We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lotus Restaurant

The Lotus Restaurant
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
+689 40 86 51 25
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Faa'a
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Discover our Gourmet Restaurant overlooking the lagoon, near the sand-bottomed pool and bubmerged bar. Light lunch menu served everyday from 12 noon to 2p.M. With the best view on Moorea Island. Gourmet dinner every night from 6.30 To 9.30 P.M. Enjoy a creative and fine dinner in a pleasing and romantic atmosphere. Le Lotus is in partnership with "l'Auberge de l'Ill", a 3 stars Michelin Guide restaurant.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

On our recent stays at the Intercontinental we ate at The Lotus on 2 occasions. Both times we kicked back with some wine and looked at the panoramic views. We tried to order light as we were just trying to relax a bit and put something in our bellies. We ended up with more food than we had expected. Our favorite was the Mahi Mahi. We were ready for a nap after the meal between the meal, the wine, and the view. Well worth it. Service here is much faster than their other restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    53
    24
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Elegant and creative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

A very ambitious restaurant, whose menu is designed by Michelin 3-star Marc Haeberlin of L’Auberge de l’Ill, in France. The talented chef uses local produce to create high-end Polynesian fare, and makes direct references to his mentor with imported goodies such as quails. A good wine list with a fair choice of wine by the glass. Elegant setting overlooking the lagoon. Perfect.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Trying too hard to be fancy instead of focusing on flavor and service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We're starting at the Intercontinental and decided to try this as a kick off dinner for our French Polynesian vacation. We had a lovely table over the lagoon and the decor was nice. The food got better with each course, but was still underwhelming.

Almost every one of our dishes (each had complimentary amuse-bouche, appetizer, main, and shared dessert) had a foam or whipped sauce with a flavor that did not go well with texture.

By course, I'd rate as follows:
Amuse-bouce: 1 - Foam + lobster flavor = yuck!
Appetizer: 3 - Good shrimp and Mahi Mahi but soaked in odd tasting soup.
Main: 4 - Great seared tuna crusted with ham served with pasta. But the accompanying foam was unnecessary.
Dessert: 5 - Great chocolate mikado with salted carmel.

This place would be great for late evening dessert and drinks. However, it's too expensive with underwhelming service and food to recommend for full dinner service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed and Hungry!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Could not wait to try Le Lotus because of food reviews and location. Went to dinner really hungry, wanting to enjoy my whole meal experience. Was given a very expensive wine list and was asked several times if I wanted a bottle of mineral water. Knew going in that it wasn't inexpensive. Bread given with no butter. Has to ask for some. Finally arrived. Ordered the crab and scallop appetizer. Very small and not tasteful at all. Asked the waitress her opinion between Mahui Mahui or scallops as main course. Scallops for sure! Out comes 5 small scallops and my eyes bulge! They were also tasteless. Ended up feeling up on bread and butter for around $80 us. I'm 110lbs! Live in Florida where seafood is abundant and awesome! The only good thing to say is the view, but you can get that by the pool and save some money! Awful!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Wow - just amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had a few hours to kill in Papeete after flight from Moorea and catching our connecting flight to Los Angeles and my husband had read great reviews about this restaurant and suggested we give it a try and we were so pleased we did.
It was a great end to our silver wedding anniversary trip to French Polynesia.
We were shown to a lovely table overlooking the ocean on arrival. The menu was varied and the descriptions of the food made it a difficult choice as they all sounded delicious.
We did make a choice, set price for 2 or 3 or 4 courses. Staff very attentive and professional. Food amazing.
Served an amuse bouche of salmon mousse, then an avocado soup before our two course meal and the food was elegant, beautifully presented, fine dining at it’s best. Coffee finished the meal with macaroons.
Granted it came with a fairly hefty price tag but we enjoyed it so much, I am so pleased my husband took the opportunity to book us in there.
Definitely go, at least one evening, just a short 5 minute ride from the airport. A lovely end to our 25 year wedding celebrations.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lotus Restaurant also viewed

 
Faa'a, Tahiti
Tahiti, Society Islands
 

Been to The Lotus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lotus Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.