We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late check out, amazing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Resort Tahiti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Resort Tahiti to your Saves list
InterContinental Resort Tahiti
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 6014 | Pointe Tahiti, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
reno, nv
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Late check out, amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The over water bungalow was better than expected. I could feed fish from the porch. and the Lagoon is good for snorkeling. Tahiti has lots of currents, so the lagoon was easier and had diverse sealife.

Our flight left at midnight, they let us have the room til 9pm for $150, well worth it to have another day in paradise.

Room Tip: Food is very expensive! You can see the show without the $110 buffet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    586
    228
    94
    56
See reviews for
165
1,034
47
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband and I planned and book what was going to be a vacation of a lifetime. We were going to the French Polynesian. We spent our first of 2 weeks in Moorea Island then went to Bora Bora to complete the second week. We packed up our stuff and headed to the airport after our wonderful 2 week stay. Once arriving at the airport and checking in, we were notified that my husband’s passport had been cancelled. The staff at the airport told us that there was no way to board the plan and informed us that we would have to contact the Canadian Consulate for further instruction of what we could do to get home. From that moment forward our dream vacation was turning out to be a nightmare that most people would only think could happen in the movies. We grabbed our luggage and headed to the Intercontinental Hotel in Tahiti. We needed a place that we could use a phone and business center to start trying to figure things out. As it was now the weekend it looked like it was going to take a while to sort anything out. Four days later we were finally in contact with the closest Canadian Consulate, which happened to be in New Zealand. They told us that they would help us get home but that it was going to take a while and that we would have to sit tight. We could not believe all of our bad luck. Thankfully we met Andrew, he worked as a Concierge for the Intercontinental Hotel in Tahiti and was our saving grace. We were given a seemingly endless and impossible list of tasks that we had to complete in order to get the documents to get home. After hearing about our dilemma Andrew offered to help us. Being in a foreign country where everyone spoke French which my husband and I do not was proving to make completing the task list nearly impossible. On Andrew’s days off from work he offered to be our personal assistant and translator. He started to make phone calls on his own to help figure out the best ways to assist us. He got in contact with his lawyer for us and even gave us his personal phone number so that we could contact him anytime that we had questions or needed assistance. For the first time since the nightmare started knowing that Andrew was going to help made us believe that everything was going to work out and that we would get home. We would have been completely lost without him. Then the real work started. Andrew picked us up on his days off and we set out to complete all of the steps required to get home. He brought us to three different police stations translating for us each and every time. He explained our situation and made sure that we had the support we needed. He brought us two separate times to the passport office in Tahiti and helped us arrange to meet with the passport office’s manager. She was not able to actually help us but sent us in the right direction of the notary so that we could start filling out the necessary paperwork for a new passport for my husband. We then had to get passport pictures taken and Andrew brought us to three different photo studios until we found one that would take the pictures. This was rather difficult as the pictures that they take in Tahiti are not the exact qualifications that the Canadian passport office requires. The pictures had to be taken a few times and cut to the right size in order to be usable. Andrew then brought us to a Notary so that we could get the passport documents and the pictures signed to make them valid. This process would not have been completed without the help of Andrew translating for us and driving us to the different destinations. Then came the next task. We needed to get a certified cheque. Since there are no banks that we use in Tahiti we did not know how we were going to accomplish this. Andrew offered to put our money in his account and got his bank to approve a certified cheque for us from him. I know that this doesn’t seem as bad as it actually was, however this was days of going back and forth and dealing with a lot of people that did not understand the situation or know of ways to help. Even with Andrew translating and explaining the situation to everyone it was still difficult for others to grasp the concept as this is not something that many of them have ever encountered before. So now that we had all of the documents needed to apply for a new passport we had to send everything to the Canadian Consulate in New Zealand. Andrew went to the FedEx office a couple times and helped to figure out the fastest way to get the paperwork mailed off. Even this turned out to be more difficult than we imagined. It turns out that the mail only leaves Tahiti by airplane to New Zealand on Thursdays. Finally Thursday rolled around. We gather everything that was requested to be mailed in for approval only to find out that the stamp from the notary had smudged all over the pictures because of the humidity. Andrew came to the rescue yet again. He brought us back to the photo studio and the notary before bringing us to mail the documents off. I can’t remember how many times throughout the whole experience that we all commented on how it constantly felt like we would take one step forward and three steps back. It was extremely frustrating for us. We definitely would not have been able to do it without Andrews help. Now we had everything sent off we had to wait till it was received in New Zealand and then it needed to be approved in order for us to get home. Then we found out that the Intercontinental Hotel was fully booked and that we would have to find somewhere else to stay. Andrew offered for us to stay at his place as there was no other vacancies on the whole island. My husband and I decided that we would like to go back and stay on Moorea Island. Andrew came and picked us up and brought us to the ferry that would bring us to the other island. He even managed to get us a discount. We finally heard back from the Consulate and our application was approved, we were going to be issued a 24hr flying pass so that we could get back to Canada. We now had to wait for the one day of the week that the mail came back to the island to receive the pass. Andrew arranged for us to spend the day before our flight home at the Intercontinental Hotel. We had a great day of relaxing by the pool, a great lunch and showers at the hotel before Andrew picked us up and drove us to the airport. I don’t think that there is anyway to express just how much Andrew helped us. He never asked or expected anything in return for everything that he did for us. His actions throughout the whole experience has made us realized that there really are still kindhearted people in this world that really do care and would do anything to help others. My husband and I will never forget this experience and all that Andrew did for us. What started as a 2 week dream vacation, then turned into a nightmare, and ended up being a 5 weeks unforgettable experience for both of us. We both look forward to one day returning to the islands and seeing Andrew again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We spent our final night in Tahiti of our honeymoon in this hotel, but arrived at 2pm and had to leave at 6am the next morning. We were greeted warmly and congratulated on our recent wedding and check-in was smooth. Some good looking bellmen took our baggage to our room for us, and I was helped promptly at the concierge desk when we decided to book the last shuttle to downtown Papeete for a fee (we had a friendly driver who gave us a map and directions). Unfortunately it was Saturday afternoon and the shops there close at noon, so not much was open there, but we were glad we explored and enjoyed crepes at les roulottes, and had delicious beer and croque monsieurs (called croque brasseurs) at Les Trois Brasseurs.

The property is beautiful, it is huge, sprawling and had anything anyone would need, and one would not ever have to leave! Our room was ample, with an old style shower (be careful, it leaks onto the floor easily), and a strange window between the shower and the bed in the next room. Perhaps this is leftover from renovations from the original Travelodge? We had a nice balcony too, not a fantastic view but ample. Our honeymoon gift of some drawing of ancient Polynesia seemed a bit cheap and there was no artist/date/explanation with it.

The infinity pool is huge, lagoon beautiful with many colorful fish, and the Le Lotus restaurant looked amazing, but very expensive. We did, however get to enjoy the Saturday night Tahitian dance show that was very entertaining, and luckily didn't have to pay the 500 cfp/person charge to sit on the deck, although signs there said you did. We just paid for an expensive (but delicious) cocktail and enjoyed the show. They let everyone come up afterward for photos and to learn a dance.

In the morning we had a quick breakfast at 6am, but the waitress could not speak english well enough to explain what part of the buffet we were allowed with our prepaid meal, as the Sunday brunch was lavish, and our continental breakfast only allowed us fruit and pastries. But, that early it was all we needed, but I felt the selection in Moorea at the Intercontinental was far superior. Our shuttle was ready and waiting, we opted to carry our own luggage out this time. All in all this hotel met our needs. It is a bit dated and run down, but ample. We wish we had more time to spend utilizing the amenities such as the pool, spa and jogging trail, but perhaps next time. It was a convenient 5 minutes to the airport for our flight. I would definitely recommend this hotel as a matter of convenience to anyone, and if you don't want to leave the property, as you have everything here! The food was very expensive, but I'm sure delicious. It is not very private though, so if you are honeymooning I wouldn't stay here more than a couple of days, as many children ran around and a noisy wedding party I'm sure kept people up in nearby rooms.

Room Tip: We had a 'garden view' room on the west side of the property that had a decent view of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camdenton, Missouri
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We arrived at the Intercontinental Hotel around midnight after a very long flight. We were met by the night manager, drinks in hand, and told he would be doing a private check in. He sat us on a comfy couch in the lobby and proceeded to inform us that or overwater bungalow was not available. We would be given a panoramic room for our first two nights and hopefully an overwater bungalow would be available for our third night. We protested and were told that a complimentary breakfast would be included We informed him that breakfast was included in our reservation. We were then told that these things sometimes happen when booking on the internet. We informed him that we had booked through our travel agent over nine months prior and that she had confirmed our reservation several days before our arrival. We had our confirmation number in hand. Tired and angry we headed to our room to find a bottle of chilled champagne. The next morning I headed to the front desk to see if a bungalow might be available for that night and was told very rudely that the problem was with our travel agent, not the hotel. On the third day we were moved to an overwater bungalow after wasting the entire morning of our last day trying to get information about our move. The bungalow was incredible and you guessed it. We had a bottle of chilled wine and plate of cookies waiting for us. We had less than twenty four hours to enjoy what was supposed to be the beginning of a dream vacation in an overwater bungalow in Tahiti. After arriving on the ship we learned that several other couples had been downgraded and others had ben upgraded to bungalows for no apparent reason. This seems to be a common occurrence. No amount of champagne, wine, or cookies can make up for our disappointment. If you must stay here don't get your heart set on an overwater bungalow even if you have a confirmed reservation.

Room Tip: Panoramic rooms have and incredible view of the grounds and ocean. Try to get an overwater bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Jo G,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guests & this is crucial for us to address any issues that may come up.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights on our way to bora bora. Hotel grounds are very nice, food is decent. Rooms are too small and the worst is the air conditioning. It barely can keep the heat and humidity out. My chocolates were very soft after 24 hrs. I had to keep them in the fridge. Food I found to be quite expensive. Staff are representative of a 3 star facility.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear peteyToronto,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you found our hotel ground and food commendable. However, we are so sorry to read you received hotel staff service, air conditioning unit and food rate which was less than satisfactory. We highly value your views and feedback, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at this resort for one full day and we found it extremely pleasant and beatiful.
The gardens are gorgeous, excellent for a walk. The sunset is unique! So are the ocean bars!
Our room was facing the ocean and close to the pool. Their are a little bit old, as is the resort (built in the 70s), but very nice. Wi fi is available.
The food and the variety was very good. We found the service also first class, much better than other hotels/resorts in the island.
The resort is located at 5 min of the airport.
We will go back any time.

Room Tip: Third floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I'll take the view and the late evening by the bar overlooking the pool/water.
(non-bungalow) room was a little small and dated but reasonable. Short ride to the airport.
This is a great introduction to French Polynesian life. Start here for a day or two before hitting one of the smaller islands.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Resort Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort Tahiti

Address: PO Box 6014 | Pointe Tahiti, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Resort Tahiti 4.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort has a total of 253 rooms and bungalows, comprising 172 fully renovated garden and lagoon view rooms, a separate wing with 60 panoramic view rooms for the top achievers and VIPs, a suite, and 32 over-water bungalows. All units are air-conditioned, with international facilities and amenities. Located in 32 acres of gardens, the Polynesian style resort offers views of unforgettable sunsets and volcanic peaks of the sister island Moorea, just 12 miles across the sea of moons. The resort offers 2 restaurants including gourmet over water restaurant and an all day dining restaurant featuring the best Tahitian shows on the island, 2 bars, 2 crystal clear, fresh Water overflow swimming pools, and a host of activities to entertain just about everyone. The property features an activity center including tennis, water sports and the largest scuba-diving center Special mention about the huge lagoonarium where guests can swim in a protected area and enjoy Polynesian exceptional sea-life. The Deep Nature Spa by Algotherm is open since the end of 2008" is also equipped with a great gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your InterContinental Resort Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Tahiti Hotel Faa`a
Intercontinental Hotel Tahiti
Intercontinental Hotel Faaa
Beachcomber Resort Tahiti
InterContinental Resort Tahiti French Polynesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Resort Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.