We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the Budget minded” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Resort Tahiti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Resort Tahiti to your Saves list
InterContinental Resort Tahiti
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 6014 | Pointe Tahiti, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Tavernier, Florida
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Not for the Budget minded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

When we arrived the view just walking into the lobby was amazing. The property is well cared for on the outside. We were here 3 nites pre cruise. We booked a panoramic view room. Check in was a little slow but then we were taken to our room. View was good, room was big. No screens on the balcony so AC it was.
Bathroom is large, al tho was not as clean as I like. Room is dated and needs to be updated and refreshed. Staff is courteous but not overly nice, and could be rude at the desk. Porters were nice and helpful. Dined in the Le Tiare restaurant most of the time and found the Head Waiter Auralian was a GEM. He was always there to help and make sure the food was served as we ordered it. The prices are a little redicoulous as breakfast was $48.00 per person, lunch buffets $128.00 per person. NOTHING IS FREE THERE- no water, coffee, tea nothing......If you are a Rewards member you get the slower standard internet in your room which was helpful and in the lobby as well. I was not welcomed as a rewards guest.
Pools are great, altho they could keep the swim up bar pool cleaner. The lagoonarium is very nice. On our return stay we were upgraded to the OWB and I was excited, till I got to the room. They are in poor shape, clean and good size.
Railings were very rickety the steps getting into the water full of moss and barnacles,, so wear water sh oes. Lots of fish around the bungalow.
Oh and the hotel's exchange rate for the US Dollar was lower by far than any of the other establishments we visted while in Tatiti......

Room Tip: Ask for a newer remodeled room, as they are upgrading some of them. The OWB on the side we were on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guest:
Greetings from Tahiti and thank you for your review.
We are glad to hear that your overall experience was a positive one and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Yours faithfully,
Guest relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    591
    229
    94
    56
See reviews for
167
1,040
47
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at the intercontinental as part of a pre-cruise package so to us the value was very good but if I had booked independently I may not have felt it was as good of a value. The rooms were good and as a Gold member the wi-if was free. The grounds are beautiful and the beach pool with swim up bar was very nice. The resort is very spread out so be prepared to walk. We stayed in a logo on view room in the main part of the hotel. The over water bungalows were being updated and needed it from what we could see. They are not worth the money until fully updated. As to be expected, the food was very expensive. Overall it was an enjoyable stay just go in with your eyes open.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest:
Greetings from Tahiti and thank you for your review.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed the location and facilities of our resort.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shady Cove, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed 2 nights prior to cruising. Arrived 7 hours prior to check-in so they stored our bags but we had to wait about 2 hours for a changing room. Food at the restaurants is outrageous. Our bungalow was fantastic. Sitting area had coffee/tea desk area, electric tea pot, refrigerator, sofa with large window above and behind it, chair, table and glass sliding door. Large bedroom with glass sliding door and large window over desk. Big bathroom with over sized tub for 2 with separate shower and separate toilet room with door. All walls had woven bamboo and ceiling was high thatched with ceiling fan along with a/c. Very nice deck with 2 lounge chairs and stairs down to a barely above the water deck with a shower and stairs into the water, making it easy to get out of the water after diving in and swimming. Two large beautiful infinity pools, one of which was a totally sand bottom with swim up bar/food service. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Over water bungalows are very tropical and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest:
Greetings from Tahiti and thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.
We are glad to read that you found your bungalow organized just the way you like it and we look forward to welcoming you back at our Tahiti resort.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at the Intercontinental for 3 nights in March, 2014 at the beginning of a 17 day trip to 4 islands in French Polynesia. I don't have one bad thing to say about this hotel. We were upgraded to a panoramic room, so I can only speak to that room type. It had a beautiful view and the room was completely spotless, had all the amenities you could ask for and was very comfortable. I found that in general, it was even nicer than the photos. Unlike many travelers who go straight to other islands, I did not want to visit French Polynesia without seeing Tahiti. This was a wonderful base from which to explore. The pools were wonderful, we especially liked the sand bottom infinity pool. The food was surprisingly good, but try to make sure you have breakfast included in your room (we did) as it was a shocking $50 US per person otherwise. The view from the lobby area at sunset is unbelievable.

The food in Tahiti (and all the islands) is expensive. But there is a great Carrefour grocery store just a 15-20 minute walk from this hotel (turn right leaving the hotel and follow the road). We had read some other reviews that suggested bringing some of your own alcohol. So we did that and bought some fruit juices at the store made some of our own drinks. Carrefour also has ready-made baguette sandwiches at the back of the store. Also, the meal portions at the hotel restaurant are quite large, so don't be shy about sharing a meal. We also took a cab into town and ate at Les Roulottes in Papeete (less expensive) a couple of nights. It maybe doesn't make too much difference on the cost from eating at the hotel if you have to take a cab, but you might find others to share it with. But its a fun experience too.

You might not be interested in working out while on vacation, but if you are, the gym is excellent - I think the nicest one I've ever seen at a hotel! All in all we had a wonderful stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit and for such positive comments.
Our team is dedicated to help and do his best to make our guests spend the best time possible and we are pleased to learn that we succeed in making your stay a memorable experience.
We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.
Sincerely,
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We satyed here on the first night in Tahiti and the last 2 nights after visiting Bora Bora and Moorea. This hotel was excellent. The check in was prompt and efficient, especially given its closeness to the airport. There were several arrivals all at the same time. The room was well presented, clean and cool. It is also very quiet inside the room. We had to leave at 5am on a Saturday so did not go to the theme night. We could hear it from our balcony but not from inside the room. The only complaint would be that the shower alternated between hot and cold. The grounds were immaculate and could not be faulted. The food and service at the restraunt was top quality. They have their own Lagoon which contained many varieties and sizes of fish. The Hilton at Moorea would be well advised to have a look at this hotel to see what makes a luxury resort a luxury.

Room Tip: We satyed in a garden view room 121. The rooms around this are located close to all facilities and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear guest,
Ia orana and thank you for your thoughtful comments.
We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.
Sincerely,
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We spent two nights here prior to a cruise out of Papeete. Upon arrival, 6 1/2 hours before check in time, we were given the use of a shower and changing room as well as the use of all resort facilities. We showered and went swimming. We were driven to our room and were moved in with four hours left before check in time. Win.Win. The room was excellent in all respects except for a very noisy hardwood floor. A beautiful view and two very quiet nights helped overcome the noisy floor. I know it sounds like I am a whiner concerning the noisy floors but it was not possible to get out of bed without waking yoiur spouse/room mate. (Liquids intake moderation may help maintain domestic stability.) Excellent room. Nuff said.
The resort is well maintained and clean with plenty of space for relaxing in the sun or shade. No complaints of any kind. Almost done. Food service and quality reminded you that you were a captive audience as there was no place close by to buy anything. Food quality across the board was mediocre to slightly deserving of comment. We are not fancy eaters. The prices are another matter. Enter the captive audience part. Buffets were all above $43.00 US with Sunday brunch reaching beyond $80.00. Ordering from the menu is a far better deal. Beverages, including coffee, were high and being older kept us from going into debt over a couple rounds of coctails. Would we stay again? Probably. But, a McDonald's across the street would provide a welcome bit of competition if not better quality fare.

Room Tip: We stayed in standard rooms. The resort is like many others in this area that offer over the water b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We had a two night stay in a bungalow. We ate dinner on the deck listening to the roll of the waves crashing on the reef beyond the lagoon. Very private, a great getaway The overall appearance of the hotel shows it's age but still a beauty, undergoing renovations In some parts of the resort at time of stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Resort Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort Tahiti

Address: PO Box 6014 | Pointe Tahiti, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Resort Tahiti 4.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort has a total of 253 rooms and bungalows, comprising 172 fully renovated garden and lagoon view rooms, a separate wing with 60 panoramic view rooms for the top achievers and VIPs, a suite, and 32 over-water bungalows. All units are air-conditioned, with international facilities and amenities. Located in 32 acres of gardens, the Polynesian style resort offers views of unforgettable sunsets and volcanic peaks of the sister island Moorea, just 12 miles across the sea of moons. The resort offers 2 restaurants including gourmet over water restaurant and an all day dining restaurant featuring the best Tahitian shows on the island, 2 bars, 2 crystal clear, fresh Water overflow swimming pools, and a host of activities to entertain just about everyone. The property features an activity center including tennis, water sports and the largest scuba-diving center Special mention about the huge lagoonarium where guests can swim in a protected area and enjoy Polynesian exceptional sea-life. The Deep Nature Spa by Algotherm is open since the end of 2008" is also equipped with a great gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your InterContinental Resort Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Tahiti Hotel Faa`a
Intercontinental Hotel Tahiti
Intercontinental Hotel Faaa
Beachcomber Resort Tahiti
InterContinental Resort Tahiti French Polynesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Resort Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.