We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Narges Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Narges Hotel to your Saves list
Narges Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aliki 844 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Aliki
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't bother.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

On first impression, this hotel seems beautiful, but this is only because of the lovely reception area and the warm welcome from Elias who works behind the desk, but the rooms are not as big as they seem on the internet and the cockroaches are certainly not mentioned. The air conditioning is poor and as it's so hot you need to keep it on during the night but you can't then sleep due to the noisy unit. The breakfast is very basic and there is absolutely no fruit available, it's lovely if you like to eat cake first thing in the morning. The coffee is lukewarm as is the tea. The poolside bar is poorly stocked but the pool is lovely and also the barman was very pleasant. The hotel is situated about 5 minutes from a small beach but you will find much nicer beaches further away. Also for the 4 nights we stayed at Narges the tables by the poolside bar were occupied by the owners and their family eating their dinner and watching telly which wasn't really what I would expect from a so called 4 star hotel. I would certainly not class this hotel as anything more than a 2 star and I am being generous. I wouldn't bother going back to this hotel, it is vastly overpriced. The fishing village was quite nice.

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre as advertised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    39
    11
    14
    18
See reviews for
19
52
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I loved Paros and Aliki. I almost really liked the hotel Narges. The room was lovely. The location was superb and the staff were genuinely helpful and great. So why only 3 stars?
The breakfast was simply dire - and everyone in our group was of this opinion. Plastic white bread to go with the rubbery eggs. No fresh fruit or salad. Just cakes and more cakes. The coffee was mud and the tea undrinkable. Why? I have no idea. I just went next door and bought my own food. It was inedible.
The second downside was the pool and the whole pool area. It looked lovely, but BE CAREFUL. There aren't enough sunbeds and the setting is not great. However, the pool itself is downright dangerous. It has quite a high wall on the rim of the pool and no rail, with only one set of steps at each end. If you have any problems, you have a real issue getting out. There is also a major problem with the steps when you try and get out - even in the little pool. Those in the group who were not completely agile, could not get out. They had to be bodily lifted out.
I am a very good swimmer and I didn't feel very happy in the pool. The others in the group could not swim in it at all. Beware!
Would I go back? Quite possibly, but I'd rather be in Naoussa!

Room Tip: Most rooms seemed good. Our whole group was very happy with the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Very pretty small hotel with beautiful gardens and pool. The staff were friendly and helpful especially the English girl in the pool bar, the young lady who worked in the restaurant and the lovely Irini on reception, who went out of her way to bring in her own fully charged laptop for my friend to use when her phone wouldn't work, and also recommended a charity shop in Parikia called Paws who work to neuter stray cats and dogs on the island (we are animal lovers). Love to your gorgeous Westie, Mac, who is so well behaved and loves a fuss from the guests at the hotel.
We went to a BBQ at the hotel one evening and the chef's homemade burgers are some of the best I've ever tasted.
The hotel is very conveniently situated close to the tavernas, shops and beach of this attractive little resort.
There is a regular bus into Parikia which costs 1.80 euros each way.
Only slight critisism were the pillows in the room which I found rather hard, but I am very fussy about my pillows.
If you want a comfortable hotel in a peaceful resort then this is for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Small hotel right off the beach in Aliki. Nice sized room, air conditioned, large pool with food service, very clean. Cute fishing village is out of the way, but very relaxing. Didn't find a decent restaurant in the whole village but it might be because we came in May. Had one load of laundry done for 14 Euros which I thought was expensive. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We spent one night at the Narges Hotel on Paros - it was really very nice, very quiet, large rooms - no particular views - but very clean and comfortable. A large pool and poolside bar were excellent. The local small village of Aliki is very pretty situated on a beautiful peaceful bay with several very nice restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This was 4 nights b&b as part of a longer tour - and although they did provide some of us with a meal the night we arrived, it was a plate of lukewarm fish and a few vegetables for which we paid 12 euros. The hotel itself was very attractive, lovely veranda, comfy bed, lots of flowering plants (bougainvillae, geranium etc) but there were a couple of small difficulties - I'd been out along the lovely little taverna-fringed shoreline (though not much in the way of shops) and when I returned, my bathroom was awash - the sink hadn't been properly plumbed in. They did send a chap along and it was fixed, but it was a small sign that perhaps they weren't quite ready for us. Also, on the 2nd night there, I'd decided to stay in the hotel because the pool bar staff had told me that I could have an omelette-type meal after 7.30 p.m. but when I went there, she just said "chef's gone home"! Luckily I had some fruit and cheese I'd bought (I'm coeliac, and was reluctant to feel like a freak in restaurants outside by quizzing them about their recipes!) The hotel breakfasts were ok, but nothing special. The resort itself is lovely - and because we were there in the first week of the season, and were (I think) the only group there, every time I walked along the seafront, I met other members of our group, it felt like being in one's home village! A few of my fellow-guests and myself found out the bus times and got two buses up to Naoussa, an utterly delightful fishing village. I like to go on public transport in other countries, along with all the locals, a very enjoyable little outing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

quaint hotel next to a fishing village. One thing i liked about this hotel was the size of the rooms.
It has nice surroundings with flowering plants and date palms.
The breakfast is basic and changes according to the origin of busload of tourists passing through.
Had dinner here first night and never again , type of marinara pasta which had mainly crab sticks.
The beds are hard and not very comfortable and the balcony seems nice enough but you would be shaking hands with your neighbours and i could get close to another 5 balconies.
The swimming pool was nice and big approx 10 m with changing lights.
the hotel seems to be a transit hotel for tour companies and is stuck at the bottom of the island away from everything but is ok if you have a car.
like most Greek island places you cant flush toilet paper.
Overall not to bad a hotel but very basic with helpful staff.















i

Room Tip: second storey seem to be better, not much noise but hotel not very full
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Narges Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narges Hotel

Address: Aliki 844 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Paros > Aliki
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Aliki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Narges Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Orbitz, Venere, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Narges Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narges Hotel Paros/Aliki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Narges Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.