We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking at breathtaking views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karavados Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Karavados Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Karavados Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Karavados 28100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Karavados
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Looking at breathtaking views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Spotless in everyway.just bliss. Hotel is placed in a idealic setting with stunning views from every angle. The mountains ,the sea and the beautifully lush gardens on this complex. Wake up to breathtaking views from your appartments every morning . Hotel is a real credit to the owner who keeps this hotel spotlessly clean I,e,the pool ,the gardens just about everywhere the rooms are cleaned everyday .the staff are so friendly the manager the receptionist and Eva the waitress come bar person as well lovely girl. Thanks for great stay me and the wife will be back.

Room Tip: If you want to chill out and relax this is the place if you want clubs and noise oh no forget it .if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    26
    21
    4
    0
See reviews for
16
49
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Just come back from a wonderful week at the hotel.
When we opened our curtains on the first morning there we saw stunning views from our 2nd floor bedroom.
The hotel is in a very quiet location away from local ameniites. There is a great beach about a 5 minute walk away where there are two taverners although only one was open as it was the beginning of the season. Some days we had the beach to ourselves.
The hotel was quiet which was a shame as the hotel owner Demitri and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The hotel was spotlessly clean.
An amazing island. You will need a to hire a car or arrange some excursions to see everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Me and my boyfriend were in Karavados 3 years ago.

Kefalonia is very beautiful island.Situated above a beautiful beach, but that's all. The place is isolated. If you want to see beautiful beaches (such as Myrtos, Petani, etc..) You just have to rentati car.

The hotel is old, the rooms are very simple furnished ... Breakfast at the hotel is very bad, food to order (in the restaurant) was delicious.

If you need a hotel only to sleep, the hotel is a good choice, but otherwise nothing special.

Room Tip: Double bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Me and my partner went here for a week and loved it!
Hotel is old and dated, it was so empty so not much atmosphere but can not fault it for location. All rooms have a great sea view. However we would go back to the island but we will book one of the many villas across the island.
Car hire is a must here, we hired for a week and explored the whole island. There are some beautiful places and the owners of the hotel are fantastic with letting you know where to go and how. We hired a car once we got there which is so easy however would book before you go.
St Thomas beach is a nasty walk 10 min walk down the steepest hill, but is well worth the visit, water is completely clear. There are two restaurants on st Thomas beach which don't look like much but the food is gret! Mythos and Assos are lovely areas that must be visited! Assos has beautiful restaurants on the sea.
The restaurant in the hotel is ok but I would say eating out is a must here. This does mean either paying 30 euros back and forth to argostoli, the capital of the island or hiring a car. We would leave late morning and stop off in a village for lunch then for dinner on the way home. We found some great places off the beaten track this way. The southern areas of the island are beautiful. Sadly everywhere we went it was fairly pricey. At least 15 euros for a main meal.
Argostoli is quite touristy so steer clear if you don't want that, it's quite easy to have an isolated holiday on this island.
Weather was lovely, lunchtime was very hot with little breeze.
Take a map with you! There are none on the island! Although we got lost and found some places it would of been quicker to know where we were going.
Take beach towels, they provide bath towels only.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
138 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

the resort is located a bit remotely, a bit far from the port and the nearest village, but this might be in fact an advantage. the rocky beach is within walking distance, but the resort has a big pool and nice green area around (the pool gets quite busy in the late afternoon, so if you like to take a nap in a room facing the pool it might be a problem). we rented an ATV and were pretty happy with this idea, as we could go to various nearby villages and sandy beaches.

our room was neat and clean, and quite spacious, the interior was very basic and simple, no decoration or extra amenities, but the price was corespondingly low.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a fantastic fortnight at the Karavados Beach Hotel at an excellent last minute price, and couldn't have been happier with our stay. We booked and paid for an inland view but on arrival had been upgraded to a lovely second floor room with a sea view and free air conditioning - the room was large with a nice balcony and a well equipped bathroom with a decent shower - something that's not easy to find in Greece!
The breakfast buffet was unlimited - eat enough and you won't need lunch! - and evening meals fine though we ate out most nights as there are so many good restaurants a short drive away. The hotels pool was beautiful - not too cold like some, and plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas to go round. Its such a shame that the reviewer below who was there at the same time as us, didnt simply ask for an upgrade to his room and take our advice to hire a car or scooter to get around - nothing is that remote when you have a set of wheels!
Finally the owner Dimitri may appear a bit grumpy to some but try speaking just a little very basic Greek - hello or thanks - and his face lights up. It doesnt take much - you get what you give!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

After a 5 nights stay I feel able to appreciate this hotel. We made a previous reservation for two rooms at an acceptable price. We stayed at the second floor with balcony with an wonderful view over the sea and neighbouring mountains. The rooms were very clean. They cahnged daily towels and bedlinen. I had time to evaluate the team spirit working style of the staff. The owner Dimitri was everywhere and always in the middle of the problems. He helped us to find an exellent olive oil. I would like to appreciate the professionalism of lady Andreas who helped us with the reservation, but mainly with permanent local information which helped us to visit by our own car, not only all the places of interest in the Island of Chefalonia, but also other islands, suplying us with ferries schedule. Even, the diligent Ukrainean Ljuba kept asking us if everything is OK. Although is not near the rocky beack, the hotel has a very modern swiming pool. The breakfast very good. We liked mostly their local tasty honey and yougurt. A good selection of music in the lobby and outside all day long.The German Sheperd does not bark, the playful kittens outside are sweet, the garden is permanently kept in good conditions, always fresh local flowers with good smell in our rooms. Not overcrowded in September, but enough and good quality people living there.

Room Tip: Try to get a second floor room in the left wing. You'll have a good wiew over the beautiful land...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karavados Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karavados Beach Hotel

Address: Karavados 28100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Karavados
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Karavados
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Karavados Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Karavados Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Karavados Beach
Karavados Beach Cephalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karavados Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.