We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Resort Tahiti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Resort Tahiti to your Saves list
InterContinental Resort Tahiti
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 6014 | Pointe Tahiti, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Very Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed in a standard ground-floor room with a patio for one night. The hotel is very convenient for it's proximity to the airport. After a long flight from the U.S., a five minute transfer to the hotel was very welcome indeed. The staff were very friendly on check-in and the check-in process was quite efficient. While on the long walk to our room through relatively dark corridoors, I wasn't too sure what to expect. Our room, as well as bathroom, were on the small side, but still very nice. Breakfast was part of our package and we thoroughly enjoyed the food. The rest of the food we had there at the bar / restaurant was just okay and very expensive. For example a ham and cheese panini was about $27. The grounds of the hotel seem to be well-kept and the view is quite picturesque, with Moorea in the distance. We recommend this hotel for it's convenient location, picturesque setting and friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest:
Greetings from InterContinental Tahiti Resort!
Many thanks for posting your comments on trip Advisor after your recent stay at Intercontinental Tahiti Resort.
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that overall, you were satisfied with the service and facilities provided by our property.
In reference to the prices, it is true that French Polynesia deserves a particular attention before travelling as prices may be higher than other destination due to the remoteness of the destination. As you know everything must be imported from overseas and on the top of this, import tax is added to all items entering French Polynesia.
Thanks again for your patronage and our team look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely.
Guest relation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    588
    228
    94
    56
See reviews for
166
1,036
47
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

After a two day stay here prior to picking up our cruise We were told there wasn't any space in the holding room for us to leave our luggage after leaving our room, that if we left it in the lobby the staff would look after it and it was safe there
What a joke arriving at the ship we put our documents in the safe
two days later we went to get money out of the safe and noticed that the whole lot was gone $2000 us dollars
The only time our bags were out of our sight was in the hotel lobby
We rang the hotel from the ship and asked them to check the room safe this was done and they found nothing we then asked them to review their ct camera at this time they informed us that they don't have cameras and apolized for the theft
We stayed there 1 night on the way back and were told by the manager that their insurance company would look after us. Another joke
Three months after our trip and numerous phone calls today we were informed they would not pay back the stolen money
We have never stayed in a hotel that can not lock up your bags and I don't remember ever staying at a hotel that is not ct camera covered
BE warned this hotel dosn't give a dam its all about the quick dollar
Thanks interconinental for making a great trip into a nightmare as there was only one island on the cruise that we could get some money out of our accounts

Room Tip: dont trust them to look after your bags
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest:
Greetings from Intercontinental Tahiti!

With all due respect, we are not in agreement with your comments.
We are sorry the insurance took longer than expected but your claim has been reported immediatly.
Considering the circonstances ei :
- you were not sure where the money was left (safe ? Hand bag ?) and only assume in the end that it was in your hand bag
- there is no possibility to certify the actual amount of cash involved
- your hand bag was left unlock and unattended when our staff only advise to leave locked suitcases in the designated area in lobby for pickup.

it appears difficult indeed for the insurance or the hotel to accept responsibility of such a claim.
The Intercontinental Tahiti is a safe hotel where all safety and security procedure are strickly respected.

We are sorry about this incident however not every claim is the responsibility of the hotel and the claimant negligeance is also to be considered. Nevertheless, management will be in contact with you directly to try to assist you further.

Yours faithfully.
Public Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed one night on our way to Taha'a. We arrived close to midnight and were greeted with a cool drink and very nice staff. We had an upgraded lagoon views ( sort of a waste for 6 hours). It was our anniversary and they had left a wrapped Pareo as a gift which was very touching. The rooms are clean, comfortable and renovated inside. We kept very well. It is an older hotel that's sort of retro on the exterior. The pool looked very cool as we ate buffet breakfast prior to departure. The lagoon view room opens right to the beach which was cool for that first glimpse of Tahiti. While we weren't here long, we would stay again. I'm not sure I'd stay multiple days but with only 5 mins to the airport it was perfect!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest, Ia Orana from Intercontinental Tahiti Resort !
Thank you for your review.
We are glad to see that you enjoyed your short stay with us.
You can be assured that your comments are taken into consideration and our staff acknowledged.
Thank you again for your patronage, and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Intercontinental Tahiti in the future.
Yours sincerely .
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Theme and decor:

We had this hotel booked by our cruise line for 2 pre nights and 1 post cruise day room. My husband made the joke that "it looks just like the Polynesian Resort at Disney World". Without missing a beat I snarked that, "Yes, the Polynesians went to WDW to figure out the proper theme for the IC Tahiti".
Yes, this resort looks exactly the way you might imagine a Tahitian resort would look; long houses, thatch roofs, palm trees, ocean and mountain views and soft sand by the pools! But unlike Disney World; it's an actual place where local people work and the resort seems to serve as a venue for local events. In the short time we were there, the hotel hosted a televised "Mr Tahiti" contest for local gentlemen and their female fans and a Tahitian born Olympian used the resort to pose with her silver medal for a publicity shot. This activity along with a large number of day use and one day guests who are in transit from the main airport (F'aa) to other islands in the archipelago means that although the resort is absolutely gorgeous, it is slightly more frenetic than what you would expect from a resort in French Polynesia. We had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the "slice of life" provided here, I think it's a great place for a short transit stay; but if I were a honeymooner, or wanted to enjoy a lengthy stay, I'd find something more remote and peaceful.


Location:

The proximity to the airport and cruise port and the main city of Papeete was the reason we chose this resort. It took us no more than 6-8 minutes to travel to and from the airport. The cruise port and the center of Papeete is a few minutes beyond that.

Service:

We found the service to be very good overall with one exception. Everyone was polite and responsive, but our request for extra pillows was met with a request to call in with our choice from the pillow menu. We returned to our room, located the "menu", made our selections and called, but no pillows were ever delivered. I had the sense that the "pillow menu" is corporate invention and that maybe no one working there has a sense of which pillows might actually match those descriptions, ( or something gets lost in translation) and so rather than deliver the wrong pillow, the whole request just gets pointedly ignored. I'd rather the resort dispense with the silliness and just provide prompt service when the guest requests it!
That's precisely what happened with our malfunctioning safe. We made a request for a repair and it was fixed within an hour or so. Room and luggage service was all very prompt and friendly. So I think IC has it right; there is no reason for corporate to complicate it!

Rooms:

We had a Panoramic room, at the very end of the resort. While it was a long walk the view was well worth it! I could hear the waves crashing on the reef, and see the ocean beyond the infinity pool, and beyond the tiki hut bars and restaurant, the mountains of Moorea were rising in the blue sea, a small garden area with shrubs and grass seperated our first floor patio from the walk way. I was sitting outside on the patio taking in this beautiful scene when at about 6:45 AM, a gardener came down the path took one look at the grounds right in front of our room and began raking the fallen bougainvillea blooms off the grass (which I thought looked pretty there on the ground!) So the place is meticulously maintained!
Right outside our panoramic room was the infinity pool, with the Pacific and the hills of Moorea in view beyond. We enjoyed the pool and loungers in the shade for a few hours and then returned to our room to order room service for lunch.

Our Panoramic room was large and had a king bed, a safe, refrigerator, flat screen tv, desk with 2 chairs as well an arm chair and a luggage bench at the end of the bed. The light switches were endlessly confusing; there are a few master switches, as well as a few individual switches and the masters have to be "on" for the individual switches to work. We often entered and exited with multiple flipping of switches before getting it right!
The bath was large with a huge soaking tub, double sinks separated by a vanity seat, separate compartments for the shower and toilet.

Dining:

Breakfast- was included in our package. It was a large buffet the Tiare restaurant. Service was good, and the buffet is enormous. There were chefs to cook eggs or omelets to order as well as hot specialties. The buffet is designed to appeal to an international clientele and it was the most diverse buffet I'd ever seen offered anywhere. In addition to international specialties (sushi, herring) every "regional" favorite topping was offered; honey, Vegemite, peanut butter, soy sauce etc. It appeared that any request they ever got they made an effort to stock it, so that no international guest would have to do with out a favorite food from home!

Lunch-We enjoyed room service for lunch on our patio rather than changing into appropriate clothing for lunch at one of the restaurants. While there was bar service at the pools, they did not appear to be serving meals by the pool, which meant meeting the dining room dress codes. We did not want to change out of our suits and cover-ups, so we chose to dine on the patio. The meal (hamburgers, salads, and onion soup) was only OK, on par with any chain restaurant. The meal cost us the equivalent of US $75 for 2. The next day, we decided to make the included breakfast buffet a "brunch" and skipped lunch all together!

Dinner Show- The Tiare restaurant is the scene for the Polynesian dinner and show. The cost was 11010 FPF per person (or about $120 USD pp). We reserved the show that morning and were seated at a table for two right in front on the pool deck, which was phenomenal! There appeared to be plenty of tables and I imagine you could book the day of the show or just show up.

The tables in the regular part of the restaurant are all graduated, so no matter where you sit you will have a great view, but my DH enjoyed the access for taking photos that being right in front offered.
The show on Friday night is a seafood buffet, which was mainly shellfish, although there were several large fish placed on the buffet for effect- there was no white fish fillets to be had on the buffet. There were jumbo shrimp, chopped lobster pieces in a vegetable dish, beef and pork being carved. There were chafing dishes with rice and grilled vegetables. The starters included several interesting chopped salads incorporating either chopped fish, meats and vegetables . The dessert table was extensive, with every imaginable pastry.
The food here was hit or miss for me. I feel like its French so the it's a notch up to start, but while some things were very flavorful and well executed, a few dishes surprised me by being quite bland. I'm no foodie, and there was plenty to choose from, so overall I'd say the buffet and show is worth it, given that you would not save much ordering a al carte here.

At 8:30 the show starts. It is set up right on the pool ledge and the band is set up in the hut in front of the pool. The dancers use the pool deck and the shallow section of the pool. There is a huge cast of at least 9 men and 9 women plus two singers, and the emcee dressed as a tribal chief. The whole show was spectacular. The dancers and musicians are all excellent and very energetic with colorful costumes and props. The show was delightful and we found the experience worth every penny we paid.


Amenities:

This is a large resort. There are two pools; the infinity pool near our room (across from the Panoramic buildings) and a larger pool complex by the main building with a lagoonarium stocked with tropical fish. You can snorkel among them or just look at them from the walkway bridges.

There was a very well stocked gym with all the most modern machines and weight sets, as well as a wet bar ( this is a good place to get water for your water bottle as there is a cooler here). We found mats, balls, and free weights in a mirrored room with work out benches. There is a full service spa here, we did not try.There are extensive walking or jogging paths through out the property.

At the infinity pool, there are several loungers and a swim up pool bar as well as a towel cabana, where we had to sign out towels with a 200 FPF (about $3) deposit on our room number and then return them, to get the deposit slip torn up. This was only required by one attendant, every other time we needed towels the attendant just asked we return them to the pool area return before 6 PM. We had no trouble even during the busiest times finding loungers with shade on the property.

There is a gift shop and a business center (another place to get your water filled) as well as several bars around the property.

Activities and Attractions:

There appear to be 2 different tour companies represented in the lobby, Tahiti Nui (who did our transfers) and Marama (we took a 4x4 tour with them). We felt both provided good service and the guides spoke decent English and were very helpful and efficient. They offered a similar "menu" of tours including one day tours to Moorea, dive and snorkel packages, sightseeing tours and 4x4 tours. Prices did not seem to vary between the 2 vendors.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Panoramic room for better views and a little distance from the busy lobby area. If sele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Intercontinental Tahiti resort!
We would like to thank you for having taken the time to writte down your comments and give us your feelings about our Tahiti resort.
It is a fact that our property has great success in providing an experience for our guests which is supportive of the legendary polynesian hospitality and traditions. Reading your review, it is very rewarding to learn that, from the location, service, facilities and ambiance you enjoyed & experienced the true hospitality of our Tahiti Resort.
Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts and for your comments which will help us to evolve our level of service and guest experiences.
You are welcomed to give our contact to your family and friends who are planning a trip to French Polynesia or in any destination Intercontinental Group of Hotels operates.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Yours Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Where do I begin? On the surface, when you first arrive, you think it will be a beautiful, luxurious beach front resort, however, after more than 20 minutes on the property you begin to realize that there are some definitely some areas that need improvement:

1) No toilet paper ANYWHERE. In the hotel bathrooms there was never toilet paper and in our room when we checked in, no toilet paper.

2) The service. Seriously lacking! You get penalized if you don't turn in your towels by a certain time and I had to wait 10 minutes just for the towel guy to return.

3) The rooms are outdated. Period.

4) The restaurant is AWFUL. Avoid their seafood buffet and the show if you can.

5) The room service and baggage service was awful. It took 45 minutes for a cocktail and it took another 50 minutes to have our bags delivered to our room.

The two really great things about the hotel were:

1) The lagoonarium was amazing! Loved snorkeling in there.
2) It is less than 5 minutes from the airport.

Aside from those two things, I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Ia Orana from Intercontinental Tahiti resort!
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to learn that your stay with us did not meet with your expectations.
Each of your comments have been dealt appropriately with the department Heads concerned; In the meantime we do apologise we have fallen short of your expectations but can assure that such lapses are isolated occurrences.
Despite the challenges you faced we are pleased to note that you appreciate the location of our hotel and also the lagoonarium.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future.
Sincerely yours.
Guest relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Clean, quick hotel to overnight on your way to moorea or bora bora. Standard room was clean but didnt wow us. We basically stayed for 14 hours. Pool looked nice but the hotel just needed a face life with newer decor for the prices. The hotels on the other islands are better but this is the best one on the main island.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night after arriving on a red eye flight from LAX. Upon arriving, we were greeted immediately by the manager and he had cold beverages waiting for us on a table decorated with colorful flowers that overlooked the pool and the beach. The view was amazing! We were upgraded to an OWB (thanks to my husband's Royal Ambassador status). The room was quite spacious and clean. From the deck, we could see all sorts of fish and the view was still amazing. The minibar was disappointing because it only contained bottled water, juices, sodas, Heineken, and the local Tahitian beer. There was no wine or champagne (considering we are on French land, I expected to see at least one bottle of French wine in the minimar). There were two large pools but no poolside towel service. It was quite crowded with families and children. The breakfast was just okay. There was a traditional Tahitian food section but there wasn't much of an explanation as to what you were about to eat. Overall, we were happy with the room and the service. The concierge was friendly and helped us with ideas and reservations for our stay in Moorea.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest:
Greetings from Intercontinental Tahiti Resort !
Thnak you for your review.
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that overall, you were satisfied with the service and facilities provided by our property.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Intercontinental Tahiti in the future.

Yours sincerely.
Guest relation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Resort Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort Tahiti

Address: PO Box 6014 | Pointe Tahiti, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Resort Tahiti 4.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort has a total of 253 rooms and bungalows, comprising 172 fully renovated garden and lagoon view rooms, a separate wing with 60 panoramic view rooms for the top achievers and VIPs, a suite, and 32 over-water bungalows. All units are air-conditioned, with international facilities and amenities. Located in 32 acres of gardens, the Polynesian style resort offers views of unforgettable sunsets and volcanic peaks of the sister island Moorea, just 12 miles across the sea of moons. The resort offers 2 restaurants including gourmet over water restaurant and an all day dining restaurant featuring the best Tahitian shows on the island, 2 bars, 2 crystal clear, fresh Water overflow swimming pools, and a host of activities to entertain just about everyone. The property features an activity center including tennis, water sports and the largest scuba-diving center Special mention about the huge lagoonarium where guests can swim in a protected area and enjoy Polynesian exceptional sea-life. The Deep Nature Spa by Algotherm is open since the end of 2008" is also equipped with a great gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your InterContinental Resort Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Tahiti Hotel Faa`a
Intercontinental Hotel Tahiti
Intercontinental Hotel Faaa
Beachcomber Resort Tahiti
InterContinental Resort Tahiti French Polynesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Resort Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.