We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Holiday in Caretta Beach, Gerani” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caretta Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Caretta Beach to your Saves list
Caretta Beach
Kydonias, Gerani, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Gerani
Birkenfeld, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday in Caretta Beach, Gerani”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed for a week at Caretta Beach and enjoyed complete relaxation.
The rooms were always clean. You can pick between pool and beach (lifeguard was present). The food is excellent. Adults and kids, everybody was pleased and enjoyed the meals. Always fresh, always a great taste!
We experienced a high level of service and thoughtfulness during our stay. We were given honest evaluations and recommendations for restaurants and advice on places to visit.
Thea and Barbara are wonderful hosts and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Everybody was just concerned to make sure we have a wonderful holiday.
Thank you very much for making this such a special visit for all of us! We all hope to be able to get back to Caretta Beach in the near future!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    12
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
29
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birkenfeld, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were two families that stayed at the Caretta Beach Apartments in July 2013. We would like to thank Thea, Barbara, the family Kapsalakis and the whole team for their amazing hospitality.
As always the rooms were kept very clean and tidy. We had a really beautiful view over the sea. The kids loved the pool and there were plenty of comfortable sunbeds to relax on. The beach is just 6 steps down from the pool area. It is the perfect location! The food is delicious!
For those that want to cook: There is also small supermarket in walking distance; the selection is good, the prices are fair, the staff is friendly!
This was my fifth stay and as always Thea and Barbara did everything to make our holiday as enjoyable as possible, which is why we will return this year for another perfect holiday!
Thank you once again for a memorable stay and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Stayed July 2013, travelled with family and friends

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellenborough, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed here as a family of four. It is spartan, and a little tired. We stayed for a week in an upstairs two room apartment. The "kitchen" is really just a sink with a hotplate and the kitchen equipment was probably matched and complete about ten years ago...sad.

We like to book this category of accommodation - 1 or 2 bedroom apartments with kitchens - as we are on a long term trip around the world, but I wouldn't stay here again.

They have a kind of cafe, but really there is little choice other than what the cook is making for that meal LOL. I think they have a good profile in Germany as they do have staff who speak German, but that really isn't enough! On the website it looks like there is an inside cafe - it was closed up every day we were there. The cafe is just under a roof (no solid walls) up some stairs next to the pool, so it is windy and can be cold.

The hotel next door however is a different matter - Eanthia Village. We spent every day (yes - every day!) at the resort next door run by Cleo and her family - a magnificent pool (Caretta Beach's pool is small) and all day dining service and lovely staff. I only wish we had found it before booking Caretta Beach. Don't make the same mistake!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paiania, Greece
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Once arrived at Chania, called for instructions on how to get there. Thea, the hotel manager, said "... after the reeds, turn right. No signs, no road name". Suddenly I felt somewhat uncomfortable, till arrived.
Just follow the instructions and you will be rewarded. Beside the beach, a complex of self-catering apartments, with huge rooms and terraces. In absolute tranquility.
Very good service, clean rooms and genuine Greek products. All homemade, the breakfast, the coffee and the food (Board made ​​the previous day about "what's for dinner tomorrow").
The best we have seen in the last eight years, always in relation quality / price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, NY
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We WILL return here. Going off-season in May was nice as only us Northern types were there. Pool is nice, they serve food/drinks overlooking the Med. and the beach is large like in Florida, which is quite rare in Greece as most beaches are either small or short or owned by the bars. This is a walking beach for, literally, miles. Close to Xania (2 exits). Entrance Hard to find, even with GPS. It is the UNMARKED driveway RIGHT before the "Villages" resort next door (which looks similar).

Room Tip: Rooms in front building have view of Med Sea; I do not think room in back buildings really do. By b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were a Family of 4(3 adults and 1 child, age 13) that stayed at Caretta Beach(room 207) for 16 nights from 29/6 - 17/7-13.
The small complex is away from the hustle and bustle of Platanias and Chania, but close enough should you feel the need for more action.
The apts, pool and restaurant are very clean, and extremely well run by the 7 girls that work there(led by Thea and Barbera). They do everything they can to make Your stay as relaxing and stress-free as possible, and are always very polite to all of their guests.
Although we did not use the restaurant that often, the food we were served when there, was very nice.
We really enjoyed our stay, and are already looking to come back next year.
We have no problem recommending Caretta Beach to any would-be travellers to the Chania area of Crete
Thankyou Caretta :0)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The pros are endless, our stay here was mark with day in day out attention to details and we felt more like family than guess. The Staff goes the extra mile to make you feel as comfortable as humanly possible and just when you think they can do no more, they do!!! Caretta Beach has everything that is expected at a well place 5 start resort, yet some resorts can benefit from Carreta's quality of service...It is simply the best I have ever seen and I have seen many. Cons there are none the place is that good!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caretta Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caretta Beach

Address: Kydonias, Gerani, Crete 73100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Gerani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Gerani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crete, the island of King Minos, of hospitality and blessed nature, invites you to spend your vacations in a calm and pleasant way. Allow us to introduce you to your holiday paradise. In the western part of the biggest Greek island, the island of Crete, in the footholds of the White Mountains, directly on the mile long Chania beach, in Gerani village near Platanias, we welcome you at the Hotel Apartments Caretta Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Caretta Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caretta Beach Gerani, Crete - Chania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caretta Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.