We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid week break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King's Head Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added King's Head Inn to your Saves list
King's Head Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Llangennith | Gower, Llangennith SA3 1HX, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Llangennith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Swansea
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Mid week break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

An excellent few days. We were allocated a 1st floor room up stairs with a shower over the bath. When I mentioned I had arthritis, the receptionist very kindly offered us a ground floor room with a huge wet room & obviously no stairs. The rooms were spotlessly clean & were cosily warm with underfloor heating. As it was a wet & stormy few days & my husband & I are not too mobile, the comfort of the room was very welcome. Just a few little gripes, 2 armchairs would have been nice rather than 1 armchair & 1 upright chair. Also, for a longer holiday, more drawer space & coat hangers would have been necessary. As we are not very mobile, the walk to the pub over a rough carpark in heavy rain & strong wind was really difficult. But the breakfast & evening meals were well served & delicious. I must add that all the staff were very friendly and helpful. All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable few days.

Room Tip: We paid to have an upgrade so had a much larger room which was well worth the expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear PaulineSwansea,
Thank you for the lovely review and constructive points. We appreciate all feedback and if mentioned to us in reception we would of happily brought you another chair.
We hope you will be back to stay with us soon.
All @ The Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    128
    52
    22
    10
See reviews for
70
347
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Excellent location, rooms & food. Good welcome on arrival and our room had a fantastic view from which we saw 2 fab sunsets. Rooms good standard and large. Bathrooms had a great bath and shower.
Food at the pub great, both for dinner and breakfast.
Rain gutters noisy when it rained wouldn't have liked to try and sleep a night with that but we were lucky and only had rain in the morning when we were awake.
Over all fantastic and will go back.
Poor points : light out in bathroom, no spare toilet roll, tissues ran out but not replaced, king bed was two singles together with a large uncomfortable join, bathroom starting to get mould.
The only reason we have put these points up is so The Kings Head keeps what is a fantastic hotel
And can ensure little things are dealt with.

Room Tip: Upgrade to delux king for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Siany63,
Thank you for the lovely review and all the constructive points. All feedback is greatly received and had we been aware we always try our utmost to solve any issues. We hope you will come back and be writing us another review.
All @ the Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is our second visit and it was still the same excellent weekend! The bedrooms are large with lovely underfloor heating, nice decor, spotlessly clean and the bathrooms are gorgeous. We take our dogs and stay in a ground floor room with direct access outside through double doors. It's just a short walk to the pub where we ate both evenings, great to have a glass of wine, no driving back! The walks nearby are scenic and we hardly saw another soul. Lovely to get out of the hustle and bustle, chill out and recharge the batteries! Visited nearby Swansea for the shops and Rhossili beach with its very own submerged shipwreck. Enjoyed every minute and would go back like a shot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Benfold1,
Thank you for the lovely review and glad you enjoyed your return visit. Hope the dogs enjoyed and hope to see you all soon, All @ The Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My sister and I stayed at the King's Head on a Friday and Saturday night... It was beautiful!
We were made to feel extremely welcome, valued guests.
The accommodation was beautiful, warm with all the facilities I would expect from a good hotel. We had an evening meal in the pub and was very impressed with the quality of the food. Breakfast was of a really high quality and nothing was too much trouble.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Debcartref,
Thank you for the great review.
We hope to see you soon,
All @ The Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Thank goodness for LivingSocial, otherwise we may never have discovered this lovely hotel and location.
The hotel staff were wonderful and very helpful. Both nights we ate at the King's Head pub as it was conveinent and the food was excellent.
We will be back and hopefully soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 25, upstairs so had a good view (standing at the window). Our room was very spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Sarthur2011,
Thank you so much for the fantastic review.
Hope to see you soon, All @ The Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My gorgeous daughter treated me to a Mothers Day weekend away at the Kings Head, Llangennith. Our room was on the first floor and perfect. The beds were very comfortable with nice linen and lovely duvets. The bathroom was beautifully appointed with the best bath I have seen in a long time - absolute bliss for a long soak after our 9 mile walk to Rhossilli and back. The reception staff at the B & B and the bar and restaurant staff were just so friendly. We ate in the pub on both evenings and the food was good, reasonably priced and generous portion sizes. The apple and toffee pudding arrived in a lake of delicious custard. Good job we were walking it off the next day! Breakfast was hearty with plenty of variety of cooked options and a well stocked buffet table for cereal, croissants fruit etc. We were 'adopted' by the pub cat. I'm sure it had nothing to do with the smoked haddock we were tucking in to! There are fabulous walks from the Kings Head and even though we were nearly blown away we really enjoyed our walk over the hills to Rhossilli - and had the cloud not been so low I am sure the views across the bay would have been stunning. I have been to the Gower many times but never before to Llangennith After this stay I will definitely be coming back to the Kings Head. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear GillyW,
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We look forward to you coming back to stay with us.
All @ The Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed Sunday and Monday for a mini break, very lucky with weather, very impressed with the hotel and staff. Everyone was very helpful and welcoming. The hotel and pub was above average and the food was superb. Our room was on the 1st floor and pet free although dog lovers are welcome in downstairs rooms. The room was superb, very spacious and luxurious. The bathroom had a very deep oversized bath which was great for a relaxing soak after an enjoyable walk to the beach. Nothing much to do locally but that adds to the peaceful atmosphere of a quiet village. Sitting in the bar by the log fire was very relaxing. Excellent range of beers from their own brewery. Also, one of the most superb beaches in the world, Rhossili Beach is only just over a mile away. Can't wait for a return visit

Room Tip: Upper floor with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear GillyW,
Thank you so much for the fabulous review, it really was a pleasure. We hope to see you again soon. All @ The Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Head Inn

Address: Llangennith | Gower, Llangennith SA3 1HX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Llangennith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Llangennith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — King's Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Head is A four-star Country Inn with 27 rooms. All of our rooms are of a very high standard, with ensuite facilities and underfloor heating. Our rooms offer a host of features which we hope will make your stay most relaxing. The Kings Head was rated in the top ten summer pubs in Britain by the Sunday Times Magazine, 2006. & recommended in Which holiday magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your King's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Head Hotel Llangennith
King's Head Inn Llangennith, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Head Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.