We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Needs Renovation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Resort Tahiti

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Resort Tahiti to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental Resort Tahiti
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 6014 | Pointe Tahiti, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great Location, Needs Renovation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was our last stop un FP, so it suffers from our comparisons to overwater bungalows in Moorea, Huahine and Bora Bora. Our bungalow needs updating, seemingly dating from the 1970s. The outside deck was tiny and in need of a fresh paint job. No way you could sun yourself here. The coral surrounding our unit was overrun with sea urchins, making it a bit scary to swim off the back. There wasn't much to see anyway, as there were plenty of fish in the lagoon on the property.

We were here only one day, so we didn't do any sightseeing. We did eat at Le Lotus, which we found overpriced and underwhelming. Bar service was SLOW, to say the least, though the people were polite.

Room Tip: There are newer overwater bungalows to the far right of the property. I believe they are in the 500...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Greetings form Intercontinenal Tahiti Resort and thak you for sharing your experience with us.
We appreciate your comment refering to the fact that the Intercontinental Tahiti is not the newest resort but it is probably the property with the most authentic Tahitian atmosphere you can experience and the most comprehensive resort on the island of Tahiti
Our team is devoted to this legendary property and is working hard to maintain it in great shape while renovation projects are presently being finalised.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future,
Yours sincerely.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    543
    198
    83
    53
See reviews for
152
944
47
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our stay was delightful. After many uncomfortable nights in more rustic locations, we found that we didn't want to leave the room. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. The overall grounds and pools exceeded expectations. The staff and service were first class.

Room Tip: A room with a sunset view is worth it. Amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience with us.
We are pleased to learn that the staff and service were first class and be assured that your comments will be shared with our team.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Sincerely.
Véronique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Front desk staff are morons. They lost my credit card number which was provided on check in. It takes them 10-15 mins to check in / out each guest. It took 45 mins to have my bag delivered to the room on check in. The room AC is poor. Any outside noise can be heard clearly in the room. No free airport shuttle (only 2 kilometers away). Hotel is run down and dirty. Food at the hotel is poor. All service was slow and rude.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest:
Greetings from Intercontientnal Tahiti !
Thank you for taking the time to review our property as we give the utmost importance to our guest feedback, and we are sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction towards our Front Desk service.
In reference to our receptionist asking your credit card upon check-out when you already have given it on arrival, this is a normal procedure as some guests choose to use a different credit card to guaranty their stay from the one they use to settle their account.
Also, please note that local regulations in Tahiti do not allow hotels to operate their own transfers which explain unfortunately that we cannot offer an airport shuttle to our guests.
We are really sorry that you were not fully satisfied with your stay with us and we hope you will give us a chance in the future to show you how great our Tahiti Resort is.
Also, we invite you to let us know the next time you will be visiting us as we will be honoured to welcome you back and ensure you have the most enjoyable stay with us.
We look forward to serving you in the future.
Sincerely yours.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Was there on business, all hotel staff made me feel welcome, although very close to the airport the planes were not an issue. Rooms clean, food was good, but dinner menu could offer more variety. Stayed five nights and cost was about 111000 XPF, not all meals at hotel. Found this to be reasonable. Would recommend this as a stopover on way from either Australia or New Zealand,, probably better than stopping in Hawaii.

Will definitely stay again

Room Tip: I prefer the ground floor units for ease of access to dining area and pools. Can be a long walk upst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear guest:
Thank you for your comments and sharing your experience of your stay with us.
It is always a great source of pride for the hotels to know that a guest's experience was enhanced by the staff. This feedback will be shared with all the departments.
We look forward to welcome you back again.
Yours sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Property has a great location with the most beautiful grounds and amenities. We were very pleased with the service and staff. I highly recommend the hotel, it is first rate. The room was very nice and clean. The decor was a little tired but I think that it is to be expected given the island location. You aren't in your room except to sleep anyway.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,
Ia Orana from Intercontinental Tahiti and thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the service and facilities of our hotel and be assured that your comments will be shared with our team.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I have read the other comments about this hotel, and our experience was very positive. Our overwater bungalow was outstanding. I travel a lot, and I can say the service was outstanding and everyone was helpful and courteous. The hotel is a short walk to a grocery store that stocked the best bread, cheese and French wines you can find. It was a bit pricey, but that is what you can expect anywhere in the French Polynesia. The views are as good as it gets, and the infinity pool has one of the best views in the world. We stayed seven nights, and I wish I were back on the deck of our bungalow right now. We would definitely go back if we get the chance. I wonder if some of the negative comments I read from others were from people who didn't stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience of your stay with us. From the location, service and ambiance, we have shared each of your comments with our team and look forward to welcoming you back again to enjoy our Tahiti Resort experience.
Yours sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We spent two nights at this hotel : one when we arrived in French Polynesia, and one when we left. This hotel is a nice way to get introduced to French Polynesia, with its lagoonarium. Shuttles depart frequently to go to the center of Tahiti (price is 2000CFP/pers.), and the hotel is located near the airport, which is quite convenient. The Tiare restaurant is not the best but OK. We did not have the opportunity to test the Lotus restaurant, which has good reputation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Tahiti, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest:
Greetings from Intercontinental Tahiti Resort !
Thank you for your review and we are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future.
Sincerely yours.
Guest Relation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Resort Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort Tahiti

Address: PO Box 6014 | Pointe Tahiti, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Resort Tahiti 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort has a total of 253 rooms and bungalows, comprising 172 fully renovated garden and lagoon view rooms, a separate wing with 60 panoramic view rooms for the top achievers and VIPs, a suite, and 32 over-water bungalows. All units are air-conditioned, with international facilities and amenities. Located in 32 acres of gardens, the Polynesian style resort offers views of unforgettable sunsets and volcanic peaks of the sister island Moorea, just 12 miles across the sea of moons. The resort offers 2 restaurants including gourmet over water restaurant and an all day dining restaurant featuring the best Tahitian shows on the island, 2 bars, 2 crystal clear, fresh Water overflow swimming pools, and a host of activities to entertain just about everyone. The property features an activity center including tennis, water sports and the largest scuba-diving center Special mention about the huge lagoonarium where guests can swim in a protected area and enjoy Polynesian exceptional sea-life. The Deep Nature Spa by Algotherm is open since the end of 2008" is also equipped with a great gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Resort Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Tahiti Hotel Faa`a
Intercontinental Hotel Tahiti
Intercontinental Hotel Faaa
Beachcomber Resort Tahiti
InterContinental Resort Tahiti French Polynesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Resort Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.