We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but popular” 3 of 5 stars
Review of King's Head Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added King's Head Inn to your Saves list
King's Head Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Llangennith | Gower, Llangennith SA3 1HX, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Llangennith B&B and Inns
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Expensive but popular”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The appealing accommodation is located to the rear of the pub and car park.

The positives;

The rooms are modern, large, warm and comfortable.
The receptionist was brilliantly helpful.
The huge bath was so welcome after a day’s hiking and there was no shortage of hot water.
Such a comfortable large bed!
Very good drinks tray and hot chocolate is always a bonus for hikers!
Good breakfast and thank you for keeping lavabread on your menu when some other places have given up on it!
Perfect location.
High strength free wi-fi.

The negatives;
‘Flat’ hard towels that I suggest need replacing?
Noise insulation between rooms was a problem for me especially as the tiled floors appear to echo sound particulary from hard-soled shoes and inconsiderate guests with loud voices. I guess not much can be done to stop that?
I just felt that the midweek price was steep given the prices quoted by some other reviewers however as it was full then I probably paid a premium? It would certainly be good value under £100 but not what I paid!

Overall its clearly a popular place to stay but I would probably not return due to the noise intrusion and high price. My advice would be dont reject staying here based on my review as it would be good if you got it for a lower rate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear GowerGuy,
Thank you for your review and all comments have been taken on board. Thank you for the positive feedback as well as the constructive criticism which I can assure you has been taken on board.
We are in the process of setting up a contract with laundry companies with better linen.
Ensure to look at our website as we do some great midweek deals including 5 nights from Sunday for just £299.
Many thanks,
All @ the Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    117
    50
    21
    8
See reviews for
61
321
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have just spent a relaxing 3 day leisure break at The Kings Head in Llangennith. We last stayed here four years ago.The accommodation is excellent, clean, comfortable beds, lovely under floor heating, just a pleasure to stay once again. There was only one problem this time around, Ten of us stayed to celebrate 3 special birthdays, we had booked a meal on the Sunday night , pre booked what we had choosen to eat, to make it easier for the Chef, or so we thought. The meals were not good, not hot, meat tough, poor service, waitress didn't even come to clear the tables and ask if we enjoyed the meal, or to even ask if we wanted dessert or coffee. The pub lost out in takings, as the next night, we had to choose another venue to eat at. We hope to stay there in the future, but, whether we eat at this pub, we doubt, and that is such a shame, as the atmosphere is really good usually, with dogs welcome, and is just a friendly place. Hopefully, the Manager can check on the problems, and make sure it doesn't happen again.

Room Tip: Room 18 has a huge bed, great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Poodle8,
Thank you for the review. All your comment shave been taken on board & I can assure you this was a one off. We were made aware of the situation on Sunday & have put in measures to ensure this does not happen again,
Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will come back to stay with us soon and dine with us too.
Kind Regards, All @ the Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in one of the rooms last year, very modern yet rustic and very clean yet comfortable. Sad to hear that there were complaints about the cat in the top bar, that's what makes the kings so homely is that it is animal friendly. Short for my age (19) yet I get served alcohol at the bar with no questions asked. Come as a large group most Fridays so it's lovely to be welcomed back with open arms each weekend!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Becky,
Thank you so much for the review and we look forward to seeing you on the weekend,
Many thanks, All @ the Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here recently for one night as part of our mini roadtrip around West Wales. The room itself was well furnished, with lovely extra touches such as the provision of Cadbury hot chocolate sachets and a mini shoe shiner, you can tell I am fairly easily pleased! We only paid £60 and thought it was excellent value. We ate at the pub that evening (curry night) and the food was delicious. Service was excellent. The rooms are about a 5-10 minute drive from the beach so ideal for surfers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Cenhinen,
Thank you for the lovely review,
Kind Regards,
All @ The Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the King's Head Inn for two nights in early April 2013. The King's Head Inn is situated at the western tip of Gower very close to incredibly beautiful Rhossili beach. Llangennith itself is a tiny village with just a pub and surf shop. However, Gower has plenty of shops dotted around to include the ubiqitous Tesco Express within essy reach! As for the scenery, it is stunning with many coves, beaches and countryside that is perfect for walking (bring footwear you won't mind getting muddy)!

The rooms are situated approx 50m away from the pub itself - a car park separates the two buildings - great if you are sensitive to noise. In fact, we slept incredibly well both nights as it's very quiet with little light pollution. The rooms are generously proportioned. We had an upstairs room (25) which offers a great view of the coast. The room was clean with a very comfortable double bed, flat screen tv, fridge (reception provides fresh milk), tea/coffee making facilities including biscuits. The bathroom was great - terrific shower and a large bath - and plenty of hot water too. Great when returning from a rainy hike! Underfloor heating
a great idea. Overall, room was clean, functional, spacious and comfortable.

We ate at the King's Head Inn both evenings. There are two bars and whilst you can eat in both, one is specifically for dining and doesn't appear to allow dogs (although you might spot the resident cat who was no trouble at all). If you're a fan of real ales I highly recommend sampling the many Gower Brewery ales - I successfully managed to work my way through them all quite happily!

Food is somewhere in between good old pub grub and gastro pub. Plenty of options including some good specials. The braised lamb shank is superb as is the cheese board. Breakfast was more than competent with fresh fruit, yogurts, toast, muffins plus hot breakfasts cooked to order. Poached eggs and bacon top notch. Good coffee too.

Every member of staff without exception appeared genuinely friendly and were helpful. The two chaps behind the bar were particularly good fun and very chatty.

On Saturday evening a band played some excellent cover versions and the atmosphere was terrific. Great opportunity to meet some of the very friendly locals!

Overall, more than does the job. It's not The Dorchester but it doesn't make out that it is. It's a good olde traditional country pub with adjoining rooms. It does exactly what it says on the tin. Go with that expectation and you will not be disappointed. Thanks for a terrific weekend!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear HotchickParel,
Thank you so much for the fabulous review. We are glad you enjoyed and we agree the Gower Brewery Ales are tremendous as is the Cheese board.
We hope you will be back to stay with us again soon, All @ The Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Booked 2 nights at the King's Head Inn to get away for a peaceful few days.
The room was fantastic, quite large and modern with plenty of storage, heated floors, a fridge, safe and a really nice bathroom. You can buy a bath bomb from reception.
The view from the room was of the sea in the distance and you are surrounded by country side.
We took our dog with us and when we were outside early one morning there was a sheep and 3 small ponies in the car park eating grass - wow.
We went out for a walk on our first afternoon intending to walk to the beach, which is a good 40 minutes away by foot but ended walking up a huge hill where the views were breath taking.
There is a guide of local walks in your info pack in your room which is useful.
We headed back to our room to freshen up then went down to the pub for dinner, we were welcomed by Ian who was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble, everyone was really friendly.
The food was fab and I asked if I could take away one of their traditional cheese boards which they wrapped up for us - please try it, it was out of this world.
On our second day we woke up to grey skies and after breakfast decided to walk to Rhosilli beach but unfortunately the weather was not on our side, we braved it but the weather was atrocious and we got soaked through and blown all over the place, so headed back to our nice warm room for a cup of hot chocolate.
Bear in mind this place is animal friendly, there is a beautiful cat in the pub who likes to come and say hello and sit by your table, apparently people complain about there being animals around, this is advertised as animal friendly so please do not complain if you know this already.
The King's Head is a lovely place to go and if the weather is on your side, even better.
The food is tasty, the rooms are really good, the staff and locals are so friendly and the walks and scenery are second to none, so book it and go and enjoy yourself.
Just be aware that when you book that you may have to wait a few weeks due to it's popularity.
We will go back but when the weather is a bit brighter.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Nipper 74,
Thank you so much for the fantastic review and we are glad you enjoyed.
We hope to see you again soon, All @ The Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Drayton
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had a great weekend, will definitely return and would definitely recommend to others, especially dog owners. As a dog owner it is wonderful to find such high quality, dog friendly, accommodation. Great rooms, modern, clean and separate from the pub so no worry re noise. Food in pub was excellent, good choice and good standard. Breakfast was not as good and seemed to differ in standard from day to day - obviously a different chef from the evenings. Staff really friendly and helpful. Location is outstanding, ideal for Llangennith beach, Rhosilli and the rest of the Gower. We are regular visitors to the Gower and have stayed in many places, we will definitely return to The Kings Head and cannot wait!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room, ask for a room with a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Skiathosrunningclub,
Thank you for your lovely review. All comments have been taken on board and we hope you will be back to stay with us again.
Many thanks, All @ the Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Head Inn

Address: Llangennith | Gower, Llangennith SA3 1HX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Llangennith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Llangennith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — King's Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Head is A four-star Country Inn with 27 rooms. All of our rooms are of a very high standard, with ensuite facilities and underfloor heating. Our rooms offer a host of features which we hope will make your stay most relaxing. The Kings Head was rated in the top ten summer pubs in Britain by the Sunday Times Magazine, 2006. & recommended in Which holiday magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your King's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Head Hotel Llangennith
King's Head Inn Llangennith, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Head Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.