We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely taverna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kontos Restaurant of Aegean Cuisine

Kontos Restaurant of Aegean Cuisine
Mikri Vigla, Mikri Vigla 84300, Greece
+30 2285 075278
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Kontos restaurant continues to offer homemade Aegean and local Naxian specialties made by original, traditional recipes using the most fresh, organic ingredients (most of them from our own garden) cooked in virgin olive oil. The respect to tradition and quality have established Kontos Restaurant over the years as one of the finest in Aegean and Greek cuisine. In 2007 and in 2012 the Greek National Tourism Organization certified us with the “genuine traditional and quality Greek cuisine” award.
Portreath
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Lovely taverna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Superb food, lovely views over to Paros and reasonable prices. Ate here 4 times in our week in Mikri Vigla. Highly recommended

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    14
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Lovely local Naxian food, very fresh. Service was excellent and the setting is beautiful with a terrace overlooking the ocean.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Best Greek food ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We literally popped into this restaurant because it was the closest restaurant to our hotel... And we were absolutely blown away. The service was prompt and efficient... The meal was the best we have ever had in Greece... We had two starters: these light, fluffy courgette balls and then Saganaki...both were superb... For main course, I had a chick pea stew which was absolutely delicious... The best meal I have ever had with chickpeas and my husband had a moussaka which was so different from the moussaka that we normally have had... It had slices of aubergine and potato with soft mince which was finished off with cinnamon, which really added complexity to the flavours....

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good taverna food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Small, cozy taverna tucked in the dunes on the main beach road of Mikri Vigla. Nice view of the beach and sunsets. Good, homemade dishes - had the Greek salad, chicken souvlaki, and lemon lamb - but a little more expensive than other tavernas in the area.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good traditional greek cuisine!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The place is almost on the beach of Mikri Vigla. The cuisine is Greek traditional and the portions are big, just what you need after an exausting day at the beach! The service is also good and clean.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kontos Restaurant of Aegean Cuisine also viewed

 
Mikri Vigla, Naxos
 

Been to Kontos Restaurant of Aegean Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kontos Restaurant of Aegean Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.