We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arenas del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Arenas del Mar to your Saves list
Hotel Arenas del Mar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Europa, 2, 38612 El Medano, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Medano
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The BEST hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Dont listen to the negative reviews on here, im sure they must of been staying in a different hotel because we (just like the majority) had the most amazing time staying here and we will be revisiting this hotel again.
Soon as we arrived (which was late) we were greeted at reception with a friendly smile, they booked us in quickly so we could eat in the restaurant before it closed, they were always helpful and advised us on places to visit on the island. Our room was just the right size and it was clean, tidy and cool, the balcony had great views of the mountains which was nice to look out at day & night. The food was brilliant and tasty, very good with lots of chose. The saltwatered pool was lovely and warm, much better to swim in than a chlorine pool. The Entertainment was always fun day & evening, Richard has a great personality and does a grand job of making eveyone feel welcome to join in if they want to or just to watch. El Medano was a sweet little town which we walked to most mornings after breakfast.
So glad we didnt read any of the reviews when we were booking this holiday just went for what we felt was right for us as we may never had experienced such a wonderful time.
Many thanks to Angelo, Ruth, Oscar, Paolo, Isabel H, Richard & all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    427
    182
    100
    61
See reviews for
147
753
24
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Struggle to find any faults with this hotel, I came with my boyfriend expecting the worst from having read these reviews and also expecting a hotel full of over 60s and no entertainment. I couldn't have been more wrong.
Richard is an asset to the hotel- one man pulls off activities that a whole team of reps usually do in big hotels, water polo, football etc.
We were worried that we couldn't go on excursions we wanted as it may be too far and secluded but this was not the case, the hotel arranged absolutely everything for us.
One of my main problems with hotels is food- I am one of the most fussiest eaters. However every night there was at least FIVE choices of different meats. Plenty of soup, salad and more and for the first time I had seconds. The hotel is beautiful you cannot fault the rooms at all. I would love to come back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Honestly don't know how people can complain about this hotel, in my opinion, and my families, it was brilliant. Free wi-fi in rooms, lobby and even by the pool. Angelo got our holiday off to a fab start by being funny and attentive upon arrival making a speedy check-in and was there to answer questions and give information when needed. Laurent does an excellent job on the bar, but bear with it because he is left alone a lot of the time, however very pleasant and talkative. Pauolo and Angela in the restaurant were brilliant with clearing up and checking on guests making sure we were okay and enjoying ourselves. And finally Richard is fantastic and works very hard to get everyone involved in the activities, absolutely hilarious. i will 110% be returning again soon thanks to the staff and hotel overall. Spa cost 18 euro to go into a time, but free spa tickets can be won playing bingo. Right on the gravel/sand beach so easy access through doors near the pool. Is rather windy but to avoid just sit near the walls near the entrance to the pool area or the joining wall. Cleaners do an excellent job and mop every day, changing towels and linen regularly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was my first time visiting Tenerife, and I absolutely loved it, largely due to the exceptional hotel.
The room was spacious, modern, and beautifully clean, with a large balcony, and was cleaned and attended wonderfully by the housekeeping staff every day.
The food was beautiful, with a large variety to choose from every day, and the dining area was positioned with a stunning sea view.
All of the staff were very friendly, helpful, and fantastically efficient, and they really made me feel at ease and enjoy my experience.
The entertainments manager Richard was brilliant, he was energetic and funny and provided a great atmosphere and a host of wonderful entertainment.
I absolutely cannot fault this hotel on my experience here, and would love to return in the near future. I wholeheartedly recommend it.


Miss N Robson

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My girlfriend and I came here for a week 12-19 July 14- this time with 3 other members of family.

We came here off the back of a visit last September 13 which was superb.

As we were repeat customers we were told on check in that all 3 rooms we had booked were to be top floor (5th) sea views, these were perfect.

The food was a wide range and one of our party was vegetarian and had no issues at all.

All staff were helpful and very good especially Laurent and Paolo the barmen.

The 2 regular girls in the dining room were very nice and on the ball also with the tidying up etc.

Entertainment was generally ok and optional if you wanted to get involved.

Overall very happy with our choice of hotel, and will 99% be coming for a THIRD TIME either later on this year or next.

On the whole = EXCELLENT

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Our suitcase that was in our room was broken into and all our Euros were stolen , the only person that had been in our room was the maid so it's was obvious who stole the items . It's not the fact we had our euros stolen it's the manner the hotel dealt with it . Basically they didn't and we're not really interested at all , they took us to the police station in a 1980's Peugeot 106 with no air con that belonged to a member of staff but the hotel did NOT deal with the problem in any way for 3 days which considering we were on a long weekend away ruined our stay . After 3 days offered us 2 nights (room only ) in compensation but when we tried to arrange this they were always full so couldn't accomadate us . My advice don't stay at this hotel as some of the staff are untrustworthy !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Been back a week from El Medano and it was a lovely break with my girlfriend. Great location where a nice beach and local shops and restaurants were nearby, and staff were friendly and helpful. I consider myself to be a bit of an explorer and wanted to explore Tenerife at its finest for a few days on our holiday. The reception were exceptional in helping us do that, where we booked the freebird one, night out in Las Americas and Siam park at the comfort of the hotel. Coaches and taxis arrived promptly and not expensive at all. All in all, a top week at a friendly hotel. If you love meat, try their pork leg and slabs of beef. Lovely meal which makes you sleep sunbathing on the sun lounger afterwards. Happy holidays!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arenas del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenas del Mar

Address: Av. Europa, 2, 38612 El Medano, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > El Medano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Medano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arenas del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Arenas del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arenas Del Mar Beach
Hotel Arenas Del Mar El Medano, Tenerife

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arenas del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.