We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay if you must be on Tahiti” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Resort Tahiti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Resort Tahiti to your Saves list
InterContinental Resort Tahiti
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 6014 | Pointe Tahiti, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay if you must be on Tahiti”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We chose this hotel for a pre cruise night and it was a great place to stay. Our flight landed super early so we headed over there and they gave us a transit room to shower and change. It felt great. We chose to head to the downtown market while we waited for our room. After returning, our room was ready by about noon/1:00 which isn't bad since I think check in isn't until 2 or 3. We thoroughly enjoyed the pool and swim up bar, and met some nice people in/by the pool. The restaurant is delicious! I wouldn't really suggest the owb here. They aren't super far into the water, although they are remodeling them and they should be really nice when finished. There are two pools to choose from and also a lagoonarium. We are pretty avid snorkelers and found it quite boring so didn't get in there. There is not really a beach here. Beautifully kept grounds and a great place to hang out pre-cruise. Also, the service here was better than the Hilton on Moorea... People were much nicer and willing to assist you if needed. Another good tip - breakfast is extremely expensive here. We picked up some fruit and bread while at the market and had that for breakfast. Much better than a minimum $30 pp!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest, Greetings from Intercontinental Tahiti !Thank you for your review. Our team is dedicated to help and do his best to make our guests spend the best time possible and we are pleased to learn that we succeed in making your stay a memorable experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back !
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    659
    254
    101
    60
See reviews for
186
1,189
53
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for tree days in the last part of our honeymoon and after staying in an overwater bungalow in Bora Bora this was a disappointment.
We stayed in a panoramic view room but the beautiful island of Moorea was TOTALLY obstructed because of the palm trees surrounding the pool near their upscale restaurant. We felt disappointed that our view was simply a garden view and we we're paying for a much better view.

The other great problem with this hotel were the swimming pools. You are in French Polynesia the place with the most beautiful waters and colorful fishes and this hotel does a lot of effort to keep you from those waters. Instead of having a nice access to the beach (like the Intercontinental in Moorea) they have the most pathetic access that doesn't even have chairs or shades for you to enjoy. Instead they have two pools that are ok. However the area surrounding one of pools is not ok, for some reason they have this white dirt that is supposed to look like sand. And all the beaches that we've seen in Tahiti don't even have white sand!

The food in their restaurant was good although extremely expensive and we enjoyed their happy hour in the tiki bar. In the last night they had a dj for a special event and it was very nice.
However, we asked for a specific table but the waitress said the table was occupied and we had to sit somewhere else although there was no one in it the whole time.
The room service was very good and fast.
The minibar was empty, they tell you that you can bring your own food and beverages but we felt they should have complementary drinks like other resorts in French Polynesia (they do give you complementary water bottles, though).

The gardens are beautiful and the internet connection was very good (we had a router in our room!).

This is a big resort and it felt like it, you only get an hour of free snorkeling (again why go in the beautiful waters?) and you had to sign in to get towels and had to return them until 6pm.
They do have a lagonarium but it doesn't compare to swimming in the lagoon and it has really big fishes inside that come promptly looking for food.

Their concierge desk has a reasonable amount of activities for you to do but when we asked for detailed informations about some of the trips the concierge couldn't tell us more than what was in the brochure.

Nonetheless, our room was very comfortable and the staff was very helpful.
The hotel is very near the airport and near Papeete, and their shuttle service to Papeete was very good.
We had a late flight so they kept our bags for us and let us use their transit rooms to change and shower several times. They even gave us wifi access after the check out until we departed for our flight.

Overall, our experience in this hotel was very good but we can't help to feel that it could have been better with some minor improvements.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest:
Greetings from Tahiti and thank yofor taken the time to letting us know your feelings after your recent stay with us.
We took good note of each of your remark and are sorry that some aspects of your stay did not fully meet with your expectations.
Should you decide to come back to Tahiti, please don’t hesitate to contact us as we would love to have the opportunity to make sure this time, all aspect of your stay will be most enjoyable.
Most sincerely,
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a week for business, the view, pools, staff and meals were all outstanding, just don't walk out of the hotel to see the sites, you need a car and a good 20 mins driving before you get away from the graffiti and rubbish to see the real beauty of the island. If you need to stay in Papeete, this is the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest:
ia Orana from InterContinental Tahiti !
Glad to read that our level of service was up to your expectations and if you ever decide to return to Tahiti, please do let us know referring to this correspondence as we would like to extend special attention to you ... We hope to have the pleasure to serving you in the future.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We had to overnight in Papeete and this seemed to be the best location for our stay. The hotel staff were very pleasant and we had a nice room with a view of the pool and lagoon looking west. We ate in the main dining area which was fine. We did not eat in their more upscale restaurant as we arrived late and wanted something casual. We had breakfast there as well which we found very expensive. Go for the breakfast included option if you get the chance!

Room Tip: Something with a view to the west is best for sunsets, but that may be up to the weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Visitor, Greetings from Tahiti and thank you for posting your review.
We are pleased to see that you were satisfied by the service provided by our staff who will be very pleased by reading your comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The Intercontinental gave us great service during our 2-stage Feb. 2014 stay. On the incoming stay we received a free upgrade to an available room. Although there was a mistake on our room assignment on the return stay, it was quickly corrected. In addition, between check out and the late night departure flight, we had free access to the transit facilities, including storage for luggage and valuables and a private shower room. Finally, the chief concierge, Teiva Milz, was great at helping us make the most of our time on Tahiti. We would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room with a view is really worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Ia Orana from Tahiti !
Thank you for praising the good service you received on the occasion of your last stays with us and for recommending our staff.
We hope to have the pleasure to serving you in the future and should you travel plan brings you back to Tahiti, kindly let us know.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is superb. The park is big enough to stroll and jogg around.
Good service. You can swim in their lagoon with all the fishes. The food is very good, Sunday brunch is a must! Our Garden Rooms ( us and our daughters) were fine and clean with a gorgeous view. Service is good.
We took a private tour (4 1/2 hours) with a local taxi recommended in our guide and we had a blast! For 1/2 day we could do only the upper part of the island (Tahiti Nui), taxi name: Mami Elisa Taxi in Papeete. Papeete was a bit disappointing, we dined there on a Friday evening and most restaurants were closed.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest:
Greetings from Tahiti and thank you for such positive comments.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back very soon,
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Barker, South Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The resort is beautifully situated, and nothing has been spared in providing a luxurious and relaxing environment for its guests. I initially spent 3 nights there prior to a cruise to the Marquesa Islands, and a final night after completing the cruise and before returning home.
For me, the best thing about the resort was the staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them, and the lovely smiles they greeted you with made you feel very welcome. Full marks to every last one of them.
Both my rooms (Garden Rooms) were very pleasant, with beautiful outlooks when the curtains were drawn back. The beds were supremely comfortable, and I slept really well. I had some reservations about the bathrooms - shower over the bath (and the shower didn't work really effectively in the first room). For older guests, I would think that this could be a problem.
The dining facilities were excellent and looked out over the amazing swimming pool (the most beautiful I've ever seen) and out towards the ocean and Moorea. The menu was extensive and ranged from fish and chips to a variety of Polynesian dishes. The presentation of the food was as you would expect from such a high-end establishment, and was in abundance. On several occasions I found myself unable to finish it all simply because there was so much. Incidentally, I mostly ordered foods with which I was completely unfamiliar (eg raw fish) and found it to be really delicious. My recommendation to travellers is to be adventurous with your food choices - it will offer you a whole new world of taste sensations.
The grounds were really beautiful. I enjoyed wandering through the gardens and along the shoreline. I also spent many wonderful hours by the pool just unwinding, reading and enjoying my surroundings. The resort looks out towards the island of Moorea - what a beautiful sight! Every time I gazed across the water at it I was reminded of the song "Bali Hai" from the musical "South Pacific". Perhaps Hammerstein and Rodgers had Moorea in mind when they wrote their lovely song. When I return to French Polynesia (and I plan to do so), I will go to Moorea to stay.
The entertainments at the Intercontinental were first class. Marvellous musicians and singers entertained us one night, and I was privileged to see two separate Friday night performances of Polynesian dancing. Absolutely not to be missed if you happen to be in Papeete on a Friday night.
Would I stay at the InterContinental Resort Tahiti again? Absolutely.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest:
Greetings from InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa!
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and your positive feedback will be shared with our entire team.
Thank you also for recommending our entertainment followed by an exciting performance of the unique Tahitian dances: Each Wednesday: "Marquesas Night" with the legends and powerful Marquesas Islands dances & a Buffet featuring Polynesian and Marquesas specialties.
Each Friday: "Soirée Merveilleuse" with a buffet and the Grand Polynesian Revue on exclusivity at our Resort. Our Te Tiare Restaurant team does its best to make these evenings an unforgettable moment where the The restaurant is transformed into a real theater for magnificent dinner shows which as you said allow our guests to discover the Traditional Polynesian culture. We are glad that you enjoyed it and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon at our Tahiti resort.
Sincerely yours.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Resort Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort Tahiti

Address: PO Box 6014 | Pointe Tahiti, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Resort Tahiti 4.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort has a total of 253 rooms and bungalows, comprising 172 fully renovated garden and lagoon view rooms, a separate wing with 60 panoramic view rooms for the top achievers and VIPs, a suite, and 32 over-water bungalows. All units are air-conditioned, with international facilities and amenities. Located in 32 acres of gardens, the Polynesian style resort offers views of unforgettable sunsets and volcanic peaks of the sister island Moorea, just 12 miles across the sea of moons. The resort offers 2 restaurants including gourmet over water restaurant and an all day dining restaurant featuring the best Tahitian shows on the island, 2 bars, 2 crystal clear, fresh Water overflow swimming pools, and a host of activities to entertain just about everyone. The property features an activity center including tennis, water sports and the largest scuba-diving center Special mention about the huge lagoonarium where guests can swim in a protected area and enjoy Polynesian exceptional sea-life. The Deep Nature Spa by Algotherm is open since the end of 2008" is also equipped with a great gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Resort Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Tahiti Hotel Faa`a
Intercontinental Hotel Tahiti
Intercontinental Hotel Faaa
Beachcomber Resort Tahiti
InterContinental Resort Tahiti French Polynesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Resort Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.