We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even Better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jollies Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

Jollies Restaurant and Bar
Estrada de Albufeira | Urbanizacao Plosser. Lt1, Olhos de Agua, Albufeira, Portugal
289 501071; 915 074194
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Even Better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We visited this gem of a restaurant for the first time in September 2012 and when we returned during May this year we could not believe it was even better. The warm welcome, great service and most importantly the wonderful traditional home cooked food meant we were regular visitors during our weeks holiday. We can wholeheartedly recommend this wonderful restaurant and bar.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    59
    23
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Slow service medioka food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Arrived late about8 pm to faro went here for dinner , waited twenty minutes before we were spoken to, to then be told we'd be waiting we didnt mind at first took an hour and half to get something to eat and eat it rubbish service rubbish food snack bar next door was better

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Simple and unpretentious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Visited here based on the number of great reviews here and was not disappointed...my lemon sole simply melted in my mouth. Simply cooked with potatoes and salad...a far cry from some of the overpriced and pretentious restaurants in Albufeira. Decided to go back on the following night but it was full! Had to go back later and managed to squeeze in a desert this time. Very nice couple who actually makes their own piri piri sauce...wish I could have bought some back to England. A gem of a place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Genuine home cooked food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

What a great little place! Travelling along the main road in Olhos de Agua, you could easily blink and miss this place....it does not feature a slick looking and expensive premises like so many of the larger 'bland' establishments littering the sprawl of Albufeira. Instead, what you have here is a family run smaller premises offering honest food at a good price.

The atmosphere is good, the service is great, its no wonder so many people obviously come back to visit this restaurant again.

We had two nice meals here, the owners were working hard, especially as on our second visit the place was full for most of the evening. I can especially recommend the Piri piri chicken; it was a relief to finally find an establishment that could serve piri-piri without it being small dry shrivelled pieces of chicken wing!!

All the best to the owners!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Wales
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Did not enjoy at all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Went here on the strength of its esteemed reputation on TripAdvisor. Did not enjoy the food (chips were hard), didn't feel the cutlery/dishes were in the best condition. The service was OK and the staff were friendly but I did feel a sense of relief when I left. I would not visit again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jollies Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
 
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jollies Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.