We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's not to like ? You're in Tahiti !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Resort Tahiti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Resort Tahiti to your Saves list
InterContinental Resort Tahiti
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 6014 | Pointe Tahiti, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What's not to like ? You're in Tahiti !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Arriving in fabled Tahiti-Niu and being whisked in minutes to your hotel at the Intercontinental Resort was magical , and then to wander past the reception to see the amazing vista over the swimming pool and onward to the volcanic peaks of Moorea - what was not to like ?

Great location , great aspect out over the ocean . Its a big resort but all seems to work perfectly for the guests who immediately feel at home ,even after an overnight flight that arrives at 1 in the morning .

A cold beer or one of a huge range of cocktails over the huge pool area as the sun goes down over Moorea has to be one of those defining moments for the weary traveller . Just awesome . And the service is top class , even for the visitor struggling to show off his lousy French. Friendly staff who cannot do enough for you as they chime "ia orana" at every opportunity , a bit like the warm "bulas" of Fiji - and they sound like they mean it .

Dont miss the evening spectaculars , especially the Marquesa Dance Show - you will have to take part - the male dancers are just too big and muscular to say no to and the sumptuous buffet of island cuisine , while maybe not to everyone's taste was an eye opener .

We'll be back . Mauruuru (thank you)

Room Tip: Not many bad rooms but insist in a sea view. It is a big resort , so something around 320-360 will s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    567
    208
    87
    56
See reviews for
158
992
47
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This resort is everything you would expect from a 4-5 star resort, fantastic pools, fantastic outlook, really good staff, nothing was to much trouble, rooms done every day, great restaurants, although a little pricey, but that's Tahiti, not so much the resorts fault! We had 10 days there, we had easy access to Papeete and the airport, easy access to the ferries to Moorea but we spent most of the time at the resort relaxing either by one of the 2 pools, one of which has a swim up to bar, the other is with-in easy reach of the Tiki bar and restaurant, or swimming with the fish in the lagoonarium, which was full of the most colourful and diverse fish I have seen in a long time, a must do if you visit the resort. The rooms were very nice with good sized comfortable beds, only trouble was the air con sometimes had trouble keeping up with the temperature outside, needed to be going full blast 24/7, temperatures outside were averageing 30 deg C daytime and 24 deg C night time, lovely balmy weather, but a bugger for getting to sleep at night! The fridge was the same, it was warmer inside the fridge than inside the room! The staff even swapped the older fridge for a new one to no avail! I decided it must be the fridge not able to cope with the heat and used to fill the sink up with ice and put our beer, wine and juices in there! Worked for me!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We booked here for 2 nights before a Silversea cruise in the most expensive room, a motu bungalow over the water. Room was very old and in serious need of a refurb.. Even had the pleasure of a cockroach visiting us (see photos)
We expect a lot more for circa £500 a night.
We had dinner in the main restaurant and it was a joke. I chose simple food as I thought it would be difficult to get wrong. Starters arrived before drinks... We had ordered both wine and water. When we said we preferred drinks to arrive first,she took the food and left it on the counter... Drinks arrived and white wine was far too warm... Starters then arrived.. I had Caesar salad and it was dreadful, limp soggy leaves and croutons that would break my teeth. Waitress asked if I enjoyed and I said no,to which she did nothing. Next course was pasta with tomato sauce and it arrived stone cold... It was just Dolmio sauce. My husband had congealed French onion soup and a salad, both awful... This delight of a meal cost us £100.
The whole attitude of this hotel is that they could not care less and they will fleece every last penny from you.. We travel a lot and this is the worse hotel we have stayed in for a long time. I haven't had cockroaches accompanying me since I was 18 years of age and could not afford better...
See photos of room, of bathroom,door that does not fit, curtain falling off wall and cockroach. If we had been staying here any longer than 2 nights we would have checked out and gone elsewhere... Finally for animal loving travellers this is not a good place... I saw a box by the side of a busy road with kittens around it that had clearly just been dumped to die, and a number of sick poorly dogs... I Googled for help for the animals but could not find either a shelter or a vet...very upsetting

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Sue B,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Tahiti, French Polynesia.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Only a few minutes from the Papette airport. A great location to stay if you want a few days on Tahiti before moving on to the other islands. The rooms were very good and the views of Moorea were spectacular. The Breakfast buffet was one of the best in area.

Room Tip: Be aware that a taxi from the airport or the hotel to downtown will cost $25-$35 one way, depending...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights in January, before boarding the Ocean Princess. I was very happy with the stay, and experienced no problems at all. I booked one of their cheapest rooms, a garden view twin. We ended up having a partial water view, and were very happy with the accommodations. The beds were very comfy, and our room was clean. The bathroom was large and updated.

The pool areas, and swim up bar are beautiful, and well maintained. The lagoon provides an excellent snorkeling opportunity. We found all of the staff from reception, housekeeping and pool staff to be friendly and engaging.

The food is expensive. We had the breakfast buffet the first day, and spent a lot of cash. On the second day, we ordered off of the breakfast menu, and were stuffed full for a much cheaper price. On the dinner menu, the Mahi Mahi Baguette was AMAZING. I would kill to have another one right now.

If you are a scuba diver, Top Dive has a location right at the resort, and we had excellent interactions with them as well.

Taxis to and from the resort are pricey. We paid $25 to get from the airport to the hotel, and also to get from the hotel to the ship.

I would absolutely stay at this hotel again, and I definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a hotel in Tahiti.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed for two nights before our sail on the Paul Gauguin. We were a little hesitant before arriving considering the reviews were quite mixed. However, we were pleasantly surprised with the room, view, pool, lagoon, service, and more! It wasn't until after we stayed at the Intercontinental in Moorea for three nights post-cruise that we appreciated this hotel much more. We were extremely disappointed in the one in Moorea, and in hind-sight, wish we would have come back to this hotel instead of the three extra days in Moorea where they nickle and dimed us like no other with worse all-around service and a worse all around hotel!

Everyone was very friendly to us upon check-in: concierge service, pool/towel service, marina service, restaurant service, and the lists goes on. It was a little chaotic when we were to take the shuttle to the marina for the cruise, but there were so many people and it worked out just fine.

The options for the pools were amazing...I wish we could go back right now just thinking about it! Drinks were pricey by the pool so we mixed a lot of our own drinks from duty free and took them down to the pool. Of course we took advantage of slushy, fruity drinks a couple of times at the swim-up bar and other pool. The snorkeling in the lagoon was the best I had experienced since the Great Barrier Reef many years ago.

We were upgraded when we had a day room before we left and enjoyed some fresh fruit in our room that was waiting for us. The view was amazing to watch our last Tahitian sunset, which was a great way to end our amazing trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel is not up to the Intercontinental standards. It can be good for an overnight stay in Papeete if you have a cruise to catch or is flying back home since it is 5 min from the Airport, but that`s it. Bed was not comfortable, shower in the bathroom was a joke, needs to be updated. The staff was in general friendly and the area is beautiful, but that would be true for any waterfront hotel in French Polynesia! Would not go back unless did not have another option.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Gabi E,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction is the utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincerest apology for our shortcomings you experienced during your stay and if our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspect. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future and thank you very much for your patronage.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Resort Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort Tahiti

Address: PO Box 6014 | Pointe Tahiti, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Resort Tahiti 4.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort has a total of 253 rooms and bungalows, comprising 172 fully renovated garden and lagoon view rooms, a separate wing with 60 panoramic view rooms for the top achievers and VIPs, a suite, and 32 over-water bungalows. All units are air-conditioned, with international facilities and amenities. Located in 32 acres of gardens, the Polynesian style resort offers views of unforgettable sunsets and volcanic peaks of the sister island Moorea, just 12 miles across the sea of moons. The resort offers 2 restaurants including gourmet over water restaurant and an all day dining restaurant featuring the best Tahitian shows on the island, 2 bars, 2 crystal clear, fresh Water overflow swimming pools, and a host of activities to entertain just about everyone. The property features an activity center including tennis, water sports and the largest scuba-diving center Special mention about the huge lagoonarium where guests can swim in a protected area and enjoy Polynesian exceptional sea-life. The Deep Nature Spa by Algotherm is open since the end of 2008" is also equipped with a great gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your InterContinental Resort Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Tahiti Hotel Faa`a
Intercontinental Hotel Tahiti
Intercontinental Hotel Faaa
Beachcomber Resort Tahiti
InterContinental Resort Tahiti French Polynesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Resort Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.