We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Poseidon

Save Saved
You added Residence Poseidon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence Poseidon
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Spartia Kefalonia, Spartia 28100, Greece   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a find!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

With the way a lot of Greece has become commercialised catering for mass tourism over the years it was a refreshing change when we came across this gem of a property 10 years ago in the peaceful village of Spartia, just a stones throw from some of the islands top beaches. We've since tried other places but always end up coming back to Residence Poseidon.
The owner Vangelis is incredibly welcoming as are the 2 brothers, Spiros and Christos, who run the bar this year. Wendy, who has been there a few years now is also excellent. As one of the previous reviewers commented, the food at the bar is mainly designed for the British Tourist, BUT they are quite happy to make greek dishes, you just have to ask!!
The rooms are cleaned daily and they have a laundry service as well where they will also do your ironing at an extra charge!!
The centre of village is a 5 minute walk and is very quiet, but that's the attraction, there is an excellent village taverna, Cavo Liakas, who serve a large range of greek dishes including the daily specials which are special because they are not on the standard menu and change daily! Their Moussaka is the best I have ever tasted. By the beach (a 20 minute walk downhill) are a few other restaurants, 2 specialising in fish, 1 in an apartment complex which has a good range of greek dishes.
Most of the beaches in the south of the island are sandy and gently shelving. The beach at Spartia is small and sandy, but there are no facilities. If you want a beach with sunbeds and umbrellas, beach bars etc its a 10 minute drive to the closest one and a number of beaches close by have Blue Flag awards.
St Georges castle is excellent for views and history and the Kastro cafe bar just outside the entrance does excellent lunches and breakfasts with fantastic home made cakes and deserts.
Further afield is Fiskardo, Assos, Melissani, Drogarati and lots more so you won't be bored on this holiday. I would recommend a car though as without 1 you will need to rely on public transport which is not that reliable or organised excursions.
I love Kefalonia and Residence Poseidon is, in my opinion, an excellent property and I will hopefully be coming back for many years to come!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
107
58
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Todmorden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Residence Poseidon in Spartia is situated in the most beautiful region of the Island, Livathos. You wake each morning to incredible views of Mount. Aenos and are only a short walk to several stunning beaches. Our apartment was everything we could have asked for, very clean, modern and spacious, beautiful bathroom, with its own veranda to the front (villas are also available here too). Residence Poseidon has a fantastic swimming pool and childrens pool, tennis court and bar, we regularly spend entire days lounging by the pool blissed out! It will also astound you how well maintained the grounds are - beautiful lush grass surrounds the pool, banana and pomegranate trees, grape vines and roses make a beautiful addition to the grounds. Evaghelos, Anna and their staff and incredibly helpful and friendly making your stay even more satisfactory. After our second visit, 3rd already booked for next year!, we refuse to stay anywhere else on the entire Island - you really must experience this for yourself. Whether you're holidaying as a couple or a family (we have done both, even had my honeymoon at R.P.!) this location is perfect. Did I mention the views?!
Tom and Esta-Livia Barker, West Yorkshire

Room Tip: They are all fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

This was my third visit to Kefalonia and my brother and my niece’s first visit. However, I have holidayed in many Greek Islands so I can provide a meaningful summary of our stay at the Poseidon Residence. I stayed in room 25 and my brother and my stayed in room 22. Rooms 22 and 25 are classified by Sunvil as Superior Studios but the only difference to the normal studios was the improved view, mainly of Mt Athos and the area towards the sea. Overall the cost for such rooms was quite expensive. I hired a car on the internet from England which worked out at 50euros a week cheaper than through the Sunvil rep that actually use the same company CBR. Make sure you request a modern car as some of the CBR cars in the Poseidon car park were quite old.

Overall, the studios were marginally better compared to other places I have stayed, however the shower was very basic and small. With the exception of the cooker, the studios were clean. Christos and Spiros at the pool bar were hospitable and friendly but only offered very basic ‘English’ snacks. It would have been better if the Poseidon offered a few good Greek dishes. I was astonished that they could not make a Greek coffee.

The nearest taverna is in Spartia village which was very average. On the specials offered for instance there was melon with ice cream – what is special about this? If you take the road to Argostoli there is an excellent restaurant about 2 miles from the Poseidon which was recommended by Evaghelos the owner. Argostoli has a few good restaurants and worth visiting during the evening. There is an excellent taverna in nearby Trapezaki that makes the best Mousaka I have tasted – and that saying something.

There are two small shops in the village but again these are very basic. If you go to Peratata you will find an excellent green grocer bakery and a good butchers that are slightly cheaper.

The overall ambiance of the place and environment was quiet and relaxing but the pool could fill up at times with quite noisy children so I would recommend September as the weather is just marginally cooler. The air conditioning units were quite noisy and did not have a low fan speed which would be useful especially when you are trying to sleep.

A car is recommended if you want to spend some time on a beach or explore the island rather than sit by the same pool day after day. The closest beach at Spartia is worth a limited afternoons outing but it takes over ½ hour to walk too and an hour and 15mins to walk back uphill ideal for shedding a few ounces. There are far better beaches nearby and around the island.

I would recommend Spartia and the Residence Poseidon for anyone wishing to basically relax in quiet surroundings. However, it is necessary to hire a car to really see and explore Kefalonia. If you plan to visit for instance Fiscardo in the north, I would recommend setting off early in the morning and stopping off at Myrtos and Assos and spending some time relaxing at Emlissi Beach approx 1km from Fiscardo. Then set off for Fiscardo early evening and enjoy a nice meal in one of a selection of restaurants. If you set out for Antisamos beach there is just one very average place near the beach to eat. I would recommend eating in one of the tavernas in Sami and then spend the afternoon on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed for a week at the Residence poseidon. We had booked villa number 32 but he had built a new villa last year and he gave us the new villa for the week. it is in a great location with beautiful views. We had the swimmingpool almost next door.
The staff are very friendly and helpfull.
I would definately recommend this property.
It is near the small village of Sparta. 5 minutes foot it has a fantastic taverna.

Room Tip: try to book villa number 33 it has 3 bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Just returned from the Residence Poseidon and would have absolutely no qualms about recommending these lovely apartments to friends and family. We stayed in apartment 14 to the rear of the property. It was spacious, with a sunny balcony and shady terrace, a nicely equipped kitchen with table and chairs, shower room and large double bedroom with flat screened tv and air conditioning. The room was cleaned on a daily basis and towels and bedding changed every third day. The grounds are beautifully kept and Vangelis and his family are charming hosts. Wendy at the pool bar deserves a special mention. Beware - the pool bar is overpriced - 2.50 euros for a half a lager for example - but when the weather is hot, a cool beer is always welcome! In the end we walked up to the village and drank in Marina's bar ( the cafe/mini market just past the taverna). Marina is a delight, her beer is 50 euro cents cheaper than the Poseidon's and she serves light snacks at lunch time. Make sure you eat in the taverna - Cavo Liakas. George and his team produce excellent food and do not take advantage of the fact that they are the only restaurant in the village. If you walk down to Spartia beach there are more tavernas - but beware the walk back up again 1.8 km of a fairly steep uphill climb - best done in the evening when it is substantially cooler. We hired a car and travelled about the island - of special note are Assos , Fiskardo and Sami. Skala beach is nice, but the area around it is surprisingly built up. Mirtos beach is worth a look - beware the precipitous road down to it. All in all a lovely relaxing 2 weeks and I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Beautiful location in an unspoilt rural Greek village. My apartment was clean, quiet and peaceful with a balcony terrace view of Mount Athos and the sea. The welcome pack was excellent, the bed was made daily and the towels changed daily by courteous smiling chamber maids. Being on my own was no problem as I was welcomed by my fellow travellers and could be as sociable or not as I wished. Wendy, Christos and Spiros at the pool bar were hospitable and friendly and the environment was quiet and totally relaxing. They were able to provide good food in the evening, often prepared by a family member. Sunvil provided outings if required but did not over sell or push their products. Next time I go and yes there will definitely be a next time, I shall rent a car so that there is easier access to the beaches during the day and tavernas further afield at night. However the local village
taverna provided hard to beat, excellent, authentic, Greek cuisine at good prices.
There were quiet rural walks around the local lanes amongst olive groves. The local shepherds would drive their goats and sheep to new pastures in the early evening with a clanking of bells and clopping of hooves...It was a delightful sight.
I would recommend Spartia and the Residence Posiedon for anyone wishing to relax and get away from the "classic package". For both young couples, older couples and single travellers wishing for some relaxation in beautiful natural surroundings without loud music and people noise.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickford Green
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Residence posiedon is an amazing place! We were truly blessed by the welcome and the hospitality that we received here! Evangelos and Anna have provided the most remarkably relaxed enviroment, for the discerning holidaymaker. The rooms are sparkling, like the pool. The service, provided by Wendy, Spiros and Christos, who run the bar and pool area, is provided with a smile, along with any number of answers about local attractions and secret haunts. The food is great and if you ask nicely you'll be rewarded with Christos' speciality Greek cusine. The generosity of Evangelos is legendary; whether it be hens eggs from his own layers, buckets of freshy picked cherries from his garden or huge plates of Apricots, nothing is too much trouble; He lives for the satisfaction of his guests! I have already recomended this place to many of my friends and family and i can see us coming back year after year to visit the "old friends" which i now consider Evangelos and his staff to be. Book direct with them now and you WILL NOT be disappointed. Russ

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Poseidon

Address: Spartia Kefalonia, Spartia 28100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Spartia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty lodging in Spartia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Poseidon 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Residence Poseidon" A' Class, 4 stars, is set in spacious and picturesque gardens, a five minute stroll from the village square and fifteen minutes from the nearest sandy beach. The seventeen air-conditioned studios, apartments and one villa have recently been refurbished and are divided between three buildings. Each has a private balcony or terrace with sweeping views across the valley and Mount Aenos - those on the first floor also face the sea beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Residence Poseidon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Poseidon Hotel Spartia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Poseidon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.