We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The biggest hotel I have ever stayed at.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Medena

Save Saved
You added Hotel Medena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Medena
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Donji Seget 21218, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Donji Seget
USA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“The biggest hotel I have ever stayed at.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The place is huge - it has 650 rooms. The location is good, just next to the sea. They have tennis courts, shops, even a hairdresser. Breakfast and dinner buffets are awesome, great selection. The only negative is that the hotel is old and needs some renovation. It is also really busy - it's popular for big organized groups so people are everywhere. Free Wi-Fi is only on the lobby level.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    25
    26
    25
    40
See reviews for
27
37
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is an old, ugly, Communistic building. Maybe it was once a nice place- 50 years ago. Entering the so called hotel feels like you have travelled back in time.

In the room the air conditioner was set to the temperature of 17 degrees Celsius. We had it on all night set at that temperature, and in the morning the temperature in the room was 27 degrees Celsius! Air that felt cold did blow out of the air conditioner, but the temperature of the room never went down. Plus, the air conditioner automatically turned off when you opened the balcony door.

We payed $4 for half an hour of Internet access, but it didn't even work. My iPad kept disconnecting every two minutes, and it was unbelievably slow. I was only able to send one quick email, and the half hour was already over.

The hotel had a swimming pool, but there was no water in it, and there hasn't been any water in it for the past 20 years!

This is a very bad place. It's not even a one star, much less a three star.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Donji Seget hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I read the previous reviews so to a degree knew some of the problems. I will deal with the positives first. The staff at all times were excellent and very helpful with places to go and how to get there. The towels were changed every 3/4 days and sheets as well if you wanted and the room completely hovered out before arrival and every week. The site shop was quite expensive compared to others we found, but being the only one for about 2km, not having a car, busses unreliable, didn't have a lot of choice, but it was open 7am to 8pm. The bar was very reasonable and the view from it excellent (we didn't try the resturant).
Thw apartments location was very good only minutes from the beach, bars and resturants.
The apartment was sadly in need of serious renovation and certainly doesn't warrent its star rating, we have stayed in better quality 2 star than this. There was no kettle (and none available) so we had to use a lipped saucepan to boil water for tea and coffee. The inclusive air ventilation was a boon as it was very warm at night. The rubber non slip coating was partially worn and I wouldn't have taken a bath if I had wanted to, but the shower was very good, lots of power to it and the immersion control for the hot water was in your control, excellent. With renovated apartments it could be a real gem and worth reccomending, but in its present form not.
The only contact with the hotel was to hire a cycle, don't bother they are in an horrendous state, could have got away without paying as they don't control the access.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else in its present state
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

It is the worst hotel I have ever been to.
All the terrible reviews are true!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaxjo, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

We had tourist class room and it was clean, and comfortable.
Nothing was broken or dirty, like in the pictures here.
The breakfast was okay and we're satisfyed and expected worse for the price and 2 stars. The hotel staff was nice and friendly but did speak none or little english. They were service minded tough and eaven drove us in their car instead of calling a taxi ( for free).

it's a pretty long walk in to centrum and in april it's not very much open in the hotel area but most busses stop by the hotel if you just wave your hand.

we enjoyed our trip and the hotel was good.

Room Tip: we lived in room 424
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

This hotel has not recently been completely refurbished as described on their website. Something some locals found very amusing!

The Bathroom was mouldy with a constantly wet floor area and the pull cord was black and disgusting.

The carpet was dirty, there was flaky paint in several places.

We complained about this and the poor restaurant service and the room was cleaned slightly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

Don't recommend to anyone. Balcony is rusty, electric outlets hang out off walls tv stand isn't useable for tv. Food is always almost the same.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Medena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medena

Address: Donji Seget 21218, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Donji Seget
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Donji Seget
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Medena 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Medena is located in Seget Donji near to Trogir and Split in the centre of the former Trogir Riviera (Trogir - Seget - Marina - Okrug)Mild Adriatic climate, lush subtropical and Mediterranean vegetation, the archipelago of picturesque islands and islets hiding quiet fishing and farming villages in their coves, hidden rocky and pebble beaches, the beauty and diversity of folklore, picturesque rural architecture, modern tourism facilities perfect for your vacation, entertainment and recreation both summer and winter, traditional hospitality, Dalmatian delicacies, fishing and joyous fishermen's nights, classical music in the medieval city ambient…The hotel is divided into two main buildings, and two pavilions which are located on the hotel beach, only 150 metres from the hotel.Hotel Medena has a total of 630 rooms: superior***/+, standard*** and tourist class**.We also offer 8 modernly equipped and air-conditioned hotel suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Medena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medena Hotel Seget Donji Vranjic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Medena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.