We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Good enough!"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vagia Mare Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Vagia Mare Hotel to your Saves list
Vagia Mare Hotel
Gerani, Crete 731 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Gerani
Bergen, Norway
1 review
“"Good enough!"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

After a week on Vagia Mare, the conclusion is that the place is "good enough". With some changes it may instead be "very good":
1. Some more sun beds (there is room for some more!)
2. Get fitted roof (canvas) on all balconies / terraces (missing on almost all)
3. Should be allowed to cool down the bedroom before going to bed (can not start the air conditioning before you get home at night)
4. Little bit better food and a little more competitive prices (still accept more costs since Greece unfortunately has its economic problems) would result in more meals at the hotel (if there are any fans for cooling in the future ....).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tonsberg, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This hotel is the best hotel we have ever stayed at on our trips to either Spain or Greece! It is very clean and well kept, with a beautiful rose garden. The service is very good and it has play ground and swimming pool for children that´s given us lots of precious memories with our little four year old daughter. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We had a superb time and will absolutely recommend this hotel! This was our second stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Vagia Mare is the worst kind of hotel there is. They hide their arrogance behing a fancy facade. The hotel looks nice, clean and well kept. They claim to serve food, but really - I wouldn't feed animals what the tried to serve me. When we complained the manager just said that the hadn't had any prior complaints. The day after we ate there I heard at least one more complaint.

They serve microwave heated food, the pizza is made out of bread, tomato ketchup and cheese. Just pop that into a microwave oven and you have a pizza you can serve your customers... At least that's the way Vagia Mare treats the food and customer.

I would never pay them a visit again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rovaniemi
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

We spent one week at this hotel june 2010, and thought we really got value for our money. Everything was very clean and beautiful including the rooms and the hotel and the swimming pool area. We found the stuff very friendly and helpful, and this is why we chose to dine at the hotel restaurant almost every night. The food was quite simple but ok, as it was much easier to stay and eat there with the kids who were exhausted from all the swimming... I can really recommend this hotel & would go there again anytime!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

On arrival the place seemed nice. The apartment was in two levels, with an extra bed in the downstairs/entry level kitchen. Two small balconies, both facing north - fit for two but not three. But the area looked much like an abandoned building site, combined with village dump.

The pool area was as advertised but there was not enough sunbeds for the number of guests and the area offered no options - the beach was very dirty.
The tile close to the pool had broke and the management had covered it with dirty rugs.

The immediate area did not offer any restaurants and the hotel offered no information on where to find any. The hotel restaurant was a joke - souvlaki made of three teensy pieces of meat and a sliver of onion, a teaspoon's worth of rice, and some french fries... We only ate there once, when it rained so much it wasn't possible to go anywhere else.
Instead we, and most other people, went to Platanias, a 2+ kilometre hike along a main artery.

We then discovered that the village Gerani was in the other direction, hid behind a 800 metre expanse of bamboo and further inland from the sea. Not that that changed much, it was still a good walk to get food and this time along a small road without enough street lights.

The hotel was an apartment hotel but the options for finding anything to cook was limited. The supermarket at the hotel offered sweets, fruits, breakfast foodstuffs and alcoholic beverages - the other supermarkets wasn't much different.

During night the guests had to live with the sounds of the entertainment offered at the nearby all inclusive resort.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagia Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagia Mare Hotel

Address: Gerani, Crete 731 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Gerani
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Gerani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Vagia Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagia Mare Hotel Gerani, Crete - Chania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagia Mare Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.