We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on what you are expecting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Apartmani Medena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Apartmani Medena to your Saves list
Apartmani Medena
2.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Hrvatskih zrtava 187, Donji Seget 21218, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Depends on what you are expecting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We were visiting Croatia in August this year for holidays after some 5 or 6 years. Usually we were staying in apartments in family houses or small private aparthotels. I guess that the most negative reviews about Medena are because people do not pay attention and dont understand that there are standard and reconstructed rooms / apartments. We booked the reconstructed and they were quite ok, although they were lacking a lot of equipment ( cooking dishes, knifes, etc.). Again luckily I read enough so we took some from home (we had enough space in car).

What we liked was the beach. Close to the dependance we were at and really nice. There is a small promenade with lots of restaurants, you can buy fast food, ice cream, toys and other stuff. The beach was taken care off, although the toilets at the promenade were a disgrace. But our apartment was close enough so that we could walk if we had to go.

The hotel / resort grounds were extensive. Unfortunatelly, they were not taken care off at all, which is a pitty. With some effort this resort would be great and really worth the money. But without the care I would say that the value for money was not 100% there.

Would I consider Medena again? Well, yes. I would however again make sure that I book the reconstructed apartments and not the standard ones, which most likely are really horrible. I liked the beach promenade and the proximity to Trogir. Still, dont expect perfect service or superb rooms.

Room Tip: Make sure you book the reconstracted rooms and not the standard ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    5
    4
    10
See reviews for
11
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
usa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

For the money you can find better. Apartments are small, run down stuff is extremely unpleasant especially older blond lady at the reception desk. Trogir is very nice, but you can find better place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Donji Seget hotels

office
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

I was dreading going after all the terrible reviews bet it was great. When we arrived we should have had 2 large apartments but they gave us 4 small ones as there were none on the day we arrived and promised we would have 2 larger apartments the next day and because of the trouble they upgraded us to the referbished apatments at no extra cost they couldnt have been nicer. I admit the older apartments are basic but they were not dirty and ive stayed in alot worse, the air con was great which is in all apartments. The aprtments are not very pretty and the grounds are not, but the area is fab. 2 mins down to the beach great to sunbathe and snorkle lovely resturants and bars everyone so friendly. 5 min drive and you are in trogir which is beautiful with magnificant boats in the harbour. We couldnt believe how cheap is was to eat out normally with 3 kids we usually eat in a lot but we ate out everynight in the resturants near the apartments Trogir was a bit more expensive. it was great not to have kids menus in resturants (no chicken nuggets and chips) but they were happy to bring extra plates so the kids could share a meal. Loads of different nationalities every one manages to speak english,Its very cheap to hire a little boat for the day and the kids had a go on the jet ski with their dad, great holiday wnt to go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

Having stayed in a lovely three star hotel in Dubrovnik, our faces fell as soon as we opened the door to the apartment. It was dirty and run down, neglected and 'tired'. Parking is almost impossible especially at weekends in August. If you are close to the beach you will hear noise from the various bars there.

The staff at reception were very helpful and moved us to another apartment but it was little better. We found alternative accommodation elsewhere on the next day which was lovely. Do not stay here! This place needs a lot of TLC and investment.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

The Medena apartments are the worst apartments we have ever stayed in. We have travelled to many out of the way places in over 20 years of travel but we have never experienced such rundown, dirty accommodation. It is such a pity because the surroundings are beautiful and Croatia is such a lovely country overall. We read the adverse reviews on Trip Advisor and took the matter up with our travel agent and the operator and were assured over and over again that these apartments were 3*+. It would be difficult to give them a 1* rating and we certainly wish we had gone by your reviews saving us a lot of disappointment as this was supposed to be a special holiday and money. We are pensioners. Thankfully, we are able bodied but anyone with any mobility problems would find it extremely difficult. We hope this review will stop anyone else making the same mistake we did. We did convey our dissatisfaction to the management and tour operator and are awaiting the outcome.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — no seaview very dirty and shoddy certainly not recently renovated as advertised
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

Just back from our second stay at this resort. It seemed even more basic than last year. Fridge door handle broken, only one electric plug socket worked, bath very stained etc. But since you only sleep in the apartments it didn't bother us too much. The setting more than makes up for it. The weather was gorgeous, the water is clear, the promonade bars and restaurants and ice cream parlours are excellent. Singing and dancing a karaoke each evening along the front. Trogir itself is lovely to walk around and spend an evening eating and drinking.

Finally, as long as you go expecting very very basic accommodation, but lovely area, you will be ok.

  • Liked — the sea, the sun, the overall setting of the resort
  • Disliked — very very basic accommodation. Resort is on a very steep hill. No swimming pool
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

I would not recommend this place!

Apartments are unclean and run-down. We checked out early and moved to private accommodation close-by.

The first apartment we checked into was so run-down we immediately requested a 2nd one, which was better but still in bad shape. I don't know what the cleaners do there, but the place could have used a thorough dusting and vacuuming at the very least.

Positive points would be it's close proximity to the beach (literally less than one minutes walk). It's close to Trogir and it's quiet.

You will be disappointed however, if you stay here, it's just so run-down!

  • Liked — Close proximity to beach
  • Disliked — Unclean and run-down, complete rip-off
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartmani Medena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartmani Medena

Address: Hrvatskih zrtava 187, Donji Seget 21218, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Donji Seget
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Donji Seget
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartmani Medena 2*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Apartmani Medena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartmani Medena Hotel Donji Seget

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartmani Medena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.