We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House Tereza

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zaton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House Tereza
Save
You added House Tereza to your Saves list
Obala Stjepana Radica 19 | 20235, Zaton 20235, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Zaton B&B and Inns
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

we have returned from our best vacation ever.we stayed at the attic apt.which was new,clean,bright,with an amazing view of the bay.Luko was happy to help in any way needed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Castleford, West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Just returned from a very relaxing holiday at House Tereza which is literally on the shore of Zaton Bay in Zaton Mali which is a 10 minute bus ride (£1-50) outside Dubrovnik. The House and location won't appeal to everyone but if you are looking for peace and quiet in the middle of wonderful scenery in comfortable surroundings then it is highly recommended. There are 6 restaurants in easy walking distance, the nearest being 10 minutes away and the farthest 35 mins but the upside to the longer walk is that it is a walk around the picturesque bay which is no hardship whatsoever. Dubrovnik is a delight of a City and very easy to reach from the House,but can imagine it being very crowded in the busier months although plenty of shaded restaurants to watch the world go by.
Luko the owner is very friendly and is happy to assist in planning trips and only lives across the road which can be useful. It was very nice to be picked up from the Airport at night and taken to the address as a normal taxi would have been much more expensive and the information provided is very useful
There is a main road 50 yards behind the house but you have to trade off the slight traffic noise with the ease of access to public transport.
My only constructive criticism is the lack of cushions for the Sunbeds provided. We were lucky enough to have excellent weather but the Sunbeds do become uncomfortable and kept having to
walk the two yards to the steps into the sea (it's a hard life).
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed for a week in August 2011 in House Tereza, Zaton Mali. The first floor double room was a good size (although the ensuite shower room was tiny) and very clean. French doors opened onto a little balcony, overlooking the bay, where we had breakfast every morning. We also had exclusive use of a small kitchen/sitting room; the kitchen facilities were fine for preparing breakfasts/light meals, but we could probably have used the larger kitchen downstairs if we had wanted to do any real cooking. We would recommend that you ask for a first floor room or apartment with balcony, as the ground floor room looks out onto a shared terrace. The sunbathing area is exclusive to House Tereza guests and and is quite private. The sea is a couple of yards in front of the house and, the house being situated in a bay, the water was very calm and excellent for swimming. Kayaking is a must. The water is calm enough if you stay within the bay, and there are plenty of quiet spots (including a deserted beach) where you can pull in and swim. There are around 5 local restuarants, serving similar dishes - all were very good. Dubrovnik is near enough to visit for day trips and there are plenty of good eating places there too. The little bar built into the rocks is great (Buzza, or something like that). We would recommend a trip to Lokrum Island from Dubrovnik; sunbathing on the rocks, lunch at the open air cafe, swimming in the "dead sea", and wandering around the botanical gardens and pine forest. Lovely! (Tip: plastic water shoes are a must for the rocky coastline)

Room Tip: ask for a first floor room with balcony and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We have just returned from a week in Croatia staying at House Tereza in Zaton near Dubrovnik and both enjoyed it immensely. Luko and his family gave us a warm welcome and Luko was very informative and helpful regarding trips out etc. The view from the apartment was wonderful - sea directly in front of you and the mountains rising up around the bay - a marvellous sight to wake up to in the morning. We had an apartment with sitting room with a small cooker, fridge and sink and there was also a communal kitchen. The apartment was clean, comfortable and quiet and lovely to come back to after exploring Dubrovnik. The swimming was excellent with the sea just yards from the front door. There are plenty of good restaurants within walking distance and a handy supermarket within 10 minutes walk. You can hire a canoe from Luko and explore the bay at your leisure or walk into the mountains around the bay through olive and orange groves. We visited Dubrovnik, Kotor in Montenegro, took a boat trip round the Elaphiti Islands and explored further north. We hired a car but this is not strictly necessary as buses are easy to catch. A lovely place for a week's holiday.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at House Tereza for five days, and it was just a perfect vacation from the beginning to the end. The guesthouse is run by Luko and his wife Tereza, who were exceptionally friendly hosts. Although the house also has apartments to offer, we only stayed in a room with a double bed and a private bathroom which was small but very clean and everything we needed. For the guests staying in rooms, the house has two large kitchens with everything you need to prepare your breakfast or dinner. The house itself is stuated right at the shore of Zaton bay, with a terrace where you can literally jump into the crystal clear water and take a swim before having breakfast! The place is a few kilometeres outside of Dubrovnik, but we looked for something peaceful and quiet rather than a hotel in the city centre, so the location was just perfect. A bus between Zaton Mali and Dubrovnik runs more or less every hour, so this wasn't a problem at all.

We will definitely come back! Thanks a lot for such great holidays!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We stayed at House Tereza in June 2011. Luka and his wife Tereza were excellent hoists. The accommodation is clean, comfortable, peaceful and convenient for Dubrovnik. The views are stunning and the sea is four steps away from your sun bed. We meet some lovely people whilst staying at Zaton, enjoyed drinks on the terrace before dinner. There are a few reasonably priced restaurants within walking distance and a small supermarket about 5 minutes walk away. All very convenient. The bonus was the wifi!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
417 reviews 417 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We have just returned from this lovely house a short hop from Dubrovnick and wow factor for view and comfort!

Luko the owner and his wife Tereza have created a really great place to stay that does not break the bank. Nothing is too much trouble and service is the main thing they want to give you.

We had an apartment and there is a large kitchen as well that everyone just mucks in a cooks togther if you dont want to go out.We met like minded people and a few nights we had a joint meal on the terrace overlooking the sea -perfect!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to House Tereza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House Tereza

Address: Obala Stjepana Radica 19 | 20235, Zaton 20235, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Zaton
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Zaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting Dubrovnik and want to stay by the seaLocation - Location - Location !Do you want to stay by the sea? Here is your answer -Just 10 minutes from the busy city centre on a peaceful village road, and only a short walk from the bus stop, House Tereza sits on a quiet and relaxing Seafront overlooking the beautifully tranquil Zaton Bay.There is a restaurant and a well equipped mini-market near the bus stop, and several other good restaurants a gentle stroll away, within easy walking distance around the bay. But you may not want to dine out once you have enjoyed your covered terrace to dine al fresco, overlooking the sea. Sunbathe on the sun terrace with your sun bed & umbrella. Or, if you are feeling more energetic we have kayaks for hire, and boat trips to the Islands.Swimming is literally on your doorstep, without even having to cross a road, and without encountering a long, hot climb up the cliffs, which is more usual around the Dubrovnik area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
House Tereza Zaton, Croatia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House Tereza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.