We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convienent & beautiful ,needs some fine tuning to be 4 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Resort Tahiti

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Resort Tahiti to your Saves list
InterContinental Resort Tahiti
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 6014 | Pointe Tahiti, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Convienent & beautiful ,needs some fine tuning to be 4 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Conveniently located near the airport we chose the Intercontinental for our stays upon our arrival and in between flying to outer islands. Tahiti was our first stop in french polynesia & we found the hotel to be very beautiful with lush landscaping and creatively designed pools.

Our first room was a garden room that we stayed in 2 nights & was clean and nicely decorated with a view of the water. On our second week of our tour we stayed again and opted for an overwater bungalow. Ours was located apparently in the newer section and was just fantastic. Really enjoyed being able to snorkle right off the back deck. We were traveling with a group and some of our party were not as pleased with the rooms that they received as there are older parts of this hotel that really need some interior updating apparently.

Overall the staff at the hotel front desk, concierge were all very friendly., the male baggage handlers were all decked out in traditional sarongs covered in tattoos & were really courteous & helpful.

The biggest enigma that we discovered was the difference in attitude & service between the main restaurant and bar versus the LOTUS restaurant. We had the pleasure of eating 4 times in the LOTUS and found the food to be exquisitely prepared & service top notch. However in the Main Restaurant & bar, all the women servers were just downright rude, very slow & seemed genuinely resentful to be there. It was a bizarre. Staying there multiple times over a 3 week period I was hoping to find a change but no. Each time we ordered food whether it be breakfast, lunch or a snack at the bar the service was PAINFULLY slow.. They have a large breakfast bar which extremely overpriced so I opted to just order and omlette.. When the food finally arrived it was kind of thrown at you with a look of disdain, the omelet was cold & didn't even have any of the items I ordered in it? One evening we ordered in the bar and the woman lied and said the kitchen was closed when it was not, when we asked at the front desk where we could get food they sent us back down to the bar? When we returned to the bar the server then begrudgingly handed us a menu which consisted of 2 items, essentially a ham & cheese or grilled cheese sandwich.. we were starving and a captive audience at this point & ordered but when the sandwich came it was so terrible we couldn't finish it. Bad overpriced food was the only thing we found in the main restaurant & bar which was kind of shocking for a property of its supposed caliber. The LOTUS was very pricey but at least the food & service were on point.

Overall the property is a convenient stop due to its close proximity to the airport, the pools and grounds were lovely. If the food & service had been better I could have at least given it "average" when it comes to value. Additionally in the "Value" department after our stay we looked at the points we earned and found that it is Intercontinentals policy to only give you a certain max number of points per stay and treated all our nights regardless of the fact that they were separated by weeks as counting as one stay?

If we would have spent the same money at another similarly priced chain we would have earned points dollar for dollar which made us feel overall our stay was a poor value & will look at other properties next time.

Room Tip: Ground Floor Garden rooms facing the water are nice because you can walk right out and dont have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear chromegoddess,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. I appreciate the kind words for some of our hotel staff. On the other hand, please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered at the main bar and restaurant. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. Rest assured that all your comments will be looked into and actions will be taken accordingly. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    591
    229
    94
    56
See reviews for
167
1,041
47
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chapala, Mexico
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here as part of a package offered by Paul Gaugin cruise line. The rooms are large, including the bathroom which had both a walk-in shower and two person tub. The grounds are well laid out and very attractive. There are two infinity pools. Breakfast is complete and was included. Staff are helpful and speak at least some English. The evening dinner shows are great but the seafood buffet is overpriced at $115 USD per person.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here twice before and after our cruise. We arrived on a Saturday morning after an overnight flight and had the use of a room until our pickup for embarkation. The room was clean and service was efficient as well as quick luggage delivery. After our cruise we extended our stay in a lagoon overwater bungalow. We experienced a quick check in and ride to our bungalow. The bungalow was quite spacious with a lovely deck complete with lounge chairs which we enjoyed during our stay. The grounds were beautiful and easy to navigate. We attended the evening show on Saturday which was good. We had great customer service during our stay and Reihei was always quick with an answer for us. Great place to stay and we would return.

Room Tip: The lagoon bungalows are a little more secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed at Intercontinental Hotel, Fa'aa for 3 nights in January, 2012 in one of overwaterbungalows. Room was clean and tidy but showing signs of age. Bathroom was okay but really could have done with upgrade. TV reception very poor and no English language shows apart from CNN. One of restaurants closed so all meals had to be taken in the only restaurant available. Food was just okay. Rainy season in Tahiti and because grounds and pathways were so old you had to take your shoes off to walk around as the puddles were so deep. No beach and water under overwater bungalow did not always look clean so swimming off pontoon did not appeal. Staff were good and did their best with what was on offer. Overpriced for what was on offer.

Room Tip: Can only comment on overwater bungalow. Choose one not too far from restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear HappyGlamper1820,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations. I have noted your valuable comments and I will make sure that this will be looked into and be forwarded to the departments involved.

Once again, thank you for your comments. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you the improvements made.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at InterContinental for one night on the way back from Bora Bora to the US. To start off, the hotel is quite nice and the staff is very friendly. As far as the property goes, it was once a Beach Comber resort before taken over by the InterContinental, so much of the property is still old. We stayed in a standard room which was very small (we were at the Meridien on the way in, same price, a little further, but HUGE rooms) with dated bathrooms. It wasn't anything impressive, even the TV was a tube.

Apparently their Tahitian show is the best one in all of French Polynesia. We were there to see it, and it was definitely entertaining and beautiful. Better than many of the shows we saw on other islands.

The property is nice and large with several restaurants to try, the gym is great, and the spa looked nice though we didn't have a chance to use it ourselves. If you are looking for a quick stay to just rest a bit before heading out, InterContinental is great because of how convenient it is to the airport and cleanliness.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear vionnets,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff and for finding our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the standard room size and amenities. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel has the advantage of being near the airport. It is also a 'resort' hotel so if you just want to stay by the infinity pool or watch the fish in the lagoon whilst waiting for your flight it is perfect, but for an airport hotel it is overpriced and the accommodation is dated. Our bathroom had chipped tiles and a bath shower with wall clip and no mixer tap, which might be acceptable elsewhere but not when you are paying these prices. Its big advantage is as an 'in transit' hotel. It's no use if you want to visit the town although they do run a shuttle bus [to pay for - it was 10$ return]. This time we only stayed 24hrs, but we stayed for a week some years previously and quickly exhausted all the possibilities of Tahiti and moved over to Moorea.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear ginger086,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I appreciate your positive feedback on our hotel location. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stopped here for a couple of days after a cruise before flying home. This is a wonderful resort hotel with excellent facilities. Note that it is a resort hotel - it is not a hotel in downtown Papeete. Also note it is Faa'a, about a $30 USD cab ride to Papeete. The hotel operates a convenient shuttle into town or the airport for a fee. The room was in excellent condition and the air conditioning worked perfectly. The Tiare restaurant offers a good variety of dishes at all times during the day. I had no difficulty conversing with staff in English although I can speak French if required. The staff at the front desk were courteous and handled my inquiries promptly and efficiently. The amenities of the hotel are excellent (swimming in an infinity pool, snorkeling in the lagoon, etc.) and it is a great place to relax in. Flights to North America from Tahiti tend to leave late at night and to accommodate this the hotel will store the luggage for free and offer the use of a room that can be used to shower and change in. My overall experience was excellent. One thing to note was that to access our room we had to use stairs as there was no direct connection to an elevator. This was a small problem when it came to moving luggage up and down stairs. In summary - a great resort to escape to and relax in.

Room Tip: Breakfast is very expensive. If you go into Papeete you might want to pick up some food that you cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Resort Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort Tahiti

Address: PO Box 6014 | Pointe Tahiti, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Resort Tahiti 4.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort has a total of 253 rooms and bungalows, comprising 172 fully renovated garden and lagoon view rooms, a separate wing with 60 panoramic view rooms for the top achievers and VIPs, a suite, and 32 over-water bungalows. All units are air-conditioned, with international facilities and amenities. Located in 32 acres of gardens, the Polynesian style resort offers views of unforgettable sunsets and volcanic peaks of the sister island Moorea, just 12 miles across the sea of moons. The resort offers 2 restaurants including gourmet over water restaurant and an all day dining restaurant featuring the best Tahitian shows on the island, 2 bars, 2 crystal clear, fresh Water overflow swimming pools, and a host of activities to entertain just about everyone. The property features an activity center including tennis, water sports and the largest scuba-diving center Special mention about the huge lagoonarium where guests can swim in a protected area and enjoy Polynesian exceptional sea-life. The Deep Nature Spa by Algotherm is open since the end of 2008" is also equipped with a great gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your InterContinental Resort Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Tahiti Hotel Faa`a
Intercontinental Hotel Tahiti
Intercontinental Hotel Faaa
Beachcomber Resort Tahiti
InterContinental Resort Tahiti French Polynesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Resort Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.