We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chill Out Hotel Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Bay Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Batsi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Bay Village
Save
You added Blue Bay Village to your Saves list
Delavogias Beach, Batsi 84503, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Batsi
israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Chill Out Hotel Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

This is our 2nd stay at the Blue Bay Village in Andros. We love it there. The setting is out of this world, and you relax the moment you arrive. We always go slightly off season, (beginning of September) and it is quiet and relaxing which suits us fine as we just want to chill out. The pool is wonderful and the music by the pool is great. The breakfast is more than enough for us, I usually spend the entire stay there eating the fabulous Greek yoghurt. The rooms have been renovated since our last stay and were gorgeous, with very large bathrooms.

There is a beautiful beach a few minutes walk away with crystal clear water and a great cafe. In the evenings we would walk to Batsi, which takes about 15 minutes. Let's face it after lying around all day, you want a bit of exercise!

Last but not least, the owner George and his staff are great and cannot do enough to make your stay comfortable. They are really nice and our only problem with the place is that we had to leave to come home!!

Have recommended it to all our friends!

  • Liked — the view, the pool, beach and the incredibly relaxing atmosphere
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Helsingoer, Denmark
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

We picked the hotel based on recommendations found on TripAdvisor.com. The hotel is placed with a beatiful view over the sea. We had a familiy suite - which was a disappointment. It's hard to explain - we had lot of space but couldn't use it at all! So we either had to sit on our small balcony or at the pool area with the music. The hotel needs to be redecorated and shired up a bit.
The nearby beach has lovely water - but remember bathing shoes as there quite big rocks on the beach.

The hotel has 15 rooms and have hired employees to clean, serve breakfast etc. While the owners are certaintly friendly, the staff seems upset most of the time - and you feel you're a burden to them.

We booked the hotel 5-6 months before - and got the worst family room - they have four in the front. Quite strange.

  • Liked — The view from the pool
  • Disliked — Music at the pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

When we decided to visit Andros for six nights in short notice, I searched for a descent accomodation on the Internet. I first tried Villa Anastasia (http://www.villasinandros.com/) but it was booked. Blue Bay (BB) was our second choice. It turns out they could accomodate us in one of their maisonettes for 120 euros per night.

When we arrived we found the hotel in a really nice setting but the room was a disappointment. It was smaller than what the brochures show, of very cheap construction and needed maintenance. They put us in room #14. When we expressed our dissatisfaction the hotel owner told us that since we had booked for six days we had to pay for a minimum of two. So we were basically forced to stay there for 2 nights.

Some other notes: The breakfast was served until 10 and was mediocre. The hotel had slow wireless internet in the pool area but not in the rooms. In general the view from the pool area was great. There is also a great small beach underneath that is beautiful even the windiest days---but you do not need to stay in the hotel to go there and Andors has many other great beaches.

So all in all, if all you care is the view and the pool the hotel is probably ok, but if you like us, first assume a descent, well maintained room at 120 euros a night take your stay elsewhere.

PS1The hotel manager/owner was very nice and polite and told me that he plans to renovate at some point. So you might want to check first.

PS2 The thrid day we found another place (http://www.ioniastudios.gr/) where we found a very nice accomodation (almost new room, very good quality construction) for about 45 euros. I wish I knew about it in the first place.

PS3 We spent a lot of time and visited many places to find another place. Most of the accomodations in Andros feel older and undermaintained, we had a very hard time to find something descent. However, one notable difference was that most of the other accomodations we visited were priced at 45 - 65 euros. having siad that most of those accomodations did not have a swimming pool but many of them had a great view, even better than the one from our room.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2007

We have just come back from a stay at Blue Bay and overall we had a good time apart from the fact that it rained nearly every day!!

Aside from the weather, we found that Blue Bay was very clean, the pool area is amazing with fantastic views and George the owner was a really nice friendly guy. The room itself was basic, there was no kettle or toaster in the kitchenette area or any cooking facilities so its definitely not a proper self-catering place. The accommodation is about a 20 minute steep walk from Batsi so its not for the faint-hearted!!-there also arent any supermarkets or shops within the immediate area so its either a taxi or to do the walk or hire a car We tended to walk into Batsi at night and get a taxi back for 4 euros which worked well!

The air-conditioning in our room dripped constantly and the biggest problem were the 2 goats that bleeted outside our window everyday from 5am - Im really not too sure how they think that people can have a peaceful rest on their holiday with that going on and it was constant, luckily I had earplugs with me!!

If the goat issue got sorted out we would have had a much better time, the bad weather was obviously not a reflection on Blue Bay. Also agree with below comment on probably the most basic breakfast I have experienced!

  • Liked — Stunning views from the room, excellent pool area, comfy large bed
  • Disliked — Quite remotely located, basic accommodation, tiny bathroom, the goats
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2006

Just returned from the Blue Bay having stayed for 8 nights.
The rooms very nice and certainly above avergae for Greece.
George the owner goes out of his way to make your stay enjoyable and when our air con broke it was fixed within hours.
All of the public areas were spotless and the pool lovely.
My only critiscm would be of the breakfast which was generally just bread, jam etc, however this is typical of most Greek hotels.
All in all a little bit of jaunt to get there but worth it to get away from the typical Brits abroad in August.

  • Liked — The location, aircon, and service
  • Disliked — The walk back from Batsi, up a very steep long hill, worth a taxi - 4 euros
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2006

Superb hotel 1.5 km outside Batsi with a beautiful 10-15 walk into town.Superb view espec. from room 7 .Fairly average breakfast however but excellent pool bar with great sundaes/cocktails. Helpful hotel staff and spotless rooms. Batsi itself is relaxed with good restaurants and a few bars. Tourists are mainly Greek with a few Northern Europeans about.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Village

Address: Delavogias Beach, Batsi 84503, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Andros > Batsi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Batsi
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Village Andros/Batsi, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Bay Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.