We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“atlantica creta paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantica Caldera Creta Paradise

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gerani
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantica Caldera Creta Paradise
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gerani Beach, Gerani, Crete 73100, Greece (Formerly Louis Creta Paradise Beach Resort Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Gerani
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“atlantica creta paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My partner and I arrived at the hotel on 27th september for 1 week and was allocated a swim up room which we had not booked ,what a surpise, fantastic room , very quiet always, the staff worked very hard to keep them clean, the resturants were always busy and again the staff worked very hard to keep them clean, the animation staff were brilliant , always smiling , very good with children and adults, the evening shows were brilliant , we went on two trips on the trains just across the road from the hotel, again well looked after and worth every penny,,we would definately go again, thankyou to all the staff at the hotel for a great holiday,

Room Tip: I can only say that our room was great, the swim up room was a big surprise,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_ACCP, Manager at Atlantica Caldera Creta Paradise, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Good evening from Crete,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review.
Nothing makes us happier than the great holiday experience of our clients & we wish to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in Atlantica Caldera Creta Paradise in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Atlantica Caldera Creta Paradise Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    116
    72
    20
    18
See reviews for
159
143
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here during September with our 18 month old daughter. We booked a family room with a sea view and were allocated a room on the ground floor looking out to the mini golf and play park (and sea). Good points on room - my husband loved that he could just pop to the pool bar once our daughter was asleep and we could sit on our veranda without disturbing her. It was easy to access the room this way too during day. Negative - no sun on the veranda ( would have been nice when daughter was having a nap to still sit in the sun.) It was easy for our daughter to 'escape' so we had to keep a keen eye on her (we didn't have a wall around our room so as soon as the patio door was open she was off! ) Room had jacuzzi bath and hand held shower. The vents in the bath needed cleaning and every time we tried to use the bath we found it was filled with dirty water. Also didn't think that the room was that big. Very close to the ampitheatre so we were unable to get our daughter to sleep until the show finished as it was very loud.

Food - Good although it did get a bit boring after a while. I loved the salads but my husband doesn't and found it hard after a week to find something different. Kids food is the same every - chips, sausages, pasta..... luckily our daughter loves pasta! and ice cream!!!

Beach - as others have mentioned the sea is a bit rough so we didn't get chance to go into the sea but the beach is nice and we always mangaged to get sunbeds.

Pool - We found the sister hotel pool nicer, it has a gentle slope before getting too deep and was warmer!

Entertainment - our daughter loved the mini disco and is still talking about 'funny'. We stayed for a couple of the shows, the staff just mimed to the songs so it wasn't the best! On the last night we stayed to watch 'mama mia' which followed directly after the mini disco ( a time in which children are encouraged to jump onto the stage.) Misunderstanding that she wasn't allowed onto the stage for the show our daughter tried to get onto the stage to dance along to the music but was snatched up by the entertainment manager (something Backe) and we were told that if she tried it again we would have to leave! We were very annoyed ( I complained to the manager - couldn't believe she was so rude).

Our daughter was exhausted by the end of the holiday - so much to do, its a great place for kids, will definately be back again but will probably try a swim up room.

We visited Chania (caught the local bus), it was very nice, lots of shops but very busy! We also walked into Platianos looking round the shops during the day and enjoyed a meal out one evening, its a very nice town. One evening we caught the mini train outside of the hotel (lots of differnent routes), we chose the sunset trip which took us around a couple of local villages in the hills, it was very relaxing and would recommend.

Room Tip: we stayed in 3103 no sun during the day and you do get alot of noise from evening shows
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_ACCP, Manager at Atlantica Caldera Creta Paradise, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Alan & Judith,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience further your holidays, on TripAdvisor website. It's highly appreciated by all of us working at Atlantica Caldera Creta Paradise.
We are thrilled to read that overall you had a wonderful stay in our resort and would like to thank you for your lovely comments.
We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel for summer 2014!

Yours Sincerely,
Atlantica Caldera Creta Paradise Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I wouldn't go back! Stayed at the hotel with my family (inc two children) in August. We had a swim up room which we shared with three other rooms and was excellent, well worth the extra especially as the other rooms rarely used it. The rooms were a good size and cleaned every day - could not fault the whole cleanliness of the hotel and the staff were all very nice. For me the food was a big downside - there were things that we could eat every day but nothing terribly exciting or delicious! We stayed for 10 nights and the last 4/5 nights we ate out. There were snacks served throughout the day with lots of fresh fruit which was good and the kids loved the unlimited ice cream and drinks they could help themselves to. The cocktails were also good! The hotel was about 15 minutes walk from Platonis which was a nice little town and a good selection of restaurants - if I were to go back to the area I would choose to stay closer to here or Chania which was really lovely (about 30 mins on the bus). There was a nice selection of pools to choose from, including the sister hotel next door, unfortunately the sea was too rough when we were there so didn't spend much time down there. We never had any trouble finding a sunbed but then it was at the end of school holidays so perhaps a bit quieter than it had been. So a mixed bag but still a very enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: Swim up room was highlight for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have just returned from this hotel after an 11 night stay! Transfer time from airport was nice and short about 30-45 mins. Hotel is split with the main part (reception, dining, pool etc) near the beach and the other built across a fairly quiet road. But having got to the room we had been allocated, we were gutted!! It wasn't in the main area and it was the 3rd room from the end in the very last block. Our balcony looked onto a carpark and the main road. The space around the very large bed was tight and the bathroom was small!! Having paid a lot of money for all inclusive we were not happy at all and so my wife complained and we were moved to a lovely big room in the main complex (Rm 3302).
As has been mentioned in other reviews, it is a bit yukky to start, with when putting Toilet paper in a bin rather than flushing but you do get used to it!
Didn't like the big jaccuzzi bath as it had a really high side and my wife is only 5'1" plus there was no permanent shower in place as it was a pull up from the bath type and the wall fixing was all loose!
Cleaners did ok but the floor was never that clean and on one occasion we complained because it was really slippery and wet, which had lasted for 2 days??
Excursions! If you want my advice don't go on them! They are not cheap and are a waste of money. Use the money to hire a car! The Minoan experience was awful (55 Euros each). we were told it was a long day but ...... Pick up was 7am we then had 4 hours on a coach making numerous stops, plus swapping passengers about on other coaches that spoke their language. We arrived at Heraklion at 10.45 - 11.00am. a quick orientation as to where the coach would be and then left to do whatever! The one place you would want to see (archaeological Museum) was closed until 1pm, we were to be back on the coach at 1.45. We were told by others that it took 15 ins to get in so that left just 30mins to look around and get back to coach.
The tour guide on our Coach was very knowledgeable but absolutely boring, slow, and monotone (other passengers also commented)
After arriving at Knossos for the tour of the palace we then had to pay 6 Euros each to get in????? after 2 hours it was all back on the coach for another bout of stops and swaps back to the hotel. (3 hours this time)
The Elofonisi excursion was not much better, as another reviewer has posted, wasted time stopping at very uninteresting village & Monestry with just 2 hours at the beach and back to hotel! (52 Euros each wasted I think)
Food was good, although on a few occasions at the beginning it was cold but that was sorted after a few complaints, we weren't expecting quite so many children (Sept) but then again it wasn't a holiday from hell either, so only a bit disappointed. We will probably book a couples only hotel next time!
Beach was a big disappointment and can be quite dangerous with a flag system in place as the undercurrent can be dodgy. Very stoney too, so swim shoes are a must, unless you have really tough feet. This side of the island is the windy side too so that can whip up the sea too, I watched a woman trying to get out for a good couple of minutes, finally being helped by her husband, as she was pounded and knocked over by the waves!
Overall we had a relaxing holiday and the weather was just right, in the late 20's - 30 degrees!
I would recommend this hotel to families but watch the kids when near the shore line, the pool is much nicer!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed here for a week in July, we booked last minute, which leaves us with limited choice, we got lucky! After reading many reviews we arrived with trepidation.
This was unfounded and we found the hotel, staff and food to be excellent. We had no problems, yes there were busy times around the pool, but there are 3, and a beach, we always found somewhere to go. We paid extra for a swim up room which was lovely but not necessary if you can’t get one.
The restaurant did have busy times, but again we never struggled for a table and the staff were more than helpful, lunch was busier in the poolside restaurant, but we found that it was a much better idea to have lunch here as you didn’t have to worry about swimwear. You should know what your booking and what to expect, in my opinion if you are booking a family all inclusive hotel then your daft to expect high class food and waiter service, this is not a put down on the food or staff, as for the hotel they were excellent.
My daughter can be really fussy about food, but at every meal she found something she really enjoyed, as did my husband and I.
The local drinks are good, the beer is really nice, and although the red wine is different to what you are use to, this is how they do it there, so go with the flow of the country you have chose to visit.
Our room was modern, spacious and clean, the bed and bedding were lovely and the air conditioning worked fantastically, basically we had no problems or issues other than when my husband locked us out of the free to use safe, reception helped quickly.
The communal toilets were always clean, one thing I will say, which isn’t a complaint, just something I would rather had known and been prepared for beforehand is that toilet paper cannot be flushed and needs to be binned, the bins are plentiful and bagged and clean, so it wasn’t a problem just a shock.
Towels are supplied for the pool, you are given a card that you swap, these do tend to go pretty quickly so if you are going to be disappointed then take your own.
The hotel beach was lovely, yes a bit pebbly but again this is mentioned on many reviews so be prepared with beach shoes or you only have yourself to blame, they do sell these in the nearby shops at reasonable prices.
We will definitely visit Crete again, this area was beautiful and the hotel fantastic, we travel with Thomson as our first choice provider, the flight or hotel did not let us down again.
We didn’t book any excursions with Thomson, we tend not to do this on holidays as we like to explore ourselves, we did book a car through the lady in reception for the day and had a run out to a couple of places, one being Elafonissi, what a beautiful beach, a definite must.
If you are booking a package holiday at a family hotel, all inclusive then this is what you get! Don’t go to a place like this with unrealistic expectations; know what you have booked and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_ACCP, Manager at Atlantica Caldera Creta Paradise, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Karyn,

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay at Atlantica Caldera Creta Paradise. We take great pride in making everyone feel welcomed. Satisfaction of our guests is our primary concern and we are very glad when we achieve a positive result.
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Greece.

With sunny regards from Crete,
Yours sincerely
Atlantica Caldera Creta Paradise Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We just came back from this hotel. Nice hotel with helpful staff. We really enjoied our holiday. We got a very good and big room in the main building with a huge pool and a balcony. But our relatives had to change their room because at first they got it in the old building across the street and it was really far away from the whole entertainment.. Comparing this hotel to others we have visited before, here is my list of minuses:
No healthy food choise for little children;
The beach seemed dirty
The room was not perfectly cleaned everyday;
There were some "wild" cats and dogs, I did not like it because we were with a child;
I tried to use a jacuzzi in our room- it was not clean, actually I think it wasn't cleaned at all!!!

Despite these disadvantages we enjoied the holiday and even would recommend it to my friends:)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_ACCP, Manager at Atlantica Caldera Creta Paradise, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Atlantica Caldera Creta Paradise Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and comment on your recent stay with us. Your comments & feedback are valuable, as well as highly appreciated & taken into very serious consideration.

Looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

Yours sincerely
Atlantica Caldera Creta Paradise Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Took myself and the family for a week all inclusive this September, I have to say it was worth every penny. Transfers to and from the airport were not to long about 35-40 minutes. The hotel itself is clean and well presented although the sofas in reception were grubby, probably because they were white. The staff were excellent, really helpful and polite. The meal times are a little hectic at prime time but go earlier or later in the service then there's plenty of room to manoeuvre, the food choices were excellent with varied themes throughout the week, although the food was good it was a little cold on occasion.
The waiters were quick to remove dirty plates etc from the tables and were pleasant to talk to.

We stayed in a swim up room which is awesome although the pools are a steady 1 meter deep which younger kids might be uneasy with, the rooms were cleaned every day and tea and coffee replaced daily..

The only bad point was the excursion we took to elafonissi, 3 boring hot hours on a coach for 50 minutes on the beach and a boat trip, cost us nearly 200 euros which wasn't refunded after we complained. It was sold as a fun day out but in honesty, how much fun can be taken from mountain roads and endless olive trees for a minuscule amount if time on the beach? If it's your thing then ok but advised not to take young children.

Marie the rep was helpful and pleasant, and would always help with any queries.

Overall a brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_ACCP, Manager at Atlantica Caldera Creta Paradise, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Stephen,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review & sharing your experiences with other travelers at TripAdvisor.
Nothing makes us happier than the great holiday experience of our clients, and we wish to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in Atlantica Caldera Creta Paradise in the near future.

Warmest Regards from Chania.
Yours sincerely
Atlantica Caldera Creta Paradise Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlantica Caldera Creta Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Caldera Creta Paradise

Address: Gerani Beach, Gerani, Crete 73100, Greece (Formerly Louis Creta Paradise Beach Resort Hotel)
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Gerani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Gerani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantica Caldera Creta Paradise 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True paradise! The charm of traditional cretan village with modern resort facilities. Ideal for families and couples!11 km from the beautiful town of Chania lies one of Crete’s preserved secrets, the beautiful beach resort of Atlantica Caldera Creta Paradise, situated on the graphic coastline of Platanias. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantica Caldera Creta Paradise Hotel Gerani
Bravo Creta Paradise Platanias
Atlantica Caldera Creta Paradise Gerani, Crete - Chania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantica Caldera Creta Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Atlantica Caldera Creta Paradise to your Saves list