We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Borovnik

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Borovnik to your Saves list
Hotel Borovnik
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trg. Dr. Sime Vlasica 3, Tisno 22240, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tisno
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Everything is fine with hotel and personal, they are very kindly and professional. Just they are wrong located on the map. Hotel is situated in front of the bridge on the coast of sea. They have nice beach with sunambrelas and chairs.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We checked in at the Hotel Borovnik after fleeing a sweltering hostel room. Air Conditioning is pretty much essential in this part of the world in August if you are going to get any sleep. The staff were happy to show us the room before we put money down and after testing that the AC worked we paid in cash, in full. This is where the customer service ended.

The room was nice, clean and quiet. No complaints there.

Breakfast was varied, going from delicious fresh figs and local fresh cheese to bizarre 'vegetable' dishes (overcooked Brussels sprouts at 9am anyone?), inedible sour grapes, congealed scrambled egg and weak orange squash in the absence of any juice.

Maid service the first day folded the duvets on the bed, nothing else. They didn't return or even attempt to on the two other days we were there. We didn't ask but we shouldn't have to.

We needed a late checkout on the day we were to leave, we agreed to pay the 50 Euro charge which would give us the room until 4pm. We made the mistake of letting them know we were leaving at 1 and were called, knocked for and called again at 1 on the dot.

Choose this hotel if your other options are sweaty, noisy and require the sharing of a bathroom. If it's service you are after, I'd steer clear.

Room Tip: Double glazing seemed to keep the noise out but I'd go higher up if possible as long as you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We were looking for a convenient stop on the way to Dubrovnik to break up the trip and found Hotel Borovnik on the island of Tisno. Great location overlooking the harbor. Modern room, very clean but no elevators and no wifi!

The staff at the front desk and restaurant were super nice and very helpful! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Borovnik in July 2012 with a party of 5 other people.
The hotel is in a fantastic location in the centre of Tisno and has everything you need for a good base during your holiday.
The hotel rooms seem to have had a recent refurbishment and are a very good standard and are kept very clean during your stay (in our 6 night stay we also witnessed the pool being completely drained and refilled at least 3 times early morning - that's got to be a testament to the hygiene standard).
The hotel's true forte however is it's service. The staff are friendly and provide a real personal service, a service you would normally only expect from a small family run hotel. It seems that the standard or service does not end with reception staff but extends across the food staff, cleaners, bar staff and all those working around the pool area.
I have read various other reviews and was shocked that some people have put negative reviews. The hotel is clean and tidy and to a good standard and air con was standard, at least in the 3 rooms we had reserved. The facilities are very good considering the central location and to be quite honest i did not see any other hotels in the area that were of a similar standard.
Conscious of my tendency to waffle; in conclusion you cannot go wrong with staying at this hotel. I will be returning to Tisno next year and i will be looking to stay here again. We received unrivalled service and the staff were extremely friendly (despite us not being big tippers!).
HIGHLY RECOMMEND

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I was shocked by this hotel. Their website describes the hotel as luxury- this is a complete misrepresentation. When comparing the hotel with accommodation near by, the price they charge is a disgrace.

The staff we very rude and standoffish. When we arrived the check in system was not working and they would not let us into our room until it was fixed; after having got up at 4.30am to take the flight, followed by a 2 hour bus journey that was far from ideal and it was extremely unreasonable that there was no flexibility regarding allowing us into our room. No apology was forthcoming and we were sent away to wait it was fixed. When we checked out, we asked them to look after our luggage for the morning; we later returned to find it had been left in the middle of the reception and was completely unattended.

The bedroom was extremely, almost unbearably hot, with no air conditioning, or even a fan to cool the room down. I would never stay here again; if you're looking to stay in the area, I would suggest one of the reasonably priced apartments our friends stayed in. Much better value for money, no rude staff to deal with and less hot!

I conclude by saying this hotel is in Tisno, not Sibenik!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

My wife and I have been in Croatia last summer and stayed at the Borovnik hotel. It is a very nice hotel, the personnel is helpful and very kind, they give You all the information You need. The hotel is near the sea, right in front of the famous bridge. The food is tasty and fresh and in some evenings there is a smal band who sing croatian music (acoustic guitar, not loud) at the restaurant.
The hotel beach is close, like 10 minutes walking, but it's more like a cement platform. If you like traditional beach there is some more on the island. It's Slanica beach 10 minutes driving by car; if You don't have a car you can rent one, or a bike. I recomend this one because even if it's more like a croatian beach outside (with rocks), after you make a few steps in the whater, there is a beautiful sand and very, very clear whater.
About the hotel pool ... I never saw anybody in it. It's smal any way.
Also there is a few restaurants in Tisno where you can serve fresh food, but I recomend the one who's located on the continent side, called DOMAGOJ BERAR. Ask at the hotel reception and they'll give you the right information. It's a small family "tereza" or "konoba", specialized on grilled food - fish, sea fruits, shels - all kind of food, and the lady decorates the plates like in 5 stars hotel. They even have an aquarium and if you pick a fish you can actualy eat exactly that fish. What can it be more fresh?
The only bad thing about this hotel is that in the mornings (at least in september) there is a church bell who start ringing early in the morning, but if you're tired enough you can ignore it.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Borovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borovnik

Address: Trg. Dr. Sime Vlasica 3, Tisno 22240, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Sibenik-Knin County > Tisno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tisno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Borovnik 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Borovnik is situated in a place called Tisno, on the Island of Murter, central part of Croatian coast. We are located near two Croatian national parks, National Park Kornati and National Park Krka, and the old dalmatian cities of Sibenik and Zadar. The hotel offers 50 rooms (stanard class as well as family rooms). Also featuring a pool with salt water, beach, exchange office, hairdresser, souvenir shop, jewelery, massage, restaurant a la carte, excursion office. The hotel was announced as one of the best family-run hotels in Croatia last year. Ideal for those who intend to visit all Dalmatian beauties in a short period. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Borovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Borovnik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.