We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Resort Tahiti

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Resort Tahiti to your Saves list
InterContinental Resort Tahiti
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 6014 | Pointe Tata'a, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“It's all about the service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We don't often spend this much on accommodation because we are usually out and about seeing the sights. But this time we spent a day at the beginning and end of a cruise, and we were very happy with the facilities, food, rooms and particularly the service. The entire staff is so well-trained and there many very good English speakers. Our first room needed updating (which was noted on a card in the room) but the second room was newly redone and just beautiful. The lobby area has a breathtaking view. When renovations are complete this property will be back to it's original glory.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest:
Greetings from Tahiti and thank you for your nice review!
We look forward to welcoming you back at our Tahiti Resort!
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    699
    270
    106
    63
See reviews for
205
1,272
53
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I didnt stay here but I attended a one day workshop. I just wanted to write a review to commend the front house staff, in particular the concierge. Excellent customer service! Honestly they are rushed off there feet, there are people coming in around the clock, and they deal with it quite well. The young man was nice enough to change my Francs to smaller denominations even though I wasnt staying at the hotel. Job well done!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Tahiti and thank you for your nice comments.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back at our Tahiti resort in the future.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed in a day room at this hotel at the end of a Paul Gauguin cruise through French Polynesia. Our room was large and quiet with a good view over the pool and an adjoining salt-water lagoon but, as others have noted, the whole facility is much in need of renovation. One of us took a swim in the pool, which is very good, but it was impossible to find towels at the poolside and there is a lack of changing facilities.
Our main criticism is of the dining room. The room is attractively located looking over the pool but the service was unacceptably slow and the food indifferent to say the least. There was a great deal of action on the part of the service staff but few results to show of their activities.
We were due to take a scheduled shuttle to the airport but as the appointed hour approached no one had any information since the shuttle service was not run by the hotel. We believe that it would have been useful for the hotel to keep records of guests’ departure times and their means of departure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Visitor;
Thank you for taking your time to share your comments and be assured each of your remark will be dealt with department head concerned for correction.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back.
Sincerely.
Guets Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is a big hotel/resort within easy reach of the airport and my wife & I stayed there a couple of times during a recent trip to French Polynesia initially for 1 night and subsequently for 3 nights.

We were very pleasantly surprised by the warm, friendly reception we received, especially on our first stay.

We found the staff friendly, pleasant & helpful throughout the resort and the evening dining options were both very good.

We stayed in both a Lagoon View room and a Panoramic View Room. Both were fine and comfortably furnished etc. The Panoramic View Room is quite a bit bigger with a separate bath & shower and twin sinks in the bathroom. The resort is set in attractive grounds and has good views over the lagoon to Moorea.

We thought 3 days was long enough on Tahiti but we would certainly return here if needing a stopover in Tahiti.

Room Tip: Panoramic View rooms are quite a bit more spacious than Lagoon/Garden View rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Visitor:
Greetings from InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa!
Our guests are why we exist, and thanks to the efforts and genuine commitment of our staff you obviously enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back and thank you again for your warm comments.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This place is fine, with good breakfasts, particularly on Sundays. And good Wi-Fi. But let's not pretend that Tahiti is anyone's main destination. We started here before going to Moorea and Bora Bora (in that order, to avoid anticlimax). The sea is not easily accessible from the hotel grounds.

Our highlight was the night manager, Pierre Maitere, who went out of his way to ensure that we had a pleasant stay. He's a credit not just to the hotel but to the entire trade.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Visitor,
Thank you for your feedback and for recommending our staff who will be very pleased by your comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We booked a night at this hotel to rest before a Windstar cruise. Maybe we should have known, but we were surprised that there was no transfer available at the airport. We wound up getting a taxi, with the help of one of the other tourist-greeters. The room was lovely, and we enjoyed a stroll on the grounds.

Unfortunately, we arrived after 9:30pm and the restaurants were closed. We ordered room service from the limited night-menu and were unimpressed. The next morning, we learned that the only breakfast available prior to 10am was the very-expensive buffet. All we wanted was coffee and scrambled eggs, but the hostess insisted that it wasn't an option.

When we asked at the front desk where we could go for a simple breakfast, she, too, was surprised to learn the restaurant was buffet-only. She made a few phone calls, until the restaurant manager ultimately took our order.

At noon, the driver came to take us to the cruise ship dock. We called to have our bags picked up, but no one came. Again, the same young woman at the front desk made a few phone calls. (She was the only one on staff that seemed to "get it.") Finally, someone came to the room and loaded our bags into a truck. Don't know where they went after that, but we (and the van to the dock) wound up waiting about 15 minutes for them to show up at reception.

By the way, I am a Platinum member of the chain's loyalty program, but I was disappointed.

Perhaps, if we had been guests for a week, the beauty of the surroundings would have inured us to the any shortcomings of the hotel.

We opted to stay somewhere else in Tahiti at the end of the cruise.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest:
Greetings from InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa!
We would like first of all to thank you for posting your review regarding your stay with us. Our goal is to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us.
Please accept our apologies for the shortfalls experienced particularly at our Te Tiare restaurant. Indeed we propose several options: express breakfast, continental breakfast including cold buffet and american breakfast including continental breakfast plus eggs cooked to your liking, hence the answer of our staff at the restaurant explaining that the only option was the full breakfast considering you wanted scrambled eggs.
In reference to the transfer upon arrival indeed our hotel do not organise airport transfers. Guest should book directly private transfer before their arrival with our Head Concierge or with a destination management Company ; Otherwise taxis are available 24 hrs at the airport upon your arrival, station being located at the exit of the Customs area.
We value our Platinium Members and If you ever decide to return to Tahiti, please do let us know referring to this correspondence as we would like to extend a special attention to you and demonstrate a much better level of service.
Yours faithfully,
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We chose this hotel for a pre cruise night and it was a great place to stay. Our flight landed super early so we headed over there and they gave us a transit room to shower and change. It felt great. We chose to head to the downtown market while we waited for our room. After returning, our room was ready by about noon/1:00 which isn't bad since I think check in isn't until 2 or 3. We thoroughly enjoyed the pool and swim up bar, and met some nice people in/by the pool. The restaurant is delicious! I wouldn't really suggest the owb here. They aren't super far into the water, although they are remodeling them and they should be really nice when finished. There are two pools to choose from and also a lagoonarium. We are pretty avid snorkelers and found it quite boring so didn't get in there. There is not really a beach here. Beautifully kept grounds and a great place to hang out pre-cruise. Also, the service here was better than the Hilton on Moorea... People were much nicer and willing to assist you if needed. Another good tip - breakfast is extremely expensive here. We picked up some fruit and bread while at the market and had that for breakfast. Much better than a minimum $30 pp!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest, Greetings from Intercontinental Tahiti !Thank you for your review. Our team is dedicated to help and do his best to make our guests spend the best time possible and we are pleased to learn that we succeed in making your stay a memorable experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back !
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faa'a
2.2 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
13.7 mi away
Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa
4.3 mi away
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui
#3 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
La Maroto
La Maroto
#1 of 2 in Pirae
4.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
4.5 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#1 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 stars 1,016 reviews
39.7 mi away
The Brando
The Brando
#1 of 1 in Tetiaroa
5.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Resort Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort Tahiti

Address: PO Box 6014 | Pointe Tata'a, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Resort Tahiti 4.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort has a total of 253 rooms and bungalows, comprising 172 fully renovated garden and lagoon view rooms, a separate wing with 60 panoramic view rooms for the top achievers and VIPs, a suite, and 32 over-water bungalows. All units are air-conditioned, with international facilities and amenities. Located in 32 acres of gardens, the Polynesian style resort offers views of unforgettable sunsets and volcanic peaks of the sister island Moorea, just 12 miles across the sea of moons. The resort offers 2 restaurants including gourmet over water restaurant and an all day dining restaurant featuring the best Tahitian shows on the island, 2 bars, 2 crystal clear, fresh Water overflow swimming pools, and a host of activities to entertain just about everyone. The property features an activity center including tennis, water sports and the largest scuba-diving center Special mention about the huge lagoonarium where guests can swim in a protected area and enjoy Polynesian exceptional sea-life. The Deep Nature Spa by Algotherm is open since the end of 2008" is also equipped with a great gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Resort Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Tahiti Hotel Faa`a
Intercontinental Hotel Tahiti
Intercontinental Hotel Faaa
Beachcomber Resort Tahiti
InterContinental Resort Tahiti French Polynesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Resort Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.