We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Resort Tahiti

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Resort Tahiti to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental Resort Tahiti
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 6014 | Pointe Tahiti, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Faa'a
Chico, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I'll take the view and the late evening by the bar overlooking the pool/water.
(non-bungalow) room was a little small and dated but reasonable. Short ride to the airport.
This is a great introduction to French Polynesian life. Start here for a day or two before hitting one of the smaller islands.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    494
    515
    190
    78
    53
See reviews for
142
904
45
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed for 1 night only at the end of our trip on 2/14/13. It was our anniversary, and our travel agent had it in the record. On arrival, the from desk acknowledged and told us happy anniversary and upgraded us to an overwater bungalow. A gift was waiting for us in the room. Bellman took us quickly to our room with luggage. All the staff we encountered was friendly with a smile. We arrived at 8PM and were gone by 7AM in the next morning so can't comment much on the resort. Room service menu was extensive and enjoyed a meal in the bungalow. Breakfast was included and was a large spread that we were able to take advantage of since it opened at 6 AM. The PPT airport is less than 5 minutes. The pool area looked nice but no time to take advantage. Great view of Moreaa.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

After reading many bad reviews about this resort (e.g: rude staff, slow service, etc) we came well prepared. We were surprise to find friendly staffs and the service at the bar, restaurant & reception are pretty good. Although foods are quite average.

We stay 3 nights at Panoramic room on 1st floor, was quite disappointed at first as I thought I won't get a beautiful view. But oh boy, I was wrong. Our room close to the infinity pool, so we have direct access to the pool and the view of pool & ocean/moorea combined. Unbeatable, especially during sunset.

They also have a laundry room for guest to use. Room service was immaculate. They decorated the table with fresh flower on our last night, what a nice touch. Panoramic rooms are spacious. We will definitely come back :)

If you stay in Tahiti for more than 1 days, you must visit Papeeno Valley via Ciao Tahiti tour (will do the review separately). It was the highlight of our stay in Tahiti. Papeete, the town centre was abit disappointing, remind me of dirty Kuta-Bali.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale, az
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

The grounds of this property are beautiful. Though the rooms are dated they are very clean. The pools are beautiful including the lagoon sand bottom pool. The views from every angle of the property sweep the bay towards moorea. Make sure to catch a sunset.
Our only issue is their lack of non smoking rooms. We were originally given a beautiful panoramic view room on the third floor but it was a smoking room. Later we noticed on our floor there were smoking rooms between non smoking-- how does that make sense--since every room has a balcony or patio. This afternoon we had a smoker above us and right next to us--so we had to close the sliders so has not smell the stench!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here on our layover from Papeete to Moorea on our honeymoon. They complimentary upgraded us and we loved the room. It had a beautiful bathroom as well! The breakfast buffet was amazing so I'm sure their food was great. We walked around the grounds and took a lot of pictures. The lagoon was very pretty and the swimming pools were as well. Wonderful hotel in our opinion!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Ourselves and another couple we were travelling with arrived at the hotel around 7 a.m. on February 1st after being on the go since 3 a.m. the following morning. It was very hot and humid when we arrived, my husband said not to complain as we were coming there to escape the cold weather back home. Went to check-in they provided us with a glass of juice, the gentleman advised us that check-in was not till 2 p.m. but he then told us that he would try and expedite an earlier check-in possibly around 11 a.m. We used their facilities to freshen up, they stored our luggage and we went to the marketplace in Papeete, wandered around, had some lunch and headed back to the hotel for 11 a.m. My husband went to the desk a young woman behind the counter started to check us in again, my husband told her that we had already checked in and were told a room maybe ready, she then very rudely informed him that a room would not be ready till 2 p.m.

We stayed in the lobby area for 4 hours, not once did they say they were sorry for the inconvenience or to offer us some water to drink, I guess that was because there was a bar by the lobby and if we wanted something to drink we could pay BIG $$$ and the hotel gained by that. A couple of us fell asleep on the couches as we were exhausted, at that point I did not care that we were taking up space for people to sit. At 1:50 p.m. my husband and his friend went back to the check-in desk to see if our rooms were ready, we were then given our keys. We advised them that we were travelling together, then we found out our rooms were at opposite ends of the hotel.

I understand that hotels have policies and I have no issues with that, but this hotel could really use some polishing up on their Customer Service. If we ever went back to Tahiti or know of anyone going there, we would never recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear madviking58,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and for that reason your comments are troubling and will surely be looked into. Please accept my sincere apology for the dissatisfaction you have experienced during your stay and if your stay was negatively affected by the poor customer service you received from our staff. Rest assured, your input will be shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvement to this identified weakness and will work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for. Just one night in January 2013. We found the resort to be beautiful. The grounds were well maintained, and the landscaping was beautiful. The hotel room was classy with a huge balcony. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Te food in the restaurant was delicious and the Friday night dance performance, included with the cost of your dinner, was very well performed. I would recommend this resort for a stay on Tahiti.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Resort Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort Tahiti

Address: PO Box 6014 | Pointe Tahiti, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Faa'a
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Resort Tahiti 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort has a total of 253 rooms and bungalows, comprising 172 fully renovated garden and lagoon view rooms, a separate wing with 60 panoramic view rooms for the top achievers and VIPs, a suite, and 32 over-water bungalows. All units are air-conditioned, with international facilities and amenities. Located in 32 acres of gardens, the Polynesian style resort offers views of unforgettable sunsets and volcanic peaks of the sister island Moorea, just 12 miles across the sea of moons. The resort offers 2 restaurants including gourmet over water restaurant and an all day dining restaurant featuring the best Tahitian shows on the island, 2 bars, 2 crystal clear, fresh Water overflow swimming pools, and a host of activities to entertain just about everyone. The property features an activity center including tennis, water sports and the largest scuba-diving center Special mention about the huge lagoonarium where guests can swim in a protected area and enjoy Polynesian exceptional sea-life. The Deep Nature Spa by Algotherm is open since the end of 2008" is also equipped with a great gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Resort Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Tahiti Hotel Faa`a
Intercontinental Hotel Tahiti
Intercontinental Hotel Faaa
Beachcomber Resort Tahiti
InterContinental Resort Tahiti French Polynesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Resort Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.