We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip, best location, best food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pedacito de Cielo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pedacito de Cielo
Save
You added Pedacito de Cielo to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Boca Tapada, San Carlos, San Carlos, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Aalsmeer, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worth the trip, best location, best food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Don't bother going somewhere else. Indeed, a long and heavy drive, but it is all worth it. The location is so great. The region is better since less touristic, the location of the hotel is even better. Bungalows in the middle of the forest, on the riverside, looking out over treetops and the river. Good, clean and very spacious bungalows, great terrace. Warmly welcomed by Marco, what a lovely guy and what a great cook! The food was just the best and we enjoyed every meal. Normally we go eat somewhere else, but this time, we just loved it there.
The jungletrip with Hugo is just the best, he is such a lovely guy and we didn't understand each other, but in fact, we did. Just by his heart reaching out for us. Do go their and enjoy, but to be honest, don't go their and leave this precious paradise to us, because we will try to go their again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at Pedacito de Cielo and it was our best time in Costa Rica…if you’re looking for a luxurious resort this is not the right spot, but if you’re looking for ADVENTURE, JUNGLE, MONKEYS, birds, beautiful gardens and communion with the nature, then IT HAS IT ALL! The road to get there was really a hassle…you don’t find “a piece of sky” at the corner of the street! Marco owns the Eco Lodge, we felt just like home with a very pretty bungalow overlooking the river San Carlos and the gorgeous gardens in the back. Our guide Hugo (who knows the rain forest by heart) took us on a hike in the forest, horseback riding, and kayaking...and that's when we finally met the famous CONGO MONKEYS! 15 of them! That was our last day at the Eco Lodge before heading back to San Jose. :)
My Costa Rican friend recommended the place and said that it’s a magical place…he was absolutely right! You won’t be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

Nice food, friendly people and lovely nature. You should do the rain forest with all those small frogs and crazy monkeys. Also, the trip by boat on the Rio San Carlos is very nice.
Wheather could be better, but nature was terrific!
We would love to come again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstanz, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

Pedacito de Cielo, little piece of (the) sky - a name aptly chosen for this place!
I guess the facts are known: it takes you quite some time on a dirt road (once you have passed Pital) to reach this remote area. Pital is the last settlement worth the name on your way to the lodge so you better get some water and other things you might need here. Boca Tapada is close(r) but you will only find kiosk-style things there. It is often mentioned that the roads in Costa Rica are quite bad besides the main ones in the central valley. Be prepared that the road to the lodge is probably exactly this sort of bad road! But to lessen your fears: the road was not half as bad as we thought (altough there was a little bridge not far from the lodge that was a bit scary after 2 days of sometimes heavy rainfall) and the landscape was more than making up for it!

Originally we intended to stay in the Laguna del Lagarto lodge which is a bit further down the same road (and the same bridge) but the LdL lodge was fully booked at our time of travel so our travel agency booked us in the Pedacito de Cielo lodge. And how happy we were for this! I have to say we never went to the LdL lodge and therefore I can't (and won't) compare those two lodges. But with the Pedacito de Cielo lodge we really found our little piece of (the) sky.

Just a few meters off the dirt road (there is no traffic there whatsoever so noise is only an issue concerning the fauna) you arrive next to the central building which contains the kitchen, the laundry, the restaurant and probably the private quarters of the owner. Hugo, the local guide, is living with his mother and (10) siblings a bit further down the road towards Boca Tapada. Seldom we encountered a welcome so cordial. Don Marco (Tulio) came out of his kitchen and although his english was little and our spanish even less we instantly felt at home and as special, private guests. Helping him in the kitchen is his wife (?) and another man or the maid was always there if help was needed. This is no luxury resort with all the amenities some people need or look for during their holidays. there is no pool nor internet and especially the bathroom in the hut/cabin is rather basic (but it is a flushable toilet). The menu is short, you can choose from 2 different dishes if I recall correctly. On our first night Don marco made us the most delicious meal we had in the whole of Costa Rica! Don Marco is not a trained cook, all he knows he taught himself and he is constantly learning from cookery books. But he is creative, he uses many things from his garden and of course he asks his guests about their tatstes. My father was a cook while still working and he absolutely agrees on the high quaility of the food here. The restaurant has a nice overview of the river below and, even more interesting for us, to a dead tree just a few meters away were Hugo attaches fresh fruits, mostly green bananas, every morning. This here is bird-country so the fruits attract all sorts of beautiful birds. I am not a birder but all of us couldn't stop staring at heaps of Tucans, small parrots, pecker-types of birds, and and and..... right before our noses. But probably the most beautiful sight was that of up to 4 couples at the same time of the Great Green Macaw on and around a tree maybe 200 m away. We were told it's mating season and the birds certainly behaved like that - I never saw such playful animals in my life and it was pure joy watching and hearing them whispering sweet nothings (whispering? It was more a shouting I'd say!) towards eachother.
Entertainment here is limited to what nature offers but Don Marco and his crew, especially Hugo, help where they can to participate in this sort of entertainment. It's possible to go on a kayak or rubber boat trip with Hugo (I don't think it's possible to go alone) on the seemingly quite but fast flowing river or join him on several walks in the close-by rainforest. Hugo doesn't speak much english but he was always very helpful and with hands and spanglish I think we learned all we wanted to know.

The cabins/huts are made of wood and reminded me of the huts in the old wild west, at least what television and cinema taught me about it. They are basic but clean and we liked the interior, the beds and the table/chairs a lot. There is a balcony on each hut and we (hut no. 1) had a beautiful view over the river and the opposite waterside. There is no safety box in the rooms and the beds each had a new mosquito net over them. We had bats under the roof and I didn't know they are so noisy but we never felt molested by them in any way. This is nature, not a luxury holiday resort!
The whole property is surrounded by a huge garden with many (for us) exotic flowers and trees. It was fun just strolling in this garden for a while and Don Marco or his helpers where always there to ask for a name for a plant if needed.

We did spent 2 nights there and although this might be a bit short a time for some for such a remote place we never regreted it to have come here. On the contrary the Pedacito de Cieleo lodge was the most beautifiul place we've seen during our whole time in Costa Rica and both the patron Don Marco and the food he prepared was the best we had in this land so all travails in coming here were naught simply because of this little piece of sky.
We are no birders, as I said before and it certainly helps being one to enjoy this place but if you want to see and enjoy rural Costa Rica far from the usual inrush of tourists please come here, I'm sure you'll love it as much as we did!

  • Liked — Everything, especially the friendliness ot Don Marco and family.
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pedacito de Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedacito de Cielo

Address: Boca Tapada, San Carlos, San Carlos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pedacito de Cielo 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Pedacito De Cielo Costa Rica/San Carlos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pedacito de Cielo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.