We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite last-minute getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conrad Algarve

Save Saved
You added Conrad Algarve to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Conrad Algarve
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada da Quinta do Lago, Quinta do Lago 8135-106, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €307
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Quinta do Lago
GreenLeadersSilver level
West London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our favourite last-minute getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

My wife and I had a week only to get away last summer (Sept 2013). What we wanted and needed was a touch of luxury, peace and quiet, good sunshine, great food and above all, outstanding service. We got all of this at the Conrad, in spades.
Just 20 minutes or so from Faro airport (not that you'd know it, as you never seem to see or hear an aeroplane) and not intending to travel around too much we hired a tiny, cheapie motor. Arriving at the hotel, the valet parking guys didn't bat an eyelid as we pulled up next to the Porsche and BMWs, and duly parked the motor as part of the free valet service.
Check in smooth (with orange juice) though we were a little early, so had to wait around half and hour before getting into our room.
The Room: bigger than expected, lovely design, bathroom with TV and large shower room. All in great condition.
Swimming Pools: there are 2 main pools and one you can use at the Spa, as long as you are having treatments or pay a daily rate. The Spa has a very good gym which can be accessed free of charge - plenty of free weights and bikes/running/rowing machines. We used the infinity pool right next to the hotel building - it seemed almost adult only, quiet with chilled music, though children are allowed. The other pool situated down a slight hill was more child-friendly, but both of a high standard.
Food/Restaurants: prices are in line with what is a top end hotel. At first we found the menus a little limiting, but when we asked them to make up something that was not on the menu, the staff and kitchens couldn't have been more accommodating - asked for prawn and avocado salad. We did eat at the hotel's Gusto restaurant which we'd read was top-class. It did not disappoint. We both had tasting menus and again, they adapted one of them for my wife who doesn't eat meat. Wowzers, the food and accompanying wine was very classy. We went out a fair amount to eat, and stumbled across the Florian restaurant approx 5 minutes from the Conrad by car. Outstanding.
But if you don't want to spend a fortune, we also found many of the restaurants at the shopping area opposite the Conrad more than adequate.
Breakfast was a treat - huge selection presented very nicely. Service as always was impeccable.
BUT...the best bit about the hotel was the staff. Great service without servitude. These guys clearly enjoy what they do, and do it well. A few special mentions the manager should take note of:

Sandro: Greeted us every morning at breakfast, we felt incredibly welcome by him and always went out of his way to make sure our day started on a chilled note - he even asked the chef to make my wife a little birthday cake, which they kept cool until lunch.

James: poolside, he always made sure we were lacking nothing, before we'd even begun to make ourselves comfortable by the pool, he was there with complimentary fruit cocktails and bottles of water. A real credit to the Conrad, but I suspect he'll be running his own place soon with real style.

Nuno: the in-house Golf expert. I played a little golf while at the Conrad. They have deals with most local courses and Nuno was a great font of knowledge and pointed me in the right direction, making sure I had everything I needed and was in the right place at the right time. Top man.

Raoul Santos - Special thanks go to him. My wife and I arrived at Faro airport realising we'd left a small plastic bag containing our wet swimming costumes at the hotel. Off duty, but heading roughly in our direction, Raoul drove the bag to the airport for us. Now that is service! And it's why we will return to the hotel as soon as possible.

Only improvement we'd suggest is making the bar area more welcoming. It is a little sterile and feels like part of the reception area. Needs to be opened up out onto the patio area. If you are after a hectic nightlife, this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad A, Gerente geral at Conrad Algarve, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am absolutely thrilled to read your extensive review of your experience at the Conrad Algarve in Tripadvisor.
It makes me very happy and proud to hear that you enjoyed a very relaxing and luxurious holiday with us and in particular the outstanding service our Team has provided you with, special credits to Sandro, James, Nuno and Raul with whom I have shared your feedback and indeed with the whole team who are truly appreciative of such amazing feedback.
Your remark regarding the ambiance in Lago Lounge deserved my best attention and we are already taking action in order to improve the overall feel in this area. We are now featuring a live band every Thursday and Friday evening to lift the atmosphere and have received very good feedback from our guests.
Thank you once again for your detailed and fantastic review of our Hotel and we really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Conrad Algarve in the near future.
Kind regards.
Joachim Hartl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    380
    48
    9
    7
    0
See reviews for
84
230
9
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cascais, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Very nice hotel, excellent rooms, nice view, it's a little away from the beach and the view is mountain. Very good restaurant, good food and wines! The staff is nice and always available. It's a place to come back, next time with my wife.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Conrad

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad A, Gerente geral at Conrad Algarve, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing a review of your stay at the Conrad Algarve in Tripadvisor.
I am very pleased to hear that you very much enjoyed the comfort of our rooms, the food and wines in our Restaurant and above all the service provided by our Team Members, with whom I have shared your comments.
Once again we thank you for taking the time to share your experience and really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your wife to our Resort in the near future.
Kind regards.
Joachim Hartl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Just returned from a 4 day break at this hotel. Cannot fault a thing. The hotel is amazing and the staff go out of their way to make your stay a pleasure, nothing was too much trouble, from restaurant reservations to golf bookings and chaufer transfers. Special mention to Celia and Marline on reception. Made even better by beautiful weather 24 degrees every day. Hope to be back soon. Not cheap but worth every penny.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Conrad

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad A, Gerente geral at Conrad Algarve, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for writing a review of your recent stay at the Conrad Algarve in Tripadvisor.

I am thrilled to hear that you really enjoyed a great experience at our Resort and in particular the services provided by our team members, especially Celia and Mariline with whom I have shared your fantastic feedback.

We really hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Conrad Algarve again soon.

Kind regards.

Joachim Hartl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed at the Conrad Quinta do lago in August 2013. We had only booked one night as we were travelling around the Algarve. This was one awesome hotel! We arrived early and asked if we could have a look at the penthouse suite, we were given a guided tour by one of the staff, he was extremely pleasant and allowed us to take our time looking around, what a beautiful suite with its own roof top! Then we were shown to our own room which was beautiful! A large room with huge king size bed, en-suite which was more like a bathroom with TV in bath! Large tv in main room with all sky channels available at no extra charge, complimentary coffee liqueurs in coffee maker. The room also had a little hidden semi kitchen with fridge, microwave perfect for cooking if you so desired. Mini bar packed with alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks, snacks and chocolate. The balcony was huge with 2 seater wicker sofa, single chairs and table. The staff at this hotel were second to none! We booked a meal in the Gusto restaurant, although it was a little more expensive than normal but the service and the food was awesome! Highly recommended. Breakfast was a buffet and had ample choices, there was a menu available in case you would like something different. I would highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing break, free shuttle to the beach, the bus was not running on the day we were there but they took us in the hotel car! I would definitely go back to this hotel. Well done to the staff at this hotel for your excellent service and commitment!!

Room Tip: I don't think they had any bad rooms really!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad A, Gerente geral at Conrad Algarve, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Conrad Algarve in August.

I am absolutely thrilled to read that you really enjoyed the comfort, design and facilities available in your room as well as breakfast and culinary experience in Gusto Restaurant.

It makes me particularly proud to hear that you thoroughly appreciated the excellent services and commitment provided by our team and that you will be an enthusiastic ambassador of the Conrad Algarve.

Once again we thank you for such great feedback and really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Resort in the near future.

Kind regards.

Joachim Hartl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagoa, Portugal
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Situated in the prestige area of Quinta da Lago and the 'Golden Triangle', the Conrad Algarve is simply outstanding. There are other good 5 star hotels, but this should be six, yes, its that good. From the moment you enter the gates and drive down the beautiful tree lined access road, you know this is something special. Service in every area, from the main entrance to the restaurants is dedicated and attentive. As you stand in the atrium of the reception areas, you look out to the pools and gardens. There is glass and light everywhere in this modern and spacious hotel. If you are looking for economy accommodation, this isn't for you, if you are looking for the very best, the Conrad Algarve is for you. Don't forget to try the Gusto Restaurant by Michelin Chef Heinz Beck.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad A, Gerente geral at Conrad Algarve, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am absolutely thrilled to read your amazing review regarding your recent stay at the Conrad Algarve.
It makes me and my team truly happy to hear that you have very much enjoyed the design of our Resort as well as the level of service you have experienced in every area of our Hotel, including the culinary experience in Gusto by Heinz Beck our signature Mediterranean Restaurant.
The whole team at the Conrad Algarve are extremely proud to know that you would rate our property with six stars and we very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Resort again soon.
Kind regards.
Joachim Hartl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is a very good new hotel in the Algarve (probably the best in the region) but it's not perfect.

First the good:
- excellent rooms (really nicely finished)
- very pleasant staff (though service can be slow sometimes)
- quality of food generally very good
- free wifi

But....
- very expensive to eat and drink (however room prices are reasonable) e.g. from memory Euro for a G&T.
- we had a particular problem with wasps - they were everywhere and loads of people were complaining (probably due to unseasonably warm weather)
- for a new hotel I thought the aircon was very noisy
- hotel taxis a complete rip-off - make sure you book your own.
- our kids didn't use the kids club but again it was very expensive.

Overall, a very pleasant stay and we would definitely return. However the low room rate is certainly recovered by food, drink and taxi charges etc....

Good but not perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad A, Gerente geral at Conrad Algarve, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review of the Conrad Algarve in Tripadvisor.
We strive to deliver flawless services to all our guests and therefore your comments are of paramount importance to us all. Please be assured that your feedback has deserved our full attention and has been shared with the Hotel Team for immediate action where appropriate.
I am also pleased to read that you very much enjoyed the modern design of our rooms, pleasant service provided by our team members, quality of the food served and the free wi-fi access.
Once again, we thank you for sharing your experience regarding our resort and are very happy to hear that you are planning to visit the Conrad Algarve again in the future.
Kind regards.
Joachim Hartl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Amazing hotel. Probably the best I have ever stayed in with faultless service. The rooms are luxurious, the food excellent, the pools perfect and the staff unobtrusive, but ever helpful and committed to making your stay perfect. We'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Conrad

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad A, Gerente geral at Conrad Algarve, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Conrad Algarve in Tripadvisor.
I am thrilled to read that you had an amazing experience at our Hotel and very much enjoyed the luxury of our rooms, our pools, an excellent culinary experience and above all the flawless service delivered by our team.
Rest assured that I have shared your great feedback with all the hotel team who truly appreciated your comments.
We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Conrad Algarve again soon.
Kind regards.
Joachim Hartl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Conrad Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Algarve

Address: Estrada da Quinta do Lago, Quinta do Lago 8135-106, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quinta do Lago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Quinta do Lago
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quinta do Lago
#2 Romantic Hotel in Quinta do Lago
#3 Family Hotel in Quinta do Lago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Algarve 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Conrad Algarve is one of the most modern 5 star hotels in the Algarve. This contemporary luxury hotel is uniquely styled, from the guest rooms to the private balconies, from the majestic spa to the five individual restaurants and bars, offering a sophisticated range of fine Portuguese and international cuisine.With an impressive setting in the exclusive, yet naturally beautiful Quinta do Lago, the Conrad Algarve is located next to the Atlantic Ocean. Reaching golden, unspoilt Algarve beaches is simple with the dedicated shuttle bus. Many internationally famous golf courses, including Quinta do Lago Sul and Laranjal are on your doorstep, as is the natural park of Ria Formosa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Conrad Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Algarve Quinta Do Lago, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conrad Algarve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.