We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta das Achadas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Quinta das Achadas to your Saves list
Quinta das Achadas
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Rua da Barragem | Lagos, Odiaxere 8600-251, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Odiaxere B&B and Inns
NH, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent a wonderful week at this lovely Quinta. The breakfasts were great, The few dinners we had there were the best of our vacation. And they are happy to pack a lunch for you if you want one. Jill and Julio know all the best walking paths, beaches and pubs. Great for a single, couple or family, though if you want noise and nightlife this isn't the place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    17
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
52
78
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at Quinta das Achadas for a week towards end of February. The setting and the quinta are beautiful - a real sense of peace about the surroundings - and Jill and Julio are friendly, amiable hosts. It was a real plus to be able to have a lie-in until 10 and still be in time for breakfast and an even bigger plus to eat it outside in the sunshine. And fresh orange juice straight from the quinta's orange trees - Tropicana will never taste the same again!!
Lots of great walks in the area, beautiful beaches and there are lots of walking notes at the quinta itself that you are able to borrow. Jill gave us some great recommendations for walks and beaches too.
We ate well most nights too - great area for seafood as you'd expect.
I'm sure Quinta das Achadas would be a wonderful place to relax when it's warmer too - a great, hassle-free retreat. Recommended.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Jill and Julio gave us a warm welcome,and they continued to enable us to have a real experience of a relaxing holiday exploring the Algarve coast and hinterland. We were given excellent breakfasts at times of our own choice,which set us up for the day to discover the beautiful coastline on the south and west of the Algarve. Evening meals were delicious using locally grown foods in season.
We would unreservedly recommend Quinta das Achadas for an excellent holiday and return to the UK refreshed. Richard and Shirley.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

A stress-free week was had at the Qunita - our first visit, but we were welcomed like friends and nothing was too much trouble. It's quiet and tucked away, but close enough for lots of fantastic sites to be accessible; and Jill and Julio are happy to make recommendations. Even though the week was a little wet there was plenty to do - the zoo, time on the beach and a few of the sites, not to mention feeding the pigs and the chickens when the idea of driving anywhere didn't appeal. Breakfast is a relaxed and filling affair and the dinners were lovely. Thank you Jill and Julio!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our third time, and that is a quite a weird thing, because we wouldn't normally go to the same place two years running, never mind three - but t we now feel like we are visiting friends. The Quinta is a great place to travel to with a small child - there is plenty of entertainment on site (dogs, pigs, chickens, the pool, the playground and many toys and books) and nearby, from a trip to the beach (bucket and spade provided by our hosts!) and the surprisingly lovely zoo in Lagos with a large petting zoo area - our son's face when hearing a donkey bray for the first time was worth the entry price alone. Plus, there is the added bonus of other interesting guests to chat to over breakfast, dinner or a a few bottles of wine, and nice thick farmhouse walls to keep worries over screaming tantrums to a minimum.

Room Tip: All rooms are charming, but booking the ones with cooking facilities gives more choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrabassett Valley, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

After long stressful travel, Jill greeted us (2 couples) with beer and wine and we immediately felt like friends. It only got better from that time on. Jill and Julio prepared dinner and we joined them and the other quests (all repeat guests, now friends, of Jill & Julio) for dinner on the rooftop patio. What a great evening! .... That evening was one of the highlights of our 2&1/2 weeks in Portugal! It was a great meal, with great wine, interesting conversation and lots of humor! ... A fun way to start our vacation which included an 8 day bike trip in Northern Portugal. Or rooms were great with breakfast served on the patio right outside our door. Jill & Julio were extremely helpful in recommending and giving detailed information as to how we might optimize our three days in the area ... restaurants, activities, hikes, etc. .. If looking for a place to stay in the area, stay here ... Julio will take your breakfast order then walk to the hen house to get the eggs ... BUT, he will humorously recommend that you carry your dirty dishes to the kitchen. :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was our third visit to Jill & Julio's but our first 2 week stay and with our friends from California in tow for part of our stay. We love the peaceful setting of the Quinta and the apartments and rooms are superbly appointed and very comfortable. Of course we have our favourite but if that wasn't available, we would stay in any of the others. The location is perfect for exploring the quieter end of the Algarve. Each year we still find different coves, villages and new restaurants to visit, all delightful but with some of our favourites actually being in Odiaxere itself. However, one of the highlights of our stay is always the camaraderie between Jill & Julio and the rest of the guests, particularly at the evening dinners they host either up on the roof terrace or down on the covered patio, depending on the temperature. The food is always delicious and plentiful and conversations often hilarious. Jill and Julio continue to work with passion and commitment to make the Quinta so successful and holidays there such fun. We will be returning again next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta das Achadas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta das Achadas

Address: Rua da Barragem | Lagos, Odiaxere 8600-251, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Odiaxere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Odiaxere
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta das Achadas 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Quinta das Achadas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Das Achadas Hotel Odiaxere
Quinta Das Achadas Lagos
Quinta Das Achadas Portugal/Odiaxere, Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta das Achadas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.