We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rare 2nd Visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Cantina

A Cantina
Estrada d Albufeira, Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200 609, Portugal
289 580387
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 34 restaurants in Olhos de Agua
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Sheffield
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Rare 2nd Visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We enjoy trying different restaurants on holiday but after we'd had our first visit to A Cantina we decided to return on our last night.

The steak on the stone is amazing, served with two relatively two small pots of sauce (but more than enough for me), butter to fry your steak in and a portion of chips. The steak can be cooked to however you like it, it's obviously good quality meat as it really did melt in the mouth.

The restaurant is decorated in a modern style making it quite different to the rest of the restaurants in the local area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    36
    14
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
preston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A little bit different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

On a two week stay in Olhos de Agua, you can really begin to get weary of vegetable soup and piri piri chicken. So my Veal and Bacon kebab was a bit of a welcome change, and the choice of side vegetables was a little different, and overall I was pretty impressed with the restaurant. A small menu, which isn't always a bad thing, and attentive service, coupled with a nice ambience, just makes A Cantina stand out slightly from other eateries in the area. Will be back to try their Lamb and Chicken dishes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Had steak on the stone fabulous. Service was excellent This my second visit to this restaurant and is great value for money. Staff are also very pleasant

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I will not forget what a pleasant night i had with my wife, having dinner at this restaurant. We ate a fillet steak with béarnaise sauce, accompanied by a spectacular Douro wine. I sensed a real good ambiance (the service was impeccable and very friendly) and found myself bathed by the warm light of the sunset. I strongly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Albufeira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Been staying in Albufeira for a week and tried lots of different restaurants, some good and some bad, but can honestly say this is the best restaurant in Albufeira, would highly recommend to anyone, service is excellent and food is fantastic, if you like steak, ask for steak on the stone, I promise you won't be disappointed. Also good value for money with set menu for €10.90 for 3 courses

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Cantina also viewed

Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
 
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
 

Been to A Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.