We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to familiar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Familiar

Familiar
Calle Carmen Nobrega, 23 | 12, 30 a 15, 30-18, 30 a 22, 30 Miercoles Abierto 18, 30 y Jueves Cerrado, 38612 El Medano, Tenerife, Spain
+34 627 58 77 58
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 56 Restaurants in El Medano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Carmarthen, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Return to familiar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

After a break of several years this trip have finally returned to familiar a sense was a personal disagreement with the owner victor
Daughter is now running front of house and what a live wire she is Had several very good meals and all the old spark is there I can heartily recommend it
However may I point out to a previous reviewer that sole is not a Canarian fish and any sole served has to be from frozen
As semi residents of Medano we will certainly be back

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    42
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent traditional restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We always return to La Familiar every time we stay in El Medano.
The Chateaubriand is the dish that I would recommend to anyone.
They do beautiful fish and Paella. Other meats and poultry on the menu also.
House red wine is good and the staff are a great help and are very friendly.
They have good English and seem to speak a few other languages too.
This restaurant is overall great value for money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Family Place to Eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Thanks to all the Team for your lovely food and great service We had a great couple of meals.
Garlic Prawns, Pimentos Padron ,Canarian soup all great.
Mum cooks and Daughter front of house great service and wine
Easy access from the square no need to Book.
Boyd Bev Jamie.xxx

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not always to love?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Was several times there, and I was relativly satisfied. I request always if something is fresh - as I hate deep frozen fish or old food which get sold as fresh... their salad is good, and desert fresh strawberries great... Last time the gambas didnt taste as usual. I requested if the sole is fresh, they told yes. But then the taste was awful.. it was a fish from a farm and seemed deep frozen. I told them couldnt be fresh fish and not from the sea.. and they confirmed it, was from a farm.. I had stomach ache all evening and felt bad next day. So for the moment we dont go there. I hate lying as I could choose something else to eat. Loads of fresh fish in Tenerife thats one reason to travel there. So I can give here only medium rating.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Taste of old Tenerife”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We visited this restaurant at lunchtime one day in March. It is a lovely old fashioned typical Spanish place. Lovely ambience and a friendly waitress. We had the usual Canarian dips and bread, then I had a huge freshly cooked piece of Tuna, my partner had a big juicy steak, with blue cheese sauce, they were accompanied by some fresh salad and chips. Everything was freshly cooked and I felt all had been prepared from scratch with nothing bought in or cooked from frozen.
I guess it must get very busy in the evenings, as people were coming in to make reservations.
Sadly we couldn't return as were leaving next day, but I would definitely recommend Familiar to anyone who wants to enjoy Canarian dishes well cooked and with friendly service.
It is also very reasonably priced for the quality of the food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Familiar also viewed

El Medano, Tenerife
 
El Medano, Tenerife
El Medano, Tenerife
 

Been to Familiar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Familiar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.