We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only for an overnight stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tahiti Airport Motel

Save Saved
You added Tahiti Airport Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tahiti Airport Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   PO Box 60113, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Faa'a
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Only for an overnight stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

If you are looking for an overnight stay close to the airport this is the correct choice, otherwise go somewhere else.
Be careful that the hotel is still enough far away from the airport to walk, specially if you have luggage. So you will need a taxi to get you there and this will charge you 15-20 $ one way.
The breakfast is a joke - just a small croissant, butter and a little glass of milk

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    103
    103
    31
    17
See reviews for
41
179
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had t layover both on the way in and out of Papeete, and leave some luggage for 5 days. The room rate was reasonable, the storage room had everything we left in it (and we left 10 pieces for 5 days!), the rooms were basic but clean and the AC worked - although it took a few minutes to warm up.
The place is very close to the airport, a 10 min walk, but the taxi fare is $30+!! Breakfast is OK.

What made the place good for us was the friendly staff late at night and early in the morning. we arrived at 9pm with three kids and left at 5am - they were very helpful. This is not a destination, but a great place near the airport to shut your eyes for a few hours.

One major warning: Take ear plugs. Not for planes, but for the neighbour's chickens that start around 3am.

Room Tip: Family room was great for 5 of us
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Honestly if you are looking to spend 8 hours late at night before your flight to Bora or Moorea you may be just as well off taking a bench at the airport. If this is not an option for you and you have an early flight then hold your breath plug your nose and book the airport motel.

I hope you are in great shape though, cause even thoug this is right across the street from the airport you have to climb a road as steep as some mountains i have climbed! Dragging luggage behind this is not easy and if you are over 60 FORGET IT. Then when you arrive there is still no easy way to get up to the 2nd floor to check in. you have to lug your suitcases up a small set of stairs. Only then can you finally check in.

I will be fair. The check in guy was nice enough. Showed us to our room. At first glance it looked ok but after i left for a beer I came back to find the floors flooded due to no drainage for the shower and in panic the kids turned the beds up to find a hotel of spiders nests!

Nothing we could do now. We bit the bullet and tried to sleep.

There are 2 tempatures in the room. Sweating hot or freezing cold. Woke up all nioght tring to adjust the air but was never successful.

Breakfast was ok. nothing special but included in price.

Lugged the bags back down the steep slope and was glad to be the heck out of there!

Never again.

Room Tip: dont book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed one night at the motel before flying to the Island of Huahine. It was chosen because we had an overnight stay between two flights and it looked to be within walking distance from the airport.
This was a somewhat strange experience. It began when attempting to book a room directly using the motel’s homepage. The reply made no sense and in order to be sure that we had a booking we sent an e-mail. It was answered promptly and we were told we didn’t have a booking. Instead we could just send e-mail with a booking date and credit card information or just show up. None of these alternatives seemed attractive, sending credit card details in ordinary e-mails didn’t seem a good idea and just showing up around midnight after a long flight certainly wasn’t. Instead we made a reservation through Booking.com. We arrived around midnight and thought it would be possible just to walk to the motel, as it could be clearly seen a short distance up a hill from the airport. Alas it was pitch black most of the way and this resulted in some blind alley probing, before we, with the help of a flashlight, found the right driveway. Arriving very tired the person at the reception told us that he had followed part of our attempts on surveillance cameras. One would have thought that an attempt to guide us would have been more helpful. We were then given a room on a ground floor with absolutely no view and rather noisy as it was facing the car entrance directly. We didn’t expect much from breakfast, and we were not disappointed. One could collect a serving tray with a continental breakfast from the reception. As it stands we cannot really recommend this hotel. A week later we stayed for some days at Hotel Tahiti Nui, Papeete, and that was certainly a much better experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

While located closely to the airport, what wasn't highlighted was that you have to climb significant amount of stairs, up an incline, making it extremely difficult if you have heavy luggage -- we actually ended up taking a cab up to the hotel that cost us $17 US dollars for such a short trip. Once we arrived, there were no elevators, so once again we were faced with two stories of stairs with extremely heavy luggage and no one to help. While the room was clean and basic, we had no hot water in the morning for showers and the A/C had been turned off, so the room was unbearably hot when we arrived following a very long flight. We were placed in a room right next to an outside door, in which the handle was broken and anyone could access -- not very comforting to two women traveling. We also arrived late and unfortunately there was not even a vending machine to offer any food/snack options. If we had known all of this, we would have booked either the Intercontinental or Sofitel -- as we had to take cab anyway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

this place is at the top of a very very steep hill
the signage is terrible
you can see the hotel from the airport. climbing the stairs to the main road and crossing this there is a small sign reading "airport hotel" pointing to the left.
so you follow the main road and turn right to join a very busy airport link road with little or no pavement and traffic hurtling past
then you see a road leading up to the right which appears to go the hotel (no sign). so you climb the 25% gradient hill only to find a fence blocking access to the hotel.
so back down the hill and continue along the main road to a second road - only this one has a sign " private road, caa only" with no hotel sign
so you luckily find a local who speaks a bit of english (not a lot of them about in tahiti) who confirms the airport hotel is at the top
so up another 25% hill and, almost at the top, there is the hotel - third floor rooms.
so down a 25% slope to reception - check in (very helpful and friendly staff) but have to make your way back up the "mountain" ro your room as there is no lift
rooms are clean, ac works well, tea bags (no coffee or milk), kettle and cups as well
flat screen telly with usual french language only channels and good internet access (foc)
bathroom clean with shower, soap, shampoo and nice towels. plenty of hot water.
large bed, nice clean sheets
so you grab some sleep and wake at midnight for a 2am flight
climb from your room second floor corridor to the top of the "Mountain" and make your way down to the airport.
but now it is dark, quiet and creepy.... until a chorus of dogs starts up from almost every backyard along the road. from one property come two savage looking dogs which are not tethered and attemp to chase you down the hill away from the property they are guarding
not an ideal experience for an airport hotel.
ok so you could take a cab. but these are expensive in tahiti - roughly xpf 1000 ( gbp £ 7) for the 400 yards or so during the day, more at night
so that's the senario i encountered. good luck if you choose to stay there.
if you do walk to or from during hours of darkness keep to the left hand side of the road going up, rhs going down to try to avoid the untethered dogs.

Room Tip: third floor rooms lead almost directly to the road avoiding the hill climb.nice views from the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the Tahiti Airport Hotel one en route to Moorea and Bora Bora from Auckland and would recommend it for the convenience and price.

Walk out of the airport, through the parking lot, up the ‘blue stairs’, cross the road at the crosswalk (be careful) and follow the signs at the gate to get to reception. Anyone with mobility issues will find the incline a challenge.

Check-in was efficient. The young man at reception informed about room location and breakfast time.

I paid $140US - a good price for FP as this includes free unlimited in room WiFi and breakfast. The room was nicely decorated and the entire outside wall was all window, top to bottom, giving a great view to downtown and the coast. There was fridge and a kettle with tea and sugar (no coffee).

One complaint is the bed linen consisted of a sheet. There was a decorative piece of fabric about 2 feet by 6 feet which I used as a makeshift blanket. There was no blanket or bedspread and if you are running the A/C (and you will be) you need more than a sheet.

To get your breakfast, GO TO THE RECEPTION DESK. They will give you a tray with a small box of cereal (no choice), a bowl, plastic spoon and knife, a croissant, a decent piece of baguette, jam and butter, and a cup for coffee and a small cup for juice. There’s a self serve coffee and juice machine (the OJ tasted like they floated an orange is some water, but the other fruit juice was better). It’s not much of a breakfast, but does the trick. I didn’t see a sign to advise how one accesses the tray, so I asked the others eating. They often keep the glass reception doors closed and staff may be in the back, so it can look like they are closed.

My safe, which I opened and closed several times the night before, would not open in the morning. They sent someone up as soon as management arrived with the key. Quite efficient, but glad I wasn’t leaving before management arrived!

BRING EAR PLUGS! The roosters crow all night long and the dogs woke me up at 1AM - quite a cacophony most of the night.

I liked having the airport a five minute walk away for ATM, coffee shops and there is even a McDonalds. I caught a taxi from the airport to the ferry terminal to go to Moorea. The taxi was about $20US which is about the going rate for a ten minute ride.

I would recommend the Tahiti Airport Hotel for a stop over because of its convenient location - just bring earplugs and try to snag a blanket.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tahiti Airport Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahiti Airport Motel

Address: PO Box 60113, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Faa'a
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tahiti Airport Motel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Comfort at reasonable prices.Located in front of Tahiti Faa'a International Airport the Tahiti Airport Motel is only at 5 minutes walk from the terminal.For a greater comfort, all the rooms as well as the corridors are entirely non-smoker and air conditioned.The establishment is ideal for transit travelers or for long-term stay. The motel provides luggage storage and parking.It is a very comfortable place which proposes 46 units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Tahiti Airport Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahiti Airport Hotel Faa`a
Tahiti Airport Motel French Polynesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahiti Airport Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.