We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful property with a great restaurant.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Resort Tahiti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Resort Tahiti to your Saves list
InterContinental Resort Tahiti
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 6014 | Pointe Tahiti, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Certificate of Excellence 2014
scottsdale, az
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very beautiful property with a great restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

The grounds of this property are beautiful. Though the rooms are dated they are very clean. The pools are beautiful including the lagoon sand bottom pool. The views from every angle of the property sweep the bay towards moorea. Make sure to catch a sunset.
Our only issue is their lack of non smoking rooms. We were originally given a beautiful panoramic view room on the third floor but it was a smoking room. Later we noticed on our floor there were smoking rooms between non smoking-- how does that make sense--since every room has a balcony or patio. This afternoon we had a smoker above us and right next to us--so we had to close the sliders so has not smell the stench!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    660
    257
    102
    61
See reviews for
187
1,196
53
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here on our layover from Papeete to Moorea on our honeymoon. They complimentary upgraded us and we loved the room. It had a beautiful bathroom as well! The breakfast buffet was amazing so I'm sure their food was great. We walked around the grounds and took a lot of pictures. The lagoon was very pretty and the swimming pools were as well. Wonderful hotel in our opinion!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Ourselves and another couple we were travelling with arrived at the hotel around 7 a.m. on February 1st after being on the go since 3 a.m. the following morning. It was very hot and humid when we arrived, my husband said not to complain as we were coming there to escape the cold weather back home. Went to check-in they provided us with a glass of juice, the gentleman advised us that check-in was not till 2 p.m. but he then told us that he would try and expedite an earlier check-in possibly around 11 a.m. We used their facilities to freshen up, they stored our luggage and we went to the marketplace in Papeete, wandered around, had some lunch and headed back to the hotel for 11 a.m. My husband went to the desk a young woman behind the counter started to check us in again, my husband told her that we had already checked in and were told a room maybe ready, she then very rudely informed him that a room would not be ready till 2 p.m.

We stayed in the lobby area for 4 hours, not once did they say they were sorry for the inconvenience or to offer us some water to drink, I guess that was because there was a bar by the lobby and if we wanted something to drink we could pay BIG $$$ and the hotel gained by that. A couple of us fell asleep on the couches as we were exhausted, at that point I did not care that we were taking up space for people to sit. At 1:50 p.m. my husband and his friend went back to the check-in desk to see if our rooms were ready, we were then given our keys. We advised them that we were travelling together, then we found out our rooms were at opposite ends of the hotel.

I understand that hotels have policies and I have no issues with that, but this hotel could really use some polishing up on their Customer Service. If we ever went back to Tahiti or know of anyone going there, we would never recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear madviking58,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and for that reason your comments are troubling and will surely be looked into. Please accept my sincere apology for the dissatisfaction you have experienced during your stay and if your stay was negatively affected by the poor customer service you received from our staff. Rest assured, your input will be shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvement to this identified weakness and will work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for. Just one night in January 2013. We found the resort to be beautiful. The grounds were well maintained, and the landscaping was beautiful. The hotel room was classy with a huge balcony. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Te food in the restaurant was delicious and the Friday night dance performance, included with the cost of your dinner, was very well performed. I would recommend this resort for a stay on Tahiti.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at night and informed that we were on honeymoon. They gave us an upgrade to an overwater Bungalow (do not forget to inform this). We love it. Great room. Breakfast excellent too. The hotel is very beautiful. The pool is great. The staff are very attentive. It is usually a passing hotel, since Papeete is not the most popular of the Polynesian island. Only stayed one night, but it was worth the stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Arriving in fabled Tahiti-Niu and being whisked in minutes to your hotel at the Intercontinental Resort was magical , and then to wander past the reception to see the amazing vista over the swimming pool and onward to the volcanic peaks of Moorea - what was not to like ?

Great location , great aspect out over the ocean . Its a big resort but all seems to work perfectly for the guests who immediately feel at home ,even after an overnight flight that arrives at 1 in the morning .

A cold beer or one of a huge range of cocktails over the huge pool area as the sun goes down over Moorea has to be one of those defining moments for the weary traveller . Just awesome . And the service is top class , even for the visitor struggling to show off his lousy French. Friendly staff who cannot do enough for you as they chime "ia orana" at every opportunity , a bit like the warm "bulas" of Fiji - and they sound like they mean it .

Dont miss the evening spectaculars , especially the Marquesa Dance Show - you will have to take part - the male dancers are just too big and muscular to say no to and the sumptuous buffet of island cuisine , while maybe not to everyone's taste was an eye opener .

We'll be back . Mauruuru (thank you)

Room Tip: Not many bad rooms but insist in a sea view. It is a big resort , so something around 320-360 will s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This resort is everything you would expect from a 4-5 star resort, fantastic pools, fantastic outlook, really good staff, nothing was to much trouble, rooms done every day, great restaurants, although a little pricey, but that's Tahiti, not so much the resorts fault! We had 10 days there, we had easy access to Papeete and the airport, easy access to the ferries to Moorea but we spent most of the time at the resort relaxing either by one of the 2 pools, one of which has a swim up to bar, the other is with-in easy reach of the Tiki bar and restaurant, or swimming with the fish in the lagoonarium, which was full of the most colourful and diverse fish I have seen in a long time, a must do if you visit the resort. The rooms were very nice with good sized comfortable beds, only trouble was the air con sometimes had trouble keeping up with the temperature outside, needed to be going full blast 24/7, temperatures outside were averageing 30 deg C daytime and 24 deg C night time, lovely balmy weather, but a bugger for getting to sleep at night! The fridge was the same, it was warmer inside the fridge than inside the room! The staff even swapped the older fridge for a new one to no avail! I decided it must be the fridge not able to cope with the heat and used to fill the sink up with ice and put our beer, wine and juices in there! Worked for me!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Resort Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort Tahiti

Address: PO Box 6014 | Pointe Tahiti, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Resort Tahiti 4.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort has a total of 253 rooms and bungalows, comprising 172 fully renovated garden and lagoon view rooms, a separate wing with 60 panoramic view rooms for the top achievers and VIPs, a suite, and 32 over-water bungalows. All units are air-conditioned, with international facilities and amenities. Located in 32 acres of gardens, the Polynesian style resort offers views of unforgettable sunsets and volcanic peaks of the sister island Moorea, just 12 miles across the sea of moons. The resort offers 2 restaurants including gourmet over water restaurant and an all day dining restaurant featuring the best Tahitian shows on the island, 2 bars, 2 crystal clear, fresh Water overflow swimming pools, and a host of activities to entertain just about everyone. The property features an activity center including tennis, water sports and the largest scuba-diving center Special mention about the huge lagoonarium where guests can swim in a protected area and enjoy Polynesian exceptional sea-life. The Deep Nature Spa by Algotherm is open since the end of 2008" is also equipped with a great gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Resort Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Tahiti Hotel Faa`a
Intercontinental Hotel Tahiti
Intercontinental Hotel Faaa
Beachcomber Resort Tahiti
InterContinental Resort Tahiti French Polynesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Resort Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.