We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine French Fayre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Moderne & Pigeon Restaurant - CLOSED

Hotel Moderne & Pigeon Restaurant
Place du General Leclerc, 11300 Limoux, France
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This is a highly rated, by local standards, restaurant in a good hotel in Limoux France. We had a terrible experience - the waiters actually yelled at us for suggesting the cheese was off. The only bad meal in 2 weeks of wonderful French meals.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Fine French Fayre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My partner and I enjoyed an excellent lunch at this restaurant during a day spent in Limoux. We ate in the bistro annexe, in the shade, on a sunny day. Our waitress was a bit brusque, she probably knew that the place would be full within half an hour of opening (which it was) so there would be a hard shift ahead. The food served was very good. Our main, which was a lamb shank cassoulet, was sublime, so rich and tasty. Desserts were imaginatively presented. A little off the beaten track but a gem of a place!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Good bistro annexe to Moderne et Pigeon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We went to the Bisto annexe. Generally very good - high quality of food for the price. We had excellent pate for starter. Main course of poulet milanese was good (except with frites rather than the advertised pasta......if you like "pollo milanese", you will know how well it goes with pasta and tomato sauce!). Duck was also very tasty. A bargain for the blanquete de Limoux at something like 4 euros a glass. We were the only people in there on a mid week evening, and the main restaurant was also virtually empty......but that didn't detract from the experience.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, UK
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Extraordinary value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Stepping into the Hotel Moderne & Pigeon is like stepping back in time - in some ways. I'm told that the bedrooms (not tested) have been updated and updated well, but the restaurant and bistro very consciously hark back to a France I recall, many years ago. However, where you really step back in time is in the food - traditional dishes, cooked with great skill, and certainly with the prices. In the bistro in particular you'll eat very well for a very small amount of money - a three course lunch for two with a bottle of the local fizz set us back a magnificent £51. It included a cassoulet of the sort that could only have been made in house and that filled us for the rest of the day, and a dessert that (unusually) I wanted rather than ate because it was there. All this in interesting surroundings, in a town well worth the visit, and on a day when we really enjoyed ourselves despite glowering clouds. Service was extremely good. Especially since they had a very large party in - usually fateful for the ordinary diner. We would go back - and will go back.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Elegant and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

The chef is striving for a Michelin star, so now is the time to eat at this restaurant. We chose the menu for 38 euros and everything on it was fresh, interesting, and delicious. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Try out their Bistro for delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We tried the annexe bistro beside the main restaurant and the meal was delightful. Week day lunch times they offer a set 3 course meal for 18 euros, it was a delight. Very fresh and tasty food for a fraction of the price compared to the main restaurant. Wines were reasonably priced. Service was very good and there was no pressure to leave, highly recommend a stop here.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Moderne & Pigeon Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Moderne & Pigeon Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.