We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Porto Ligia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Porto Ligia to your Saves list
Hotel Porto Ligia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lygia, Lygia 31 100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lygia
Crawley, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

A stunning little haven. Hotel a teeny tiny bit scrappy around the edges(poor repaint job in places-bathroom etc) but thoroughly clean and well kept. Helpful friendly staff and snorkling right out the front. Restaurants good in the area. Gorges pizza on the main road and 7 islands if you follow the beach side all around the harbour. Explore the island. We went every where. The tip, the very end with the lighthouse, the high point, the beaches, the waterfalls and the gorge!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    25
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Writing reviews is something that I have never bothered to do but, this time, I think it is truly justified! The Hotel Porto Lygia is definitely under-rated at 3 stars. We visited the hotel for a relaxing break and that was exactly what we had. It was very serene and relaxed! If you're looking for an action-packed holiday then don't stay here. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel was spotlessly clean. The towels were changed daily and the sheets changed several times during the week. We had a fabulous uninterrupted view of the sea, harbour, mainland, pool and gardens. A self-service breakfast was available each morning; fresh juices, cold meat and cheese, boiled eggs, yoghurt and fresh fruit and fruit juices. In addition to the description, Greek salad and other snacks were available to purchase at lunchtime and towels were available for the sun loungers. The internet and air conditioning in the room was free of charge - something we've always had to pay extra for on other holidays. Bowls of fresh nuts or crisps were served with any drinks (which, by the way were very reasonable). The beach is pebbly so don't forget your sea-shoes, and.... snorkel gear is a must! and the pool is fabulous. The hotel gets a little busier at weekends with Greek families staying - but personally, I think that is always a good sign of a good hotel when the locals stay. Several local Tavernas - with others a little further to walk past the harbour and beyond where at one in particular had a true 'Shirley Valentine' evening actually eating sat at tables set on the beach. There are a couple of supermarkets about 15 minutes walk away with limited stock and no local cash points but a trip to Lefkas is well worth it at 10 Euros in a taxi and only a few Euros on the bus. Take a look at the hotel's own website as it's excellent. Just a note about the Small Planet flights which, after reading the reviews, almost put me off booking. True to form - the flight was delayed by two hours due to a 'staffing issue', it didn't even get on the departures board and we sat on the plane for about an hour waiting for a slot before we left, but, the crew were very friendly and helpful both ways and they all spoke English! Had to queue a long time to check in at Preveza but the flight left on time and was without incident. I think it was just a case of lack of information that was the problem.
All in all - I would highly recommend this holiday - excellent value for money - 4*+

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We are very satisfied from our stay in Porto Lygia Hotel. The service was excellent the rooms very clean and the location of the pool in front of the sea amazing! We booked 20 rooms for our marriage and everybody was truly satisfied from the Hotel facilities and Services.
Thanks Sotiris and Makis

Dimitris Eri

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

The location of this hotel is absolutely fabulous as it is right on the beach and close to really nice tavernas. There is also a bakery and a supermarket nearby. The best tavernas are found if you walk past the little harbour and continue along the shore. We recoomend both of them, one of them is called "Seven Islands".

The rooms are plain, but clean. Most rooms have a balcony with seaview and the area is very quiet. The service and the breakfast buffé are good. The pool area and the private beach are well cared for and very quiet, no disturbing music or other tourists.

We strongly recoomend this hotel for a couples get-away, but mayby not for a family stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicosia, cyprus
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

A nice place to stay when in lefkas. The hotel has a nice atmosphere and an amazing pool/ sea side area. the staff was very friendly and helpful at all times.
Breakfast was also quite nice (compared with other Greek hotels) with fresh pastries every morning.
Finally, the rooms are very clean and cozy, however we found the a/c to be too noisy and the shower too small.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

From arrival to departure the hotels staff was very welcoming and showed great enthusiasm in making our stay a good experience. And indeed it was. We felt very welcome. The hotel's facilities was nice and clean, a very short distance to the beech and sunbathing area, where there where plenty of sun beds available, made it easy to be a guest. Several good fish restaurants in the near by fishing village made a good choice of variety for lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

This is the biggest hotel in this area and has a perfect location, very close to the harbour and right on the beach.

The fact that the hotel has grass between the pool and the sea gives it a lovely open airy feel and although the beach has pebbles it has it's own private beach.
The hotel staff are very helpfull and nothing was too much trouble so full credit to the two people at the front desk and the new girl behind the bar.
They are still learning though so there is no hotel info in your room and no daytime menu or bar menu available but this will no doubt come in time and adds to the charm of it not being a "Big chain hotel".
Make sure you get a sea view, well worth the money and when there, walk along the harbour past the first couple of places to eat and you will find 2 lovely places to eat right on the waterfront.
Ligia is very quiet, if you want shops and nightlife and a bigger choice of places to eat, Lefkas is a 10 minute cab ride and Nidri (much more commercial) is a 20 minute cab ride.

A nice clean hotel, pool is very clean and the views from the breakfast table as in the last reviewers photo is one I am missing right now

Michael

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Porto Ligia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porto Ligia

Address: Lygia, Lygia 31 100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Lygia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lygia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porto Ligia 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Porto Ligia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Porto Ligia Lefkada/Lygia, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Porto Ligia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.