We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazingly enjoyable time with the hostess of all time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mi Amor Resort

Mi Amor Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guacimo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mi Amor Resort
Save
You added Mi Amor Resort to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   200 meters past Earth University | Pacorda, Guacimo 11111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An amazingly enjoyable time with the hostess of all time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

Wow, what a great time at Club Mi Amor. Cindy does an amazing job of making sure her guests have a good time. The best part is that she is not trying! She is simply that type of personality. I only stayed for 3 days and consider Cindy a friend. All the staff are just as awesome! The rooms are clean and befit Costa Rica! The party Saturday Night is simply a blast! If you are shy, stay in your room and watch a movie. If you like to have fun, go on Saturday night. There are no expectations except to have fun. No means no and yes means yes! You chose your answer!
The restaurant has very good food! You will not go hungry. Very fairly priced for very high quality food! Once again, well done Cindy!

If you stay here, take the opportunity to raft on the pacure river. Several tour companies operate just 20 minutes away and the river is amazing! At best it is a class 4 so it is a little challenging, but not too tough. However, in scenic terms, the pacure is a perfect 10!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dilon, Co
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

Just spent a couple of days at this very entertaining location. Yes, there are improvements beeing made and am sure additional improvements are in the offing. It is transforming from a jewel in the rough to a rough cut on its way to a fine cut. he grounds are breathtaking and all the pictures on its site reflect actual vistas. There were three other couples staying there while we were there, a staff party on Friday night and many guests in the restaurant. here was a call box at the pool to order from the restaurant for poolside service. Food was very good and well priced. he rooms are being upgraded to include refridgerators and satellite tv. Management and staff very accommodating. I would recommend getting a room with one bed as it provides more room. There is the on-going challenge of hot water, an issue found throughout CR in even more expensive places. Whether you are looking for a nude or lifestyle facility you will be well served at Mi Amor. t is not a Marriott but you are not paying Marriott prices. Cindy recommened various side trips as well as a local soda. All her recommendations were on point. WiFi throughout. One recommendation, if driving rent a GPS, it was cheaper from Meta Rent A Cellular at the airport then from the car agencies.
Looking forward to going back. If you demand high thread count sheets, fancy baths, etc. this may not be for you. If you are looking for a clean, fun place, with an open atmosphere do not hesitate enjoying this unique place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

Condensed Trip Report Mi Amor Resort, Costa Rica

Mi Amor Resort is listed as a nudist resort on one website and a swinger’s resort on the Spanish website. Patti and I just returned from there and are planning on going back in 2010. There are 20 rooms total—12 are listed as poolside and 8 are listed as garden side. The resort is not plush, but the rooms are air conditioned and very, very clean. The whole resort is compact and our room was 12 paces from poolside. The garden rooms are at most 100 feet away from the pool. The pool is a medium sized figure eight shape with a bridge over the center of the eight. The large hot tub adjoins one end of the pool with a large waterfall on the other end. Ten couples or more are considered a takeover so you could control admission to the interior of the resort for the duration of the group stay. Cindy, the owner, (an American) opened the resort to a select group of locals for our Saturday night party. The locals were fun and contributed to the enjoyment of the party for all.

The rooms are air-conditioned and have ceiling fans. The sink in the bathroom only has a cold-water tap. Warm water for the shower is provided by the electric on-demand showerhead. The room and bathroom were very, very clean.

The restaurant is slightly separated from the walled resort and is open to and frequented by the local population. You must be covered to dine in the restaurant so as not to offend the locals. The food at the restaurant is very tasty and each plate is freshly cooked after it is ordered. Breakfast was included in our group package. Menus were provided for placing any food order. Lunch could be ordered and served around the pool or in your room as desired.

There are several local attractions within reasonable driving time. We hiked to a mountain waterfall and skinny-dipped in two separate pools along the way. We toured a beautiful mountainside plantation home. We visited a traditional Costa Rican farm and learned about raising macadamia nuts. We visited a famous local Crocodile show. Shopping was fun in a local department store in Guahiles and in shops in Limon.

The grounds around the resort are lush with vegetation and flowers. You cannot see from one side of the resort to the other because of the lush, dense foliage. There is a small river running beside the resort behind a bank of rooms and a larger river that adjoins the far back of the property.

If you do not demand the Marriott sort of accommodations and want to experience a different sort of nude or swinger resort, then this is the place. The websites are www.miamorresort.com in English and www.clubmiamor.com in Spanish.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

first location could be a gem, lot of green lush vegetation, that being said it"s about all that is to say, other than that the place needs some serious upgrades, rooms are outdated beds uncomforatable, no cable tv in rooms, curtains missing etc...., pool uninviting, we were there the first weekend of Jan there was suppose to be a big party but there were only 4 couples and nobody seemed interested that left the owner and the employees all alone for the so called party. While Cindy is trying her best to accomodate the guest, I do not see this place surviving without some serious investement, there is a market niche for this type of vacation in a place like Costa Rica , but they should get the bucks!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guacimo hotels

California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

This motel has nothing to offer. Run down, dirty, signs on trees approaching the motel truly describe its real value. "$25 per night" to anyone willing to stay a night if you dare. Hard to believe that anyone could enjoy a stay at Mi Amor for any reason. The owner is a lovely lady with good intentions and limited resources.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Yan, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

We recently spent time at the Mi Amor resort in Costa Rica. It is a clothing optional resort that caters to nudists as well as lifestyle folks. Cindy the owner is like the energizer bunny on steroids. The staff she has is great. She also has a restaurant open to anyone out front with food that is incredible. You can throw on shorts and a top and eat at the restaurant or order off of the menu and eat nude by the pool or the outside bar.

We enjoy vacationing at clothing optional resorts. Mi Amor has the potential to be a great one if necessary upgrades can be done. The room we had was very nice but some of the lights did not work. Getting hot water in the shower is tricky until you figure out how to use the heated shower head.

Upgrades need to be done to the overal wiring of the place. We saw a number of places where breakers were always tripping. The jacuzzi tube could not be used because of that problem. In a tropical enviroment things like lights and fans don't last. The resort needs to have some things like this replaced. The outdoor hot tub wasn't even close to being hot. It took several days to get more propane to heat the tub. When the propane was there, the tub never seemed to work quite right.

If you are looking for a high end glitzy resort, Mi Amor will disappoint you. If you can overlook some of the glitter, Mi Amor is a beautiful lush tropical rainforest resort where you can relax and enjoy your time nude. Lifestyle people do also visit the resort. You can participate if you like or just say "no thanks" and that is accepted. You WILL see some sexual activity on the resort by guests, especially around the weekends. Know that before you go. Remember this resort is in the rainforest. It is gorgeous but also rainy. Bring plenty of bug spray along.

There were not a lot of guests there while we were. The resort really needs some upgrades all around. Cindy knows this and is trying to do as much as she can, only owning the resort for a year now. What she really needs right now is more guests to bring in the income the resort needs to make it possible to fix what needs to be fixed.

This resort is a diamond in the rough. Tremendous potential if Cindy can pull it off.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

Great food in the adjoining Las Rio Palmas Restaurant, these folks treat you like visiting family. Tropical gardens with beautiful flowering plants and fauna. So relaxing, and we didn't have to wear clothes, how great is that?

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mi Amor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mi Amor Resort

Address: 200 meters past Earth University | Pacorda, Guacimo 11111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Guacimo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Guacimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mi Amor Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Mi Amor the hottest newest place to be in Costa Rica. Mi Amor is a clothing optional resort nestled in the rainforest it host 25 rooms, 2 Pools, Fantastic Jucuzzi, Sauna, 2 Bar Restaurants, Pool Side Bar, and so much more. This is a exotic ,tropical resort ready for the wild side in you to explode. Wow The New theme rooms and over the Top Jungle room that backs right up to a natural water fall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mi Amor Hotel Guacimo
Mi Amor Resort Costa Rica/Guacimo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mi Amor Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.