of a hotel.
Our family (two adults, two children aged 7 and 12) visited in the last week of August 2013.
The hotel was lovely to be honest, not too big to feel impersonal yet big enough to offer some great facilities, food and entertainment.
The room we had was a spacious one bedroomed room apartment, the lounge contained two sofa beds for the kids, doors out onto the balcony, and also had a little kitchen area which had a dining table, as well as a hob and sink (which wasn't much use to us as we went All Inclusive, however the fridge was handy), the main bedroom was a good size comprising of a double bed, large fitted wardrobes and (again) doors out onto the balcony.
We were lucky to be in Block F, which is one of the furthest away from the bar area, so we never got much noise and unlike many of these places the air conditioning was brilliant in the rooms (which is handy for getting kiddies off to sleep).
We only went in the larger of the two pools. On a few days we were lucky enough to get seating round the pool (as the towel-placing brigade were up before we were!!), but the pool area is also surrounded by grassy slopes which have sun beds on too (or you could simply place your towel on the grass to relax in the sun). Pool never got too busy, definitely more a family pool than one for a relaxing swim (but then that's what we went for).
I thought the meals were good to be honest. At lunch and dinner, after the usual soup and bread, there was always a meat and fish dish, along with vegetables and some sort of potato (wedges, chips, fries, etc), rice, there was always a vegetarian option, and pasta dishes and sauces. In addition to this there was a fabulous salad section, and these were just to die for. Desserts were varied and plentiful, also you had the choice of soft drinks (coke, sprite), fruit juices, red & white wine, and two varieties of the local beer, Super Bock (both the stout and lager) that you could help yourself too.
Breakfast featured cereals, yogurt, porridge, toast, bread, cheese, fresh meats and either bacon or sausage with eggs and bacon.
Food was always replenished quickly (was never left out for long), and the hygiene in the food serving and dining areas was great.
As well as the restaurant, there was also the pool bar (which was a firm favourite with the kids), which served cold drinks, burgers, fries and an array of sandwiches between midday and half five. This was really handy if you were planning to have a later dinner to give the kids a quick snack after they'd spent hours in the pool. My daughter would also have me point out that the pool bar also served individual pots of ice cream (chocolate and vanilla & strawberry and vanilla) which proved to be a big hit with her. If you were heading out for a day trip, and let them know in advance, the hotel would also arrange a packed lunch for you, which I thought was a nice touch.
Drinks were also available from the Melody bar, but you should be warned that this was only open until eleven. Now whilst this didn't really bother us (when you're on holiday with the kiddies, all night binges are really out of the question), I did hear a couple of people grumble about that. Local spirits, wines and beers were all lovely, the bar staff were friendly and efficient and whilst seating was scarce when the mini disco was on, it soon became available once the younger ones had had a dance!
All of the staff were fabulous (despite seeming to work incredibly long hours) and really appreciated my iffy attempts at Portuguese!!
Special mention should go out to the entertainment crew though, who ran activities throughout the day and into the evening, for the adults and kids. They also ran the mini disco for the little ones each evening (again, big hit with my daughter) and did shows after that too for all of the family (sketch shows, quizzes, even a parrot show). They were brilliant.
Olhos de Agua itself was nice and relaxed, those looking for a lively night life might have been a bit disappointed (although there were a full compliment of bars and restaurants not more than five minutes walk away), and there was a very nice beach about the same distance too. There are also supermarkets, shops selling beach/pool stuff as well as more traditional gifts right on your doorstep. The hotel ran coaches into Albufeira, but if there were a few of you, you'd probably find a taxi a little cheaper.
All in all, it was a lovely hotel. Not five star luxury, perhaps, but it kept it's clean, welcoming, friendly (and fun!). Whilst it's probably not for couples or those out on the razz, it's a good family destination which ticked all the boxes for us.
Only complaint I could have was that occasionally the water pressure in the shower could be a bit erratic - but that's not going to spoil anyones holiday.

Room Tip: Try and request block E or F, preferably with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I must apologise, this review is very overdue as I have had 3 trips here with my family.
I was really impressed with the hotel. The staff are very plesant and helpful.
We returned here for the last few years because our two children are quite young and they enjoyed the freedom of a bigger apartment style room.
By all means you get what you pay for and it is basic but it was such a good size and had everything we needed.
The kids entertainment was quite repetitive but they LOVED it. The entertainment crew worked tirelessly to keep the kids entertained! Youll be singing chu chu wa in your head when you leave!! They also do alot for afults providing games and quizzes. Credit to them.... they always had something going on - handy especially on the odd rainy day!
Its in a great location, close to the beach and local shops and a pharmacy. not for those who want a crazy drinking holiday, but definetly fantastic for families.
Food was good and always alot of choice. Those who complain that thier children didnt like the food probably need to get them out if mcdonnalds and encourage them to try something new. Its not all about chips, you know.
To be honest I would probably return again.
Well done clube humbria! ! X

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clube Humbria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clube Humbria

Address: Estrada de Albufeira, Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200-609, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Olhos de Agua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Olhos de Agua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clube Humbria 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clube Humbria is a resort set in its own decorative gardens this complex enjoys a quiet location in the relaxed resort of Olhos de Água. Comprising a number of low-rise buildings all clustered around the central pool, the apartments have been tastefully decorated to provide bright, comfortable self-catering accommodation.There is a good selection of on-site facilities available and with the resort center and beach close by it's sure to be a hit with adults and children alike.The hotel provides an ALL INCLUSIVE service to all clients all year around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Clube Humbria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Humbria Albufeira
Clube Humbria Algarve
Clube Humbria Olhos De Agua, Portugal - Albufeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clube Humbria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.