We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking a little tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Resort Tahiti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Resort Tahiti to your Saves list
InterContinental Resort Tahiti
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 6014 | Pointe Tahiti, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Looking a little tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We just stayed as an overnight stop on the way to and back from Bora Bora so didn't arrive until late and left early. The view is without a doubt beautiful but the resort feels like it was last decorated in the early 90's. The staff on reception were all nice but forgot our wake up call which could have been bad news if we hadn't also set our mobile as a back up!
There is nothing wrong with the hotel it's just a bit tired.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest, ia Orana from Intercontinental Tahiti Resort!
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We appreciate your comment refering to the fact that the IC Tahiti is not the newest resort but it is probably the property with the most authentic Tahitian atmosphere you can experience and the most comprehensive resort on the island of Tahiti
Our team is devoted to this legendary property and is working hard to maintain it in great shape while renovation projects are presently being finalised.
We will review your comment regarding the missed wake up call with our front desk service and please accept our apology on this issue.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future.
Yours sincerely.
Guest relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    588
    228
    94
    56
See reviews for
167
1,036
47
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Va.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The grounds are really nice, the pools are great. The food is NOT good. They really need to step up their game in this area. It is really poor for such an upscale hotel chain. We were very disappointed.

Room Tip: Both pools and lagoon area are lovely. The rooms are nice, but the beds are rock hard. It amazes me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Intercontinental Tahiti resort!
Thank you for posting your review on trip advisor, and we are sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction towards our food quality. We will review this point with the departement head concerned. Despite this, we are pleased to learn that you appreciate the location and facilities of our Tahiti resort.
We hope your future travel plans will continue to include Intercontinental Hotels group and indeed our Tahiti resort.
We remain at your service.
Sincerely yours.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here on the way to Bora Bora and on the way back.

On the way over we had a Panoramic Room and on the way back we had an motu overwater bungalow.

Check in was good and reception staff were friendly.

We really liked the grounds and they had lovely pools etc.

We just found the restaurants and bars lacked in customer service and some of the food was a bit poor.

Rooms are quite dated, we actually prefered the panoramic room to the over water bungalow, the overwater bungalow was smaller and slightly more dated.

All in all it wasnt a bad stay, good for one or two nights if you are on the way to one of the other islands.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest, Ia Orana from Intercontinental Tahiti Resort, and thank you for posting your comments as they help us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible to our guests. We are sorry you were not fully satisfied with our customer service at our bars and restaurants and be assured that this point will be shared with department Head concerned for correction.
We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
We remain at your service.
Sincerely Yours.
Guest Realation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We loved the Intercontinental in Tahiti.
It is a fabulous hotel. The rooms are very nice and the reception area which looks down onto the massive pool is gorgeous. You can spend a good few hours wandering the grounds and swimming in the huge pool. The food and drinks are great here! Will defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest, Ia Orana from Intercontinental Tahiti resort and thank you for posting your review.
Wea re pleased to learn that you enjoyed our rooms and spectacular freshwater pools. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future.
Sincerely Yours.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We've just spent 5 nights at this hotel and it was lovely. After a very long flight from the UK it was like arriving in paradise. Our room was great with a huge jacussi bath and balcony looking out over the ocean. There are 2 infinity pools, one very secluded and the main one that tended to attract children but very few compared to other resorts. The food was very good but really biased towards fish with limited other options if eating from the buffet. The Lotus restaurant is a must for exceptional cuisine, wines and service. Excellent Tahitian shows and entertainment but for some strange reason you can only book a table if eating from the buffet. If you want to eat a la carte, you can't reserve a table so get put at the back of the restaurant, very bizarre! We did a day trip to the island of Moorea which was lovely and well worth the visit although a very windy and cloudy resort. Amazing sunsets from the Intercontinental overlooking Moorea of an evening with a cocktail from the swim up bar. We would highly recommend

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Intercontinental Tahiti and for sharing your experience with us.
We are pleased to learn that your experience at our tahiti Resort was a positive one and each of your comments have been shared with our team. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future.
Sincerely Yours.
Guest Relation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I were on our way to the St Regis Bora Bora and had to sleep off the night in Tahiti to take the morning flight out.

My uncle Mr Hitesh Jhaveri, stays at this particular hotel every time he comes for business (roughly once every 2 months) and had put in a special request to the management to provide us good service.

The manager, Carolina greeted us warmly and appraised us that we had been upgraded. Little did we know that the room provided to us was the Panoramic Suite !

Unfortunately we had the leave the next day but my experience here was one that I will never forget.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Ia Orana from Intercontinental Tahiti resort !
Thank you for your review and such excellent comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Yours sincerely.
Guest Relation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was our last stop un FP, so it suffers from our comparisons to overwater bungalows in Moorea, Huahine and Bora Bora. Our bungalow needs updating, seemingly dating from the 1970s. The outside deck was tiny and in need of a fresh paint job. No way you could sun yourself here. The coral surrounding our unit was overrun with sea urchins, making it a bit scary to swim off the back. There wasn't much to see anyway, as there were plenty of fish in the lagoon on the property.

We were here only one day, so we didn't do any sightseeing. We did eat at Le Lotus, which we found overpriced and underwhelming. Bar service was SLOW, to say the least, though the people were polite.

Room Tip: There are newer overwater bungalows to the far right of the property. I believe they are in the 500...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Greetings form Intercontinenal Tahiti Resort and thak you for sharing your experience with us.
We appreciate your comment refering to the fact that the Intercontinental Tahiti is not the newest resort but it is probably the property with the most authentic Tahitian atmosphere you can experience and the most comprehensive resort on the island of Tahiti
Our team is devoted to this legendary property and is working hard to maintain it in great shape while renovation projects are presently being finalised.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future,
Yours sincerely.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Resort Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort Tahiti

Address: PO Box 6014 | Pointe Tahiti, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Resort Tahiti 4.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort has a total of 253 rooms and bungalows, comprising 172 fully renovated garden and lagoon view rooms, a separate wing with 60 panoramic view rooms for the top achievers and VIPs, a suite, and 32 over-water bungalows. All units are air-conditioned, with international facilities and amenities. Located in 32 acres of gardens, the Polynesian style resort offers views of unforgettable sunsets and volcanic peaks of the sister island Moorea, just 12 miles across the sea of moons. The resort offers 2 restaurants including gourmet over water restaurant and an all day dining restaurant featuring the best Tahitian shows on the island, 2 bars, 2 crystal clear, fresh Water overflow swimming pools, and a host of activities to entertain just about everyone. The property features an activity center including tennis, water sports and the largest scuba-diving center Special mention about the huge lagoonarium where guests can swim in a protected area and enjoy Polynesian exceptional sea-life. The Deep Nature Spa by Algotherm is open since the end of 2008" is also equipped with a great gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your InterContinental Resort Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Tahiti Hotel Faa`a
Intercontinental Hotel Tahiti
Intercontinental Hotel Faaa
Beachcomber Resort Tahiti
InterContinental Resort Tahiti French Polynesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Resort Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.