We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karavados Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Karavados Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Karavados Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Karavados 28100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Karavados
Essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Me and my partner went here for a week and loved it!
Hotel is old and dated, it was so empty so not much atmosphere but can not fault it for location. All rooms have a great sea view. However we would go back to the island but we will book one of the many villas across the island.
Car hire is a must here, we hired for a week and explored the whole island. There are some beautiful places and the owners of the hotel are fantastic with letting you know where to go and how. We hired a car once we got there which is so easy however would book before you go.
St Thomas beach is a nasty walk 10 min walk down the steepest hill, but is well worth the visit, water is completely clear. There are two restaurants on st Thomas beach which don't look like much but the food is gret! Mythos and Assos are lovely areas that must be visited! Assos has beautiful restaurants on the sea.
The restaurant in the hotel is ok but I would say eating out is a must here. This does mean either paying 30 euros back and forth to argostoli, the capital of the island or hiring a car. We would leave late morning and stop off in a village for lunch then for dinner on the way home. We found some great places off the beaten track this way. The southern areas of the island are beautiful. Sadly everywhere we went it was fairly pricey. At least 15 euros for a main meal.
Argostoli is quite touristy so steer clear if you don't want that, it's quite easy to have an isolated holiday on this island.
Weather was lovely, lunchtime was very hot with little breeze.
Take a map with you! There are none on the island! Although we got lost and found some places it would of been quicker to know where we were going.
Take beach towels, they provide bath towels only.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    24
    19
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
47
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
137 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

the resort is located a bit remotely, a bit far from the port and the nearest village, but this might be in fact an advantage. the rocky beach is within walking distance, but the resort has a big pool and nice green area around (the pool gets quite busy in the late afternoon, so if you like to take a nap in a room facing the pool it might be a problem). we rented an ATV and were pretty happy with this idea, as we could go to various nearby villages and sandy beaches.

our room was neat and clean, and quite spacious, the interior was very basic and simple, no decoration or extra amenities, but the price was corespondingly low.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a fantastic fortnight at the Karavados Beach Hotel at an excellent last minute price, and couldn't have been happier with our stay. We booked and paid for an inland view but on arrival had been upgraded to a lovely second floor room with a sea view and free air conditioning - the room was large with a nice balcony and a well equipped bathroom with a decent shower - something that's not easy to find in Greece!
The breakfast buffet was unlimited - eat enough and you won't need lunch! - and evening meals fine though we ate out most nights as there are so many good restaurants a short drive away. The hotels pool was beautiful - not too cold like some, and plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas to go round. Its such a shame that the reviewer below who was there at the same time as us, didnt simply ask for an upgrade to his room and take our advice to hire a car or scooter to get around - nothing is that remote when you have a set of wheels!
Finally the owner Dimitri may appear a bit grumpy to some but try speaking just a little very basic Greek - hello or thanks - and his face lights up. It doesnt take much - you get what you give!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

After a 5 nights stay I feel able to appreciate this hotel. We made a previous reservation for two rooms at an acceptable price. We stayed at the second floor with balcony with an wonderful view over the sea and neighbouring mountains. The rooms were very clean. They cahnged daily towels and bedlinen. I had time to evaluate the team spirit working style of the staff. The owner Dimitri was everywhere and always in the middle of the problems. He helped us to find an exellent olive oil. I would like to appreciate the professionalism of lady Andreas who helped us with the reservation, but mainly with permanent local information which helped us to visit by our own car, not only all the places of interest in the Island of Chefalonia, but also other islands, suplying us with ferries schedule. Even, the diligent Ukrainean Ljuba kept asking us if everything is OK. Although is not near the rocky beack, the hotel has a very modern swiming pool. The breakfast very good. We liked mostly their local tasty honey and yougurt. A good selection of music in the lobby and outside all day long.The German Sheperd does not bark, the playful kittens outside are sweet, the garden is permanently kept in good conditions, always fresh local flowers with good smell in our rooms. Not overcrowded in September, but enough and good quality people living there.

Room Tip: Try to get a second floor room in the left wing. You'll have a good wiew over the beautiful land...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Chose this holel as a Last minute option and we were so glad. Really relaxing all the staff really friendly and helpful. 2nd floor rooms in particular offer spectacular views out to Zakynthos. about 300 metres down to 2 small beaches with really clear water and 3 great tavernas. Yes it is a bit isolated but that adds to the charm as the peace and quiet was so good and one could walk through the fields admiring the views of the hills inland as well. Dmitri, the owner, happily drives guests into Argostoli (Island Capital) two mornings a week and loves to show off the area. Even a major storm in the middle of our stay, which caused some damage due the the heavyrain/high winds didnt affect our overall enjoyment
There are a number of coach trips you can book to see the island but now we know and love the island we will probably hire a car for our next trip. Do not understand how anyone could not enjoy a stay here . Our Thanks again to all involved We would no hesitation in recommending this hotel

Room Tip: 2nd Floor for views of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We spent a week at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.We loved the views of Mount Ainos and of the Ionian Sea.Due to the rural location of the hotel, we hired a car for three days to explore the north of this beautiful island.Car hire was essential ,I felt, since taxis proved to be expensive.
We chose half board this time- really enjoyed the breakfasts by the pool!There was plenty of choice including yoghurt and honey,boiled eggs, cereals and bread with cheese and ham.
The evening meals were good with various courses but the desserts tended to be a bit repetitive.
All the staff were helpful and friendly including Dmitri, Andy, Ella and Eva. Many grateful thanks for the warm Greek hospitality!We felt at home here.
My partner and I intend to return to the Karavados Beach one day!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor-breathtaking views with mighty Zakynthos not too far away
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northop, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Very isolated area, unfriendly hotel owner, unkempt room, loose electrical wires in bathroom, upon arrival we were met by the hotel owner who was a miserable so and so, he couldn't speak english and we couldn't speak Greek, we were self catering so unable to find out where the super market and any tavernas were located, we later found out from other guests that the nearest supermarket was a twenty minute walk away. The hotel was like a cemetery with lights, no atmosphere, just dead, there was only 8 couples ( including us ) stopping in the 75 room hotel. I called a representive from our holiday company to move us to another resort ASAP, thank god they agreed and we only lost 20 hours of our holiday. We went on to have a marvellous holiday in Skala, Kefalonia - BEAUTIFUL island and lovely people (new hotel was only a 2* but far better ) we would definitely go back.. just NOT to Karavados Beach Hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karavados Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karavados Beach Hotel

Address: Karavados 28100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Karavados
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Karavados
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Karavados Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Karavados Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Karavados Beach
Karavados Beach Cephalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karavados Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.