We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Domaine St George” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B & B in Limoux at Domaine St George

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added B & B in Limoux at Domaine St George to your Saves list
B & B in Limoux at Domaine St George
Route de Malras, 11300 Limoux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Limoux
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Our stay at Domaine St George”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I want to thank Maureen and John for the warm, welcoming and fantastic stay! We stayed three nights, along with our friends, and shared the Orchid suite. We had beautifully decorated rooms, which included robes, slippers, tea and biscuits, and a bottle of wine and a safe. The bed was very comfortable!
Breakfasts were incredible and included fresh baked scones made with cheese and rosemary, cheeses, muffins, soup, crepes, fresh eggs from their chickens, fresh orange juice, pain au chocolate, ham, and the most incredible roasted tomatoes ever! We all raved about the tomatoes, which were from their garden, and thankfully we got to have them every day!
Just when I thought it couldn't get any better, Maureen indicated she could make dinner one night. It took us less than 1 second to say yes! We started with canapes by the pool. They were unbelievablly delicious. For dinner, we ate on the patio and enjoyed a wonderful dinner of wines, duck,lentils, green beans and tomatoes!
The area was beautiful and we enjoyed a hike to Montsegur, the market at Mirepoix, the wineries suggested by John and Maureen and our drive around Minerve! The Tour de France went through Limoux each of the last two years. It was cool while we were there, but we sat out by the pool to enjoy the beautiful sunsets.
This B and B exceeded our expectations and I wouldn't hesitate to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
51
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at Domaine St George for 3 nights. We found John and Maureen to be excellent hosts. Maureen's breakfasts were amazing. Make sure you have a good appetite at breakfast time. We agree with other reviews and their positive comments. This place is definitely value for money and we would recommend to all fellow travellers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My friend and I returned from France last week; we stayed at Domaine St. George for 7 nights. I totally agree with all of the positive comments that other people have made in their reviews. Maureen and John are exceptional in the way that they provide a warm and welcoming place to stay. They are extremely friendly and helpful; they gave us information about the local area and tips about good places to visit (of which there are many - the area is beautiful).

The B&B is run to a very high standard; slippers, dressing gown and a welcoming bottle of wine are just a few of the extras that are provided in the comfortable bedrooms. The breakfasts are delicious and unique; something different every day!

Maureen & John provide run a very comfortable B&B at very reasonable prices. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Domaine St George for 4 nights and enjoyed every moment. John and Maureen were very welcoming and they run a very comfortable and clean B&B while also offering outstanding value. They work hard to make the Domaine a success and it shows. The breakfasts are outstanding, way beyond the standard "continental breakfast" fare. The room we stayed in (the Jasmine) was very comfortable and decorated in (I imagine) a traditional French country-style. Sky TV and an excellent (powerful!) shower in the en suite were nice features. Outside, a very nice swimming pool, lounge area and barbecue rounded off the overall package. Overall, this is a great place for couples and groups alike and I would have no hesitation recommending to others.

The Domaine is located about 5 mins drive from Limoux which offers a good selection of bars, cafes and mid-priced restaurants most of which are located In the town square. Limoux doesn't pretend to be the centre of the universe but it's a nice place to spend a relaxing few days. The excellent French road system makes Limoux a good base for striking off to Carcassone (20 mins), Perpignan (about an hour and a half) and the other attractions of Languedoc/Roussilion - Narbonne Plage and Pezenas were particular highlights.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We can't write highly enough about this beautifully run B&B. There is nothing negative to say, and our stay was superb. Breakfasts are a delicious and shared at a communal table with easy conversation among the guests. Our room was spacious with a very large, modern bathroom and the views from our windows were fantastic. John and Maureen, the perfect hosts, gave us very good restaurant tips, which also enhanced our stay in Limoux.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

If you are heading for this part of France, don't even think of staying anywhere else. My Mum and I have just spent four nights at this delightful B&B, and we were totally charmed from the moment we arrived and were shown by John to our lovely rooms (Orchid Suite).
John and Maureen are the perfect hosts, and they have managed to combine a sense of luxury with the warmest welcome imaginable. The decor of our rooms was sumptuous, completed with total attention to detail, from fresh roses to complimentary wine, a whole host of toiletries, bathrobes and slippers etc etc.
Breakfasts are equally sumptuous, including fresh fruit, interesting local produce (yoghurts, ham, bread etc), a different cooked element every day, and much more. On sunny days, guests gather around the large table on the terrace for breakfast and banter with their hosts.
The Domaine St Georges also has a beautifully sited swimming pool, with views over the surrounding vineyards, and an adjacent outdoor dining area. A kitchen is put at the disposal of guests.
When it comes to planning outings, restaurants etc, John is a mine of information. Among other things, he went to the trouble of coming up with suggestions of Cathar castles that would be manageable for my 83-year-old Mum.
I loved everything about this B&B, but perhaps above all the genuine warmth of John and Maureen, who always seem to have time for their guests. Hard to imagine a more perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: Our rooms in the Orchid Suite were very self-contained and would be perfect for a family with teenag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We altered our travel plans slightly to stay at this lovely B&B when we saw the Tripadvisor ratings and are so glad we did. One of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed in, it was like a taste of home. The restored vineyard accommodation in the heart of the vineyards was a perfect base for an exploration of the area. We only wish we could have stayed longer. John & Maureen are the perfect hosts and welcome you with wine, nibbles and delightful conversation! Maureen's breakfasts (something different each day) were the best we had our entire two month visit to Europe. If your travel takes you in the vincinity of Limoux, be sure to stay at Domaine St George. We certainly will again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B & B in Limoux at Domaine St George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B in Limoux at Domaine St George

Address: Route de Malras, 11300 Limoux, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Aude > Limoux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Limoux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domaine St George is a luxurious chambre d'hote located amongst vineyards just outside the market town of Limoux. All bedrooms are en-suite and individually decorated with traditional French furniture. All rooms have personal touches and every effort is made to help guests feel welcome. They have the use of the solar-heated 9 metre pool, shady summer house, own gas BBQ and summer kitchen. The house is not for smokers. There is secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your B & B in Limoux at Domaine St George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b & b In Limoux At Domaine St George Hotel Limoux
Bed And Breakfast In Limoux At Domaine St George
Domaine St George Limoux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B & B in Limoux at Domaine St George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.