We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great alternative to UK Center Parcs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Center Parcs Het Heijderbos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Center Parcs Het Heijderbos to your Saves list
Center Parcs Het Heijderbos
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hommersumseweg 43, 6598 Heijen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heijen
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great alternative to UK Center Parcs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Recently returned from our second trip to this center parcs, and it was just as good second time round. We choose this one again due to the Jungle Dome which is a great feature for youngish children to go climbing around inside (though no good for babies). I would say that it is probably okay for 3 years and upwards. Our children are 3 and 6 years.

We got the ferry from Newcastle to Amsterdam overnight, and then drove here after spending a couple of nights in Amsterdam. It is about 2 hours drive on really easy motorways from Amsterdam so no hassle at all.

We went for 2 adjacent Eden VIP 2 bedroom villas as we were travelling with another family of four. The week before, a representative from center parcs rang and asked if we would like the dividing wall removed between the 2 villas. I didn't know this was an option, but it turned out to be great - effectively making a really large 4 bedroom villa with 2 living areas . The standard of accommodation for the VIP villas is very good (though no oven!) We enjoyed the jacuzzi bath and sauna, and they are located close by to the jungle dome and lake (some with views over the lake).

The aqua dome is exactly like the Nottingham one, as others have said, but it has a really scary (for me) white water rapid ride. My 6 year old loved it, but I was a bit scared of all the people going down at once and bashing into each other. I had a few bruises!

Also, take goggles or snorkel because there is a hidden away area (I don't think many people knew it was there) where you can see fishes under the water, though behind tanks.

We only ate out one evening as the food court/restaurant area is a bit like eating in a mall, so instead we went to the Pancake restaurant which is outside the main area by the smaller lake and it was great. We had some wonderful savoury pancakes, and the kids loved it.

The two 6 year olds did a couple of the children's activities and they really enjoyed them. I was a bit worried that it would all be in Dutch but there was a good mix of Dutch, German, English and some French children. The childcare assistants could speak all of the languages fluently (amazing), put them in groups, and there seemed no problem at all. Our two loved doing the circus performance - 2 hours practice in the creche, and then we got to watch them do a performance in the main market area. Really fantastic.

We got 5 vouchers per family free with our booking and these could be exchanged for activities, such as a children's sessions or bike hire, so we didn't pay any extra for things when we were there. I think that you get these vouchers ("toppings") if you book more than a few months in advance. You can only book the activities using these once you are on site.

Overall, this was a great value trip - cheaper than going to a UK center parc, even when factoring in the ferry crossing, and the kids thought that was a wonderful adventure too. Overall - highly recommended.

Room Tip: Eden VIP villas are great. Good standard of accommodation, jacuzzi, sauna, tv, dvd, fresh bread each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    101
    58
    24
    13
See reviews for
198
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
bishops stortford
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Having stayed at all of the uk center parcs and enjoyed them I took the plunge to venture further afield! Omg it was worth it. At around half the cost and with double the standards this place blew me away . They have literally thought of everything and its those extra small touches that made the stay so special . Helpfull staff and amazing facilities including the fastest center parcs rapids which are a particular highlight of mine!
Only one point let them down and that was the choice and standard of on sight food outlets . This is the only area they fail in when compared to there uk counterparts . The choice is limited has strange opening times and is of poor quality serving rather bland food . But otherwise skip the uk center parcs and head here! U won't be sorry!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Having tried Center Parcs de kempervennen last year, we plumped for Het Heijerbos this year as it had the fastest water ride in all the Center Parcs. The rapids certainly were fast and bumpy and great fun. In fact the aqua mondo was identical to Sherwood Forest but with slightly more extreme drops and slopes. If you have been to Nottingham you will recognise the dome here. Our teenagers enjoyed the rapids but with only one tube it got a little boring! It needs more to keep their interest. Even the jacuzzis were not fully working. It did have an underwater aquarium but no goggles or masks....unless you bought them. Clever. Or bring them with you!

As always the villa was an excellent base. Clean, spacious and with everything you could want to cook with...except no ovens in the Netherlands. We went for a premium villa and this seems great value, especially when compared to English Center Parcs. A third of the price in fact! How can you not justify the trip. We paid for top cabins and buffets on the North Sea Ferry and it still came out at less than half the price in England.

So, what is different here? The jungle dome is great for younger ones. The lake has swans that you can pedal around. There are a wider variety of cycles for hire including one that seats 8 people like an octopus that has to be seen to believed. Finally there are nice little activities, including trampolines and a tired looking crazy golf. However, it fits the Center Parcs mould nicely with all the usual bits and pieces that we know and love.

Food wise, the supermarket and bakery were wonderful and well priced. Fresh bread for breakfast has become a treat of the holiday! However, a disappointing and expensive meal in the market dome let us down. It lacked customer service and pazazz. Pizza and pasta was good food but overpriced. We like our one meal out but always feel a bit cheated at Center Parcs. The good always outweighs the bad though and we will be back again next year....at another Parc and I know we will enjoy it again.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We booked a week at the end of August 2011 as it was a special offer and as other reviewers mentioned it is much cheaper than UK parks, during school holidays it was less than £1200 for a week including crossing and petrol, whereas in the UK the same week would cost us £1700+. We had their top accommodation Eden VIP, it was fresh, modern, very spacious and very well equipped. We had fresh bread delivered to our door every morning, very nice touch, but toward the end of the stay it was a bit too much as we could not eat it all. I would not recommend any of the restaurants on site - the quality of the food was quite poor and the prices too high. The supermarket on site is a much better option and with the villas well equipped, it is easy to create simple family meals. As in any of the Center Parcs, the main attraction was the pool, but this park also has a Jungle Dome with tropical plants and giant climbing frames, for our kids this was the best attraction of them all, we spent hours in there. Unlike UK parks, we did not need to book activities in advance and were able to book them on the day if we felt like it, this removed the pressure and made our holiday much more relaxed. Surprisingly for the time of year it did not feel crowded, even in the pool. It is a very long drive, but is worth it, we would definitely come again.

Room Tip: Go for Eden or Eden VIP villas they are bigger and more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I visited this Center Parc last week arriving for five days on the 27th October. My party was my wife, eldest son, and two grand daughters 11 and six years. We last stayed at this park in the early 1980's when both our sons were young. It was much cheaper to book a park in Holland for five people a delux cottage for less than £500. The tunnel was £100 and fuel aboiut £150. Much cheaper than the UK, and the young ones get to see europe. The park has not changed much during the last few years, but it is still a great break for children. They loved the swimming pool, and all the other activities. They had us in the pool twice a day. We only had one evening meal in the main self service cafe called the Market. It was OK but I would suggest very expensive, and thats with the children eat free. Over 70 euro, not including drinks.
The supermarket on site is good and has a good choice, also foods that we do not see in England. Some very nice beers. The cottage was well equipped, and clean. What shocked us was the lack of noise during the night. Super we live in south London and near the Hearthrow flightpath. It was difficult to wake up in the morning, and we never saw the two girls till at least 10am. Oh yes the Pancake house was a rip off poor pancakes and very very expensive. We had some at the Cite De Europe as we arrived back early in France. Four euros each, and covered in cream fruit etc. They were 10 euros in the parc. That said go a great holiday. We saw no flies, maybe the other reports were at a time when they were all breeding. I am not a fisherman but we saw a man catch a massive carp in the lake, so if you like that it seems a good place. It is a long drive, it did not take me long to get to the tunnel one hour, but the drive up into Belgium then Holland was a long run, but the roads are good and fast, stopped for lunch in a motorway service area in Belgium what a change from the UK, super food and cheap. Will certainly go again but will go for a VIP villa.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Accommodation
We stayed in a two bedroom VIP bungalow which was lovely. The house was clean on arrival, and had everything we needed for a base for our holiday. The Welcome Pack was also a nice touch, although we only found the pack of dishwasher tablets and cloths on the day we came home! The outside space was nice, with good quality garden furniture and a good barbecue.

Market Dome
The Aqua Mundo was great - lots of swimming fun. It did get slightly rough with some of the groups of young people who were either there as groups or as day visitors. The restaurants were all nice with a fair selection of menus, if a little pricey. We ate at the Pizza and Pasta (nice but a lot of flies which kind of put me off), the Grand Cafe and at the buffet. Would recommend them all. The evening entertainment team were also good and we enjoyed the entertainment that we provided. The bowling alley was good too, and the Jungle Dome was fantastic.

Activities for children
We took our just under 2 year old to two activities in the Kid's Club and she had a great time at both. If we're back there again we will certainly book in for more of these. The Kid's Club building itself was fantastic - so many toys to play with and such a bright and flexible room. The staff were also great in there too.

Nearby
We spent a day at Efteling - have a look at separate reviews on that if you're interested, but it was well worth the trip of an hour and a half. We also went to Floriade which I would say is an absolute must do if you're there this summer.

Overall a great holiday in a quiet and peaceful location. Turning the light off at night plunged you into complete darkness and silence which was great to rest and recharge. Also, as typical English speaking travellers who don't have any Dutch language skills we found that not only did everyone speak fantastic English, but they were always willing to use it and even to the point of offering us the evening performances in English!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Having read other reviews I felt I really had to reply. This was our sixth visit to this park in ten years. We stayed in a two bedroom comfort villa which was clean and comfortable and well kitted out with everything you would need.The previous reviewer who stayed in a 8-person villa should read the accomodation info more carefully and make sure they pick a villa with a dishwasher next time. The Aqua Munda and Jungle Dome are excellent (and free !)
Lots to do for all ages .Also great cycling outside the confines of the park in the adjoining forest to Heijen, Gennepp and Ottersum(which has a lovely ice-cream parlour-well worth a visit!)The Sports Cafe/Bar definately needs updating and the evening entertainment in the Market Dome was not always to our taste.Supermarket on site had everything you would need (and more) and was reasonably priced if you didn't want to travel the five minute car journey to the two supermarkets in Gennepp which were slightly cheaper.Our eldest son loves fishing and this was one of the reasons we returned to this park. However recent building work over the lake seems to have had a negative impact on the fish population- much to his disappointment. Lots to do outside park -Liberty Park museum and Klim Kong ZipWire Park in Overloon definately worth visiting and excellent value. Another favourite trip of ours is to Moviepark in Germany (about a forty minute drive away) a great theme park(previously run by Warner Brothers) and according to our two very discerning teenagers as good if not better than Disneyland Paris! Only downside for us was the fact that the Sports Bar/Cafe did not stay open in the evening so we were unable to enjoy a drink sitting outside overlooking the lake and take advantage of the good weather.(I think it may open longer later in the season but we were there first fortnight in July when it would have been good to enjoy the long summer evenings). I agree there did seem to be a problem with flies especially around the Grill Restaurant but do remember you are staying in a forest beside a lake and this probably has an impact. This was probably the last holiday my eldest son will take with us before heading off with his friends next year so we let our boys pick where they wanted to go and it was an overwhelming" yes" vote for Het Heijderbos!We have done various holidays with our children in the past including Keycamp and foreign sun holidays and my husband and I have travelled widely and yet this is still probably one of f avourite destinations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Center Parcs Het Heijderbos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Het Heijderbos

Address: Hommersumseweg 43, 6598 Heijen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Heijen
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heijen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Center Parcs Het Heijderbos 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Center Parcs Het Heijderbos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Center Parc Het Heijderbos Hotel Venlo
Center Parc Het Heijderbos Venlo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Center Parcs Het Heijderbos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.