We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bar - shame about the barman” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Friends Bar

Friends Bar
Rua Da Ladeira, Olhos de Agua, Albufeira, Portugal
+351289516017
Improve this listing
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Bars
Attraction details
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice bar - shame about the barman”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have been visiting Olhos d agua for 10 years and have been going to Freinds Bar since it opened in 2009. We initially thought Ricardo was nice and we got to know him really well. we have since changed our opinion. He gets the face on if we don't go to the bar every night and sometimes we find him very rude and unwelcoming. We will be visiting Portugal this year but doubt very much if we will be frequenting the bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    17
    6
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Time to turn it down a bit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Have been visiting Friends Bar on a regular basis for years now during our April and October sojourns in the village and have always enjoyed it for a quiet drink to finish off the evening. This lovely smart, spotlessly clean and tidy establishment has unquestionably attracted the 55+ age bracket who do appreciate the above – especially the relative quiet – but for some reason Ricardo the owner now insists on playing lively, modern rappy style music far too noisily. Requests to turn it down are complied to with a barely concealed reluctance but at the earliest opportunity it will be inched up. If Ricardo wants his higher age bracket ‘off season’ clientele to remain loyal then he should take note and at least change the music and tone it down a bit. We met many on our latest visit who are very much of a similar opinion.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friends_bar, Owner at Friends Bar, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Sorry to read your comments but I feel I need to express on the music we cover is the same as when we opened in July 2009, all that has been added is the latest NOW Albums with the chart music on and they are played on a shuffle basis. We are on a sound limit machine which is by law in Albufeira Council and monitored on a weekly basis and we are always below the legal level. If you do not like a record or wish the music to be turned down then Ricardo will do so, but some records play louder than others. I'm sorry that on this occassion you did not enjoy your visit and hope to see you in 2013 if you visit the village again. Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best night spent in Portugal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stumbled apon this amazing place when heading for a taxi after a dissapointing meal. Well our spirits were lifted. At first we were sitting outside listening to the music but as people moved away we moved inside. Well we had such a laugh! The music was so lively and then the waiter started to get people up to dance, not omitting anyone, he even singled out a special needs girl who was just so chuffed, it would have taken a tear from a stone. Because of this wonderful evening at Friends we more than likely will stay in Alhos de Agua on our next visit to Portugal. Well done to all involved in this great bar. Portugeese tourism give this place an award please

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friends_bar, Owner at Friends Bar, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
As there is not an area to put a message I would like to thank everyone who has taken the time to visit our bar over the years and who have reviewed us good or bad as it all helps to improve our service. I would like to wish everyone a Happy Xmas and New Year and we hope to see you all again in 2013. Sarah & Ricardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“only one drink”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

only had the one drink in case we woke the customers up,really very quiet.beer wasnt too clever either,and too make matters worse england were playing on the tv atmosphere zero.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friends_bar, Owner at Friends Bar, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our bar, I would like to point out that the England game was the one that got cancelled from the day before and we opened early to cover it at 16:00 kick off, if you have visited the bar, the night before you would have found we were full with plenty of life. You will find that we are a bar that most people come in pre-dinner for a quite drink and then after dinner drinks. I feel your comments about our customers to be a bit rude towards them and I'm not sure how you want people to be at 16:00 in the afternoon, if you want somewhere OTT then you will find the Strip or Old Town Albufeira is the place to go. Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fab Bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Really good bar - lovely chilled out atmosphere. The bar is done out to a really high standard and the bar man is always tidying and making sure everyone is ok.
The cocktails and champagne sangria are amazing!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friends Bar also viewed

Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Friends Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friends Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.