We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Resort Tahiti

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Resort Tahiti to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental Resort Tahiti
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 6014 | Pointe Tahiti, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A lovely place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel for three days before going on a cruise on the Paul Gauguin. We found the amenities excellent, the vrooms spacious and the staff obliging. The buffet breakast was of a good standard and the food in the restaurant although expensive, was good.
The views from our third floor room was superb.
We definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the water. Ours was on the top level and had a lovely view and balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and we are pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay with us. We hope to welome you back one day.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    549
    200
    83
    53
See reviews for
152
952
47
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights pre and post Bora Bora.
A great location for access to Faa'a city and the airport.

As usual with French Polynesia, the staff are amazing and willing to do anything to please.
A wide range of facilities and superb views across the lagoon to Moorea.

My only gripe would be the noise from international flights landing and departing the airport after midnight and before five am. A very small issue given the small number of flights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Intercontinental Tahiti !
Thank you for your review and recommending our staff who will be very pleased to read your comments.
Hope to welcome you back in the future.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here on our first night in French Polynesia. Great location.
I was really impressed by the hotel property. Our room was big and clean.
The bathroom was on the smallish side but efficient.
The staff was also very friendly. They have beautiful pools, but no beach.
We did eat breakfast at the buffet. The restaurant is open air.
The buffet was well appointed and had a full American breakfast.
The fruit here was delicious. The hotel is quite near the airport, which made transfers quick and easy.
Overall, the stay here was a great

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest:
Ia Orana from Intercontinental Tahiti and thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to read that you appreciate the facilities and service of our Tahiti Resort. We look forward to welcome you back in the future.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The setting of this hotel on Tahiti Nui is very beautiful. The pool and lagoon were delightful. Our overwater bungalow was sumptuous and relaxing. The food was so-so - buffet breakfast closer to US Holiday Inn quality than 5-star hotel, but, given that we were in the South Pacific, ok. The biggest deficit was access to a beach for ocean swimming. Access to Papeete (city) was a short shuttle ride at nominal cost. The city appears run-down and dirty with the ususal tourist shops.

Room Tip: Overwater bungalow was great fun and sumptuous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest, Ia Orana from Tahiti, and thank you for your review.
It was a pleasure to welcome you ; we are sorry to hear that you did not appreciate the buffet breakfast with us as we receive numerous positive comments regarding the quality and variety of our food. We would like also to precise that our Tahiti Resort is rated 4***, and rest assured that guest satisfaction is our Top priority.
For our future visitors reading this review, please note that the hotel features 2 artificial sand beach, 2 freshwater swimming pools with one enormous main swimming pool overlooking the lagoon and the Lagoonarium which is unique in the South Pacific and recreates the underwater world found in the ocean by providing a constant flow of seawater filled with corals, shells and tropical fishes. Our overwater bungalows also have sundecks and paltforms from where you can step directly into the lagoon waters for swimming or snorkeling or to contemplate the sunset.
Thank you again for your review which will help our future travellers.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here on our first and final nights of a 10 night stay in French Polynesia. Great location less than 5 minutes taxi from the airport. Very relaxed atmosphere around the resort, with a stunning smaller infinity pool and poolside bar (rock stools in the water!). Facilities and decor have a real island resort feel, but in general the accommodation is a bit dated and the bathrooms are quite basic. We stayed in a lagoon view room on the first night, and a panoramic lagoon room the last night (bigger bathroom, but not worth the extra cost compared to the lagoon view room). Dinner at Le Lotus restaurant was great (outdoor overwater, great ambiance, nice meal).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Visitor;
Ia Orana from Intercontinental Tahiti resort !
Thank you for having taken the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that on the whole, you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed our panoramic view rooms are our largest rooms (47.5m² including terrace) with all magnificent panoramic views over the exquisite "Lotus" infinity pool.
We are glad you had the opportunity to experience our Gourmet Overwater restaurant and thank you for your nice comments.
We look forwad to welcome you back in the future.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this resort for one night at the end of our honeymoon before our flights home. Overall, I was really impressed by the hotel, property, and amenities. The hotel is minutes from the airport, which made the travel very easy, but you did not have any noise or pollution at the hotel. Our room was very large, clean, and lovely. The staff was also very friendly.

We ate breakfast and dinner at the casual restaurant on property (we just wanted something easy). The food was ok, but service was very good and the views are really nice.

I think this is the perfect spot to stay for a day or two if it makes flying in and out easier. They have beautiful pools, but no real beach. Overall, really pleased with the stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest:
Ia Orana & thank you for your review.
By reading your comments we understand that the location, facilities and the service of our Tahiti Resort met with your expectations. Thank you for this positive feed back. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Tahiti.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Difficult to fault, from the moment of arrival with an early check-in, excellent baggage handling, welcome drink, amazingly friendly reception. Beautiful room overlooking the turquoise lagoon. Great swimming pools, loungers, attentive staff, it just doesn't get better.
Only one tiny criticism, they wooden balcony chairs could really do with some cushions as they are pretty uncomfortable.
Overall, nothing short of excellent. We were also very grateful for our late-check-out to accommodate international flight.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms have better views and are on the same level as reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your positive comments and we are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time at our Tahiti resort.
Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Resort Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort Tahiti

Address: PO Box 6014 | Pointe Tahiti, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Resort Tahiti 4.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort has a total of 253 rooms and bungalows, comprising 172 fully renovated garden and lagoon view rooms, a separate wing with 60 panoramic view rooms for the top achievers and VIPs, a suite, and 32 over-water bungalows. All units are air-conditioned, with international facilities and amenities. Located in 32 acres of gardens, the Polynesian style resort offers views of unforgettable sunsets and volcanic peaks of the sister island Moorea, just 12 miles across the sea of moons. The resort offers 2 restaurants including gourmet over water restaurant and an all day dining restaurant featuring the best Tahitian shows on the island, 2 bars, 2 crystal clear, fresh Water overflow swimming pools, and a host of activities to entertain just about everyone. The property features an activity center including tennis, water sports and the largest scuba-diving center Special mention about the huge lagoonarium where guests can swim in a protected area and enjoy Polynesian exceptional sea-life. The Deep Nature Spa by Algotherm is open since the end of 2008" is also equipped with a great gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Resort Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Tahiti Hotel Faa`a
Intercontinental Hotel Tahiti
Intercontinental Hotel Faaa
Beachcomber Resort Tahiti
InterContinental Resort Tahiti French Polynesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Resort Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.