We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best campsite!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keld Bunk Barn & Yurts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keld
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Keld Bunk Barn & Yurts
Save
You added Keld Bunk Barn & Yurts to your Saves list
Park House, Keld DL11 6 DZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Keld
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best campsite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Just got back from an amazing few days in Swaledale, we had only planned on stopping one night at this camp site before moving onto another, but the great location and fantastic food we got on our first evening made us change our minds and stay for a few more days. Was sad to leave this morning, we will definitely be back though as soon as possible. :O)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    17
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
49
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We where met by the owners parents quite early in the day whilst walking the coast to coast.

We where allowed in at 2'oclock in the afternoon and we where met with the nicest bunkbarn I have ever stayed at. With complementary tea and coffee.
We ordered food at the bunkbarn and the food was excellent. Good size portions at a great price!!

The bunkbarn is as nice as a top youth hostel and is a must for anybody on the c to c.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We spent 5 nights here in our tent and couldn't have asked for more. Lovely well run site with lots of lovely hot water for a shower and very clean facilities. It is a peaceful quiet site with friendly helpful owners who cook great food and deliver to your tent. Good food with a good view well done Ian & Michelle thanks for a most restful week.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Lovely setting, great walks, warm yurt, great food. BUT only 3 toilets and showers on site - 2 "postage stamp" size - not enough room to bend down and wash feet scenario. Camping barn cooking facilities poor. Improve the communal cooking area and toilet "block" and provide cutlery and crockery in yurts for self prep of "cold"meals (cooking not allowed in yurts) and I would be happy to visit again. It's also a campsite so think there were about 40 people on site at our visit .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Owner at Keld Bunk Barn & Yurts, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we were surprised that you chose to give us such a low rating as you seemed to enjoy most of the aspects of your stay.

We acknowledge that 2 of our showers are quite small, they are standard space saving showers. We are located in a National Park so planning permission for extensions is all but impossible. We have tried to make the most of the space that we have available, to avoid people having to to queue during busy times, and smaller showers was a compromise that we thought worth making. As you mention, there is a larger shower on site, if you weren't happy with the smaller ones.

The camping barn has a sink, toaster kettle and microwave, which is usually enough for most people staying on a campsite. Your review does not say what else you would like to be in there. We don't think that an oven would be appropriate and it would probably be a fire risk in a wooden barn.

We do not allow cooking in the yurts as I'm sure that you'll appreciate that the cooking smells would get into the tent's fabric.

We are glad that you enjoyed the meals that we prepared for you and would have been happy to lend you crockery and cutlery for your yurt had you asked.

As a final note to any future guests, if we can help in any way during your stay please let us know at the time. We always do our absolute best to resolve any issues that arise to ensure that everyone enjoys themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We've just come home from a three night stay in a yurt. A warm & friendly welcome from Michelle & Ian, then shown to our yurt. We were amazed by what greeted us, the yurt was spacious, clean & cosy. Comfortable beds with warm bedding, nice sofa & dining table, fresh milk & logs for the wood burner. We used the campers barn while there for cooking. Clean toilets & nice hot showers with no lack of hot water. We would recommend that you try the food on offer as we had two meals delivered to our yurt & the food was beautifully cooked. Our two dogs were warmly welcomed at the Bunk barn & Yurts & loved playing in the water next to the site. We can't recommend this place highly enough, especially if you're looking for peace & quiet! Thank you Michelle & Ian for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We're just back from a couple of nights stay. We've had a special time. A beautiful place, well run campsite with quality facilities. Food was good, watching the kids swimming at the waterfall, a hundred yards up the road, before breakfast was brilliant. Can't wait to get back up this summer and to booking a yurt !

Thank you Michelle and Ian

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed when walking the Coast-to-Coast path. A warm welcome from Michelle, then shown to our lovely yurt. Spacious, clean (even after the many muddy boots that must have been there before), comfortable beds with warm duvets, a sofa, tea/coffee making with fresh milk, dining table and chairs, and all beautifully decorated. Good heating too, with an easy to use log burner plus an electric fan heater. These dried our clothes overnight too. You have to pay a little extra for use of the electricty (for the light, kettle and fan heater) though there is also a kettle one can heat on the log burner. A good range of evening meals is offered, with drinks available too. Nice bacon baguette for breakfast with good coffee, all brought to the yurt. We also took the packed lunch on offer. All food reasonably priced. Your only other choice, other than bringing your own food to cook in the campers' kitchen, is the hotel 10 minutes walk down the road. Of course the yurt is posh camping, albeit with a wooden floor, so you have to use the communal showers and toilets; all neat and kept clean. No mobile phone coverage in Keld but you can use the owners' landline phone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Keld Bunk Barn & Yurts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keld Bunk Barn & Yurts

Address: Park House, Keld DL11 6 DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Keld
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Keld
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Keld Bunk Barn & Yurts Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keld Bunk Barn & Yurts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.