We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish that we had known more...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tahiti Airport Motel

Save Saved
You added Tahiti Airport Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tahiti Airport Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   PO Box 60113, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Faa'a
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wish that we had known more...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

While located closely to the airport, what wasn't highlighted was that you have to climb significant amount of stairs, up an incline, making it extremely difficult if you have heavy luggage -- we actually ended up taking a cab up to the hotel that cost us $17 US dollars for such a short trip. Once we arrived, there were no elevators, so once again we were faced with two stories of stairs with extremely heavy luggage and no one to help. While the room was clean and basic, we had no hot water in the morning for showers and the A/C had been turned off, so the room was unbearably hot when we arrived following a very long flight. We were placed in a room right next to an outside door, in which the handle was broken and anyone could access -- not very comforting to two women traveling. We also arrived late and unfortunately there was not even a vending machine to offer any food/snack options. If we had known all of this, we would have booked either the Intercontinental or Sofitel -- as we had to take cab anyway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    103
    103
    31
    17
See reviews for
41
179
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Margate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

this place is at the top of a very very steep hill
the signage is terrible
you can see the hotel from the airport. climbing the stairs to the main road and crossing this there is a small sign reading "airport hotel" pointing to the left.
so you follow the main road and turn right to join a very busy airport link road with little or no pavement and traffic hurtling past
then you see a road leading up to the right which appears to go the hotel (no sign). so you climb the 25% gradient hill only to find a fence blocking access to the hotel.
so back down the hill and continue along the main road to a second road - only this one has a sign " private road, caa only" with no hotel sign
so you luckily find a local who speaks a bit of english (not a lot of them about in tahiti) who confirms the airport hotel is at the top
so up another 25% hill and, almost at the top, there is the hotel - third floor rooms.
so down a 25% slope to reception - check in (very helpful and friendly staff) but have to make your way back up the "mountain" ro your room as there is no lift
rooms are clean, ac works well, tea bags (no coffee or milk), kettle and cups as well
flat screen telly with usual french language only channels and good internet access (foc)
bathroom clean with shower, soap, shampoo and nice towels. plenty of hot water.
large bed, nice clean sheets
so you grab some sleep and wake at midnight for a 2am flight
climb from your room second floor corridor to the top of the "Mountain" and make your way down to the airport.
but now it is dark, quiet and creepy.... until a chorus of dogs starts up from almost every backyard along the road. from one property come two savage looking dogs which are not tethered and attemp to chase you down the hill away from the property they are guarding
not an ideal experience for an airport hotel.
ok so you could take a cab. but these are expensive in tahiti - roughly xpf 1000 ( gbp £ 7) for the 400 yards or so during the day, more at night
so that's the senario i encountered. good luck if you choose to stay there.
if you do walk to or from during hours of darkness keep to the left hand side of the road going up, rhs going down to try to avoid the untethered dogs.

Room Tip: third floor rooms lead almost directly to the road avoiding the hill climb.nice views from the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the Tahiti Airport Hotel one en route to Moorea and Bora Bora from Auckland and would recommend it for the convenience and price.

Walk out of the airport, through the parking lot, up the ‘blue stairs’, cross the road at the crosswalk (be careful) and follow the signs at the gate to get to reception. Anyone with mobility issues will find the incline a challenge.

Check-in was efficient. The young man at reception informed about room location and breakfast time.

I paid $140US - a good price for FP as this includes free unlimited in room WiFi and breakfast. The room was nicely decorated and the entire outside wall was all window, top to bottom, giving a great view to downtown and the coast. There was fridge and a kettle with tea and sugar (no coffee).

One complaint is the bed linen consisted of a sheet. There was a decorative piece of fabric about 2 feet by 6 feet which I used as a makeshift blanket. There was no blanket or bedspread and if you are running the A/C (and you will be) you need more than a sheet.

To get your breakfast, GO TO THE RECEPTION DESK. They will give you a tray with a small box of cereal (no choice), a bowl, plastic spoon and knife, a croissant, a decent piece of baguette, jam and butter, and a cup for coffee and a small cup for juice. There’s a self serve coffee and juice machine (the OJ tasted like they floated an orange is some water, but the other fruit juice was better). It’s not much of a breakfast, but does the trick. I didn’t see a sign to advise how one accesses the tray, so I asked the others eating. They often keep the glass reception doors closed and staff may be in the back, so it can look like they are closed.

My safe, which I opened and closed several times the night before, would not open in the morning. They sent someone up as soon as management arrived with the key. Quite efficient, but glad I wasn’t leaving before management arrived!

BRING EAR PLUGS! The roosters crow all night long and the dogs woke me up at 1AM - quite a cacophony most of the night.

I liked having the airport a five minute walk away for ATM, coffee shops and there is even a McDonalds. I caught a taxi from the airport to the ferry terminal to go to Moorea. The taxi was about $20US which is about the going rate for a ten minute ride.

I would recommend the Tahiti Airport Hotel for a stop over because of its convenient location - just bring earplugs and try to snag a blanket.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

When you arrive on Tahiti by plane for a stopover measured better in hours than in days and you are just desperate to catch some sleep before you go on an early flight the next morning, there is no better place to stay. The bright and shiny logo of the Motel is already visible like a beacon above the airport building, when you fly in, and after passport control and picking up your baggage it is just a three minute walk beyond the car park. The friendly staff at the 24 hour reception can speak English and gives you all the information you need and you are soon on your way to the rooms in the upper levels. Unfortunately this Motel hasn't got an escalator and you are probably already sweating by hiking up the hill, but the rooms are air conditioned and have a warm shower to wash away the travel stress. We didn't feel like sleeping immediately after arrival, so we killed some time by watching television. There were only channels in French language, but travel documentaries are even nice without understanding everything. Our breakfast hamper from the reception at 5 am was consisting of baguette, cereals, croissant, butter and jam and at the beverage station we could refill our coffee, tea and juice as often as we wanted. We enjoyed the view over the airport and Moorea at sunrise for a moment and were back on the track in no time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is not the sort of hotel to stay for a luxurious start to a holiday or first night of a honeymoon, but if like us you are arriving late into Papeete and flying out early in the morning and are there just to sleep then this is the place for you! You can see the motel from the airport and although if your luggage is heavy you may require a taxi it is possible to walk to however it is up a hill and the temperature is hot. It is obvious they have made it as difficult as possible to walk to in order for you to get a 15 dollar taxi for a 3 min ride! The reception staff were pleasant and the rooms clean although basic. I would advise a flight to bora bora or other islands as early as possible in order to make the most of your day there -we flew at 0700 and were so glad to get there early. It is expensive for what it is however it is the most convenient and as it is the only hotel close to airport they can market themselves on this.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Modern spacious, clean with hot showers (2/3 in family room) and kettle. Prime location for Faa’a airport - very convenient if early/late flight as within walking (climbing) distance up blue steps from airport

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Proximity to the airport is about the only thing to recommend this place. That and the reception staff. They were very friendly. Beyond that it is absolutely basic. The lights in the bathroom didn't work. The water pressure on the 3rd floor was barely enough to run the shower. The water was only lukewarm. The juice is so watered down it is basically flavored water. I would have rated it poor except it was clean and the AC worked.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tahiti Airport Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahiti Airport Motel

Address: PO Box 60113, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Faa'a
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tahiti Airport Motel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Comfort at reasonable prices.Located in front of Tahiti Faa'a International Airport the Tahiti Airport Motel is only at 5 minutes walk from the terminal.For a greater comfort, all the rooms as well as the corridors are entirely non-smoker and air conditioned.The establishment is ideal for transit travelers or for long-term stay. The motel provides luggage storage and parking.It is a very comfortable place which proposes 46 units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Tahiti Airport Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahiti Airport Hotel Faa`a
Tahiti Airport Motel French Polynesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahiti Airport Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.