We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Be Put Off By The Bad Reviews” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arenas del Mar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Arenas del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Arenas del Mar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Europa, 2, 38612 El Medano, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in El Medano
Lincolnshire
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't Be Put Off By The Bad Reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Having just returned from a relaxing week I cannot believe I have stayed at the same hotel as some of these people. OK the only problem, the hotel wasn't the prettiest. But once you stepped inside there was a vast improvement. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was above average with plenty of choice. I am really surprised at how much food some people want to consume, being that there were three big meals and tea and cakes in the afternoon and yet they moan that there "wasn't snacks available all day". The rooms were good - especially with a sea view. It was only a short walk into El Medano, which had a nice beach and a mountain to climb. A quaint little Spanish village.
So if you are planning a visit and have read some of these reviews and are slightly alarmed as I was do not worry. We had a really good time and met some really nice people - obviously not the ones having a moan on here - and would defiantly go back again.

Room Tip: Recommend that you book a sea view room on the fifth floor for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    280
    331
    148
    90
    54
See reviews for
129
589
14
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

just returned from spending a week here, this hotel is in the middle of no where and if you want to go anywhere it will cost you 25 euro one way or take a local bus which takes an hour.The food is awfull the same everyday .The pool area is small and broken sun loungers piled up.Rooms are very big with separate sitting area ,but not very clean due to the lack of staff, our sheets were not changed and had to ask for towels.The gym is on the 6th floor but the treadmill is broken and not very clean.This hotel is definetly not a 4 star .
PAULINE E.

Room Tip: choose top floor as its quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

A plus point for this hotel is that the bedrooms are very satisfactory, but that,s about it.
The hotel has no atmosphere, it,s like an old peoples home in tenerife.
Food very average, certainly not 4star. The local alcohol is rubish. Then you have to queue to get served. I can understand that if you get a good deal on your package holiday you could be satisfied. But if you pay the asking price from your local travel agent you are in for a shock.
Be careful on this one

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Agree with cheryl r on everything she says. The hotel was understaffed although what staff were there were extremely pleasant and helpful. Dining chairs were filthy which is probably why many diners appeared to be still dressed in their swimwear (mostly men I might add although there was one memorable occasion when one young lady still had her bikini bottoms on topped by an old sweatshirt). This despite the notice in our room stating that shorts cannot be worn at dinner!! If you like an early morning swim don't bother, you are not allowed in the pool before 10a.m and cannot get a towel before then either. Broken sunbeds were not removed from the pool area which is probably because all the good ones are "reserved" in the early hours so the broken ones are all there is after about 9.30. To top it all I left my pashmina in the bar area, came down to get it an hour later and it had disappeared. The hotel is very near to the airport which is a bonus for the transfer but airline staff also stay there and they seem to be very keen on all night parties! If you are looking for 4 Star then this is not the hotel for you!

Room Tip: We paid extra for sea view but these rooms are above the bar terrace which can be noisy Rooms overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel in august and got a very good deal on first choice! First look at the hotel it doesn't look much but as soon as you go inside it's absolutely lovely! No there wasn't anyone to carry your bags but a lift right by reception so sorry lazy people you have to carry it yourself! food was lovely and fresh fruit and salad at all times! There was plenty of variety catering for all types. It is a little windy out there but was lovely especially catching a tan as the sun wasn't too overpowering. Rooms lovely and cool. Service at the bar was brilliant and they even let us try some of the cocktails for free! I really would recommend renting a car as you get to see more of the island but el medano is a lovely little village and very traditional! Would definatly recommend don't go by the bad reviews! they clearly are too fussy

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Just spent a week at this hotel,on first arriving there was no water or refreshment as you would expect from a 4-5 star all inclusive hotel.We were pointed in the direction of the lift no offer of help with our cases,the room itself was clean and well decorated with clean towels everyday.The food was mostly cold all the time and not very good .I ordered some chicken drummers one afternoon which i had to pay for after waiting half hour for them they were raw and the smell from them almost made me sick.The waiter service is non existent and be prepared to wait a while at the bar as the hotel is very under staffed,i would advise against this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We returned home last night after a lovely relaxing holiday. Can not believe that the previous reviews came from people that stayed at the same hotel. Prior to booking we did some research so knew that the resort would be quiet and that entertainment provided by the hotel was limited which was just what we where looking for. The restaurant was self service buffet and we found the food very fresh with plenty to choose from, admittedly we did not eat any snacks from the pool bar as there was only so much we could eat anyway. Plenty of drink on offer in the all inclusive and never told to go to shop to buy anything. We had a view over looking car park but this also had lovely views of mountains and our room was very quiet. We had booked a room for three adults and Thomas Cook details showed twin beds with extra bed supplied, this was actually a sofa bed but not really a problem, but maybe Thomas Cook should make this clear. Parts of the hotel are a bit tired and could do with redecoration but over all was just what we expected. Staff all very friendly and room cleaned every day. The resort is very winding but is well known as a popular site for surfers etc so again maybe some people should research more prior to booking. We hired a car through hotel reception and this was organised well. Ten minute walk along beach to village with a few shops and restaurants along sea front offering some lovely traditional dishes, we had some lovely ta pas and fish dishes. If you want a lively holiday with lots of entertainment laid on for you then this hotel is probably not for you, if you want to relax and chill maybe it is. make up your own mind. We would return.

Room Tip: Research resort prior to booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Arenas del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenas del Mar

Address: Av. Europa, 2, 38612 El Medano, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > El Medano
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in El Medano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arenas del Mar 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Arenas del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arenas Del Mar Beach
Hotel Arenas Del Mar El Medano, Tenerife

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arenas del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.