We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for short stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Resort Tahiti

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Resort Tahiti to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
InterContinental Resort Tahiti
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 6014 | Pointe Tahiti, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Faa'a
White Plains, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good for short stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I stated at the InterContinental Resort Tahiti on the first night of our honeymoon. It was a very short stay since we got to the hotel at night and left in the morning. We had a standard room and it was nice. Clean, great views of the lagoon. The hotel is close to the airport - about 5-10 minutes, which was good. The reception was friendly. We got the included breakfast which was a very plentiful buffet style - definitely recommend including breakfast.

Room Tip: If you get a standard room try to get one facing the ocean instead of the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing this comment with us.
We are happy to see that you enjoyed the resort and hope to welcome you again soon.
Warm regards from Tahiti !
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    449
    467
    172
    74
    50
See reviews for
125
823
40
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and unfortunately the staff and other little things did not meet expectations. Check in was slow, there was no water in the mini bar, i wasn't told that the English version of menu was on the tv (nothing in the room book guides are in English!!) but when we tried to order, 3-4 things they wernt available. I asked for dinner at 6 but it arrived at 4. Just all the little things led to disappointment. We were able to get late check out for 1, probably only good thing...but wernt told about storage so sat with our luggage for 2 hours in the lobby!! On the plus side, the standard room is a very good size and is literally 5min to airport.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your review on trip advisor.
Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences caused due to the slow check-in and others aspects of the service. We make our very best to ensure that our team is dedicated to help and do its very best to offer our valued guests the best experience possible. We are sorry to read we did not fully succeed on that occasion, and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future as we will be more more than pleased to demonstrate the true hospitality of our resort.
Thank you once again for your feedback.
Sincerely.
Guest Relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent two nights of our vacation in French Polynesia at the Intercontinental Tahiti Resort. This resort is located in a semi-urban area just outside of Papeete, near the airport. The airport noise was minimal while outside and not at all distracting. We could not hear the planes while in our room.

We received excellent service at the reception desk, and even though we arrived a couple of hours before regular check-in time our room was ready and we were taken by golf cart to it. A tasty tropical drink made it into our hands at the check-in desk.

The room was beautiful, with a nicely crafted wooden bed and other wooden furniture. There was also a small fridge, which was perfect for storing water, wine, and beer. The tub was huge, and the bathroom nicely appointed with two sinks and a large shower.

They've done a decent job with the resort layout, considering its proximity to the airport and the limitations of the property. There is no sandy beach directly on the ocean, but they have
created semi-private alcoves with sand. These alcoves are under and around palm trees and most have 2-4 lounge chairs to relax in and are a few feet above the water on top of a rock retaining wall.

We ate at the less formal of the two restaurants at the resort twice. We enjoyed the food, particularly a chicken curry dish steamed in Taro leaves that came with taro, bread fruit, and
another veggie. It was one of the finest curry dishes I've had. The pizza was also good as were their salads.

One of the best parts of our stay was the assistance we received from Teiva Milz, the Head Concierge at Intercontinental Tahiti. We were looking for a very specific souvenir to take home with us, and he recommended a couple of stores where we might find them. We looked but unfortunately they didn't seem to carry them and we let Teiva know. He went to one of the stores, by his own volition, and found the items for us. We had simply missed them but are grateful that Teiva took the extra time to find them. He also provided terrific information about where to eat locally and what to see and do. His information was boundless and he is one of the best concierges that we have worked with at any hotel.

We also had a good experience with the front desk on two occasions besides check-in. A local restaurant (Le Belvedere, which I have reviewed) was having issues processing credit cards, so the restaurant's driver took us back to the resort to get a cash advance against our room. The amount we needed was about 3 times the resorts normal cash advance limit, but the front desk clerk quickly received approval to accommodate us. At check-out the pre-arranged airport transportation came about 45 minutes earlier than we had expected. The driver was irritated and rude because we were not ready when he expected us to be, but the clerk did a great job in defusing him and preventing him from driving away while we scrambled to get to the lobby.

As I mentioned in my review of one of the other French Polynesian resorts, food is expensive anywhere in French Polynesia. To help mitigate the cost of meals we brought packets of oatmeal and bags of dried fruit and nuts. Considering that breakfast is about $30/person we saved over $400 on our week-long trip to French Polynesia. There are also two supermarkets within a mile of the resort where you can purchase beer, wine, and food for less than at the resort.

Although not the most beautiful Intercontinental Resort in French Polynesia, they certainly try to do their best with the property they have. The grounds are well maintained, and there is a
walking path around the resort. We found the resort to be very relaxing and the staff friendly.

If you have a need or desire to stay on the island of Tahiti, the Intercontinental Tahiti Resort is a good option.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Intercontinental Tahiti !
Thank you very much for your review and for sharing your experience with us. From the location, room, service and ambiance you experienced the true service and hospitality of our hotel. Be assured that we will pass the compliments to our staff.
As you said IC Tahiti is not the newest resort but it is probably the property with the most authentic Tahitian atmosphere you can experience. Our team is devoted to this legendary property and is working hard to maintain it in great shape while renovation projects are presently being finalised.
Thanks again for your patronage, and please let us know next time you decide to visit us.
Warm regards from Tahiti.
Guest relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckner, Kentucky
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The resort itself is beautiful and I highly recommend staying in an OWB. Our bungalow 508 was huge and felt very private. We loved everything about it. (There is no glass in the floor to look at the fish) We stayed 2 nights here and that was just enough time for us. I would not want to stay here for a week or more. There is no natural beach and I missed having a beach to walk on. The lagoon is so fun. We enjoyed all of the beautiful fish you could swim with.
$$$-Breakfast is $40 p/p for the buffet. You can have your breakfast included in your package. Drinks are $14 for rum punch/pina coladas..ect..Beer $4-5.
We did the Friday night seafood buffet and show $197 for 2 people with 2 beers. The buffet was not worth the money but there is nothing that tells you the price till you pay. You can still watch the show for free even if you do not do the buffet.
Make sure you pack plenty of sunscreen because it's $30 a bottle at the resort.
Tahiti is very commercial and not a great island to stay on for relaxing. I recommend staying at the Moorea Intercontinental Resort if you are wanting to spend time on one island.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Tahiti !
Thank you for your review and we are pleased to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and also our sister resort in Moorea. We understood that you preferred by far the island of Moorea ; French Polynesia deserves a particular attention as it is a destination with very diverse islands, all of them very different In terms of landscape, atmosphere, lagoon…This is definitely a matter of personal appreciation.
Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm regards.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here on both ends of our trip. The resort is beautiful. The pool really nice. BUT if you are looking for white soft sand beaches...this is not it. It's great for a few days but don't stay too long. My husband left a pair of jeans in the room, no call...and when we went back at the end of the trip they didn't have them....hummmm...
They put us in a nicer room on the return but too bad we were leaving in the morning. The food was good, but expensive as it is on all the islands.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from intercontinental Tahiti !
Thank you for your review posted on trip advisor.
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sincerely sorry to learn that our lost and found department did not ertreive your lost item ; Should there be any other details which may help us to locate it, kindly let us know and do not hesitate to contact us directly.
We remain at your service.

Yours faithfully.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a beautiful resort. Although it is obviously not a new property, I saw none of the "shopworn" others mention. The maintenance was flawless, the grounds immaculate. Unlike others we had good experiences at both restaurants.

Our room was in the wing extending to the left, towards the second pool and restaurant area. It was the end building overlooking the beautiful fresh-water infinity pool with sand beach and bottom and swim-up bar. Beyond that was the channel and Moorea. The room itself was beautifully furnished, with empty fridge for whatever you want to put there. It had a large balcony and gorgeous semi-canopied beds, which slept beautifully. The bathroom was equally beautiful, with a separate round shower stall. The fixtures were all top quality and worked perfectly. The only thing I missed was a ceiling fan.

The bar is attached to the gourmet over-the-water Lotus restaurant. We had dinner there, which was delicious. We also had Sunday brunch and a lunch in the main restaurant. Again, I differ with others. The main restaurant was fine, the food delicious. Sunday brunch is quite popular with the locals. I heard an old grouch complain about the crowd and the "mayhem". There was absolutely no "mayhem". The crowd was quite pleasant and polite. In fact, it was a treat for people-watching. Yes, the prices are high, but I absolutely do not mind paying a premium for this level of quality considering we're in the middle of the vast Pacific!

Finally, about the staff.... My partner and I agree that that we have rarely encountered such a thoroughly friendly and helpful staff. Everyone had a smile and seemed eager to please. We had been expecting the somewhat sullen attitude we've experienced in other parts of Polynesia, but not here. Every local we came in contact with, inside and outside the resort, was cordial. Even passport control!

We struck out with the weather -- it was mostly cloudy and rainy -- but this huge resort more than made up for it, with a wonderful big room, spectacular view, lush grounds and sunny dispositions all around.

Room Tip: I think others may be right about varying room quality. Obviously our room (391) was where you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest:
Greetings from InterContinental Tahiti Resort!
Many thanks for posting your comments on trip Advisor after your recent stay at Intercontinental Tahiti Resort. What a satisfaction to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you experienced the true service and hospitality of our hotel!
Thanks again for your patronage and our team look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely.
Guest relation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were lucky enough to receive two nights stay as a gift in an overwater bungalow at this property before boarding a cruise through the islands. The property is lovely and our bungalow was as cute as a button!

Unfortunately there were several missteps in service from a 45 minute check-in process (which must be the norm because they came around and served us juice while we were waiting) to a failure to deliver on a pre-paid canoe breakfast (which is around $100 and hasn't been resolved yet and the hotel had the nerve to represent to our travel agent that they gave us a fruit basket instead - they didn't - and that we were "satisfied" - which we defintely weren't) to serious delays in getting a porter to check out despite calling them 2 hours ahead of time to schedule assistance. Each time we had a hitch, the guest services rep was pleasant but not helpful in resolving our issues. We were afraid this was an introduction to an "island mentality" but this was not representative of our experiences over the next couple of weeks in French Polynesia, but was just an unfortunate experience at the Intercontinental.

On the positive side, we loved snorkeling in the lagoonarium (like a huge aquarium you can swim in) as well as the swimming and snorkeling from the dock of our bungalow. Also, our room included a full free breakfast which was delicious and had a beautiful view from the restaurant. We also thoroughly enjoyed dinner at the Le Lotus restaurant on the property.

I understand this is one of the best properties near the airport, so stay here for convenience and beauty but lower your expectations for service.

Room Tip: The shallow water over water bungalows were a lovely choice - cute and quite private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your comments posted on Trip Advisor.
We took good note of your remarks regarding the check-in and porter services and please accept our sincere apologies for so many lapses and inconveniences caused. The service at our resort shall always be a valued experience for our guest: You can be assured that each of your remark has been dealt appropriately for immediate correction in order that such a situation does not occur again.
We do hope that apart from this you will keep a good memory of your stay in Tahiti.
Should you decide to come back do not hesitate to contact us as we will make sure to answer your needs in a competent, accurate and timely way.
Thank you again for your patronage.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Resort Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort Tahiti

Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Tahiti Hotel
Intercontinental Resort Tahiti Hotel Faa`a
Intercontinental Hotel Tahiti
Intercontinental Hotel Faaa
Beachcomber Resort Tahiti
InterContinental Resort Tahiti French Polynesia
Address: PO Box 6014 | Pointe Tahiti, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Faa'a
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Resort Tahiti 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort has a total of 253 rooms and bungalows, comprising 172 fully renovated garden and lagoon view rooms, a separate wing with 60 panoramic view rooms for the top achievers and VIPs, a suite, and 32 over-water bungalows. All units are air-conditioned, with international facilities and amenities. Located in 32 acres of gardens, the Polynesian style resort offers views of unforgettable sunsets and volcanic peaks of the sister island Moorea, just 12 miles across the sea of moons. The resort offers 2 restaurants including gourmet over water restaurant and an all day dining restaurant featuring the best Tahitian shows on the island, 2 bars, 2 crystal clear, fresh Water overflow swimming pools, and a host of activities to entertain just about everyone. The property features an activity center including tennis, water sports and the largest scuba-diving center Special mention about the huge lagoonarium where guests can swim in a protected area and enjoy Polynesian exceptional sea-life. The Deep Nature Spa by Algotherm is open since the end of 2008" is also equipped with a great gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Resort Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Resort Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.