We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't tell everyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dionysos Seaside Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dionysos Seaside Resort to your Saves list
Dionysos Seaside Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mylopotas Beach | Ios, Milopotas 84001, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Milopotas
Alton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't tell everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just had 7 wonderful nights in the Dionysos, wonderful location, extremely helpful staff who cannot do enough for guests. The hotel restaurant /bar by the pool is sighted just right with great menus. The rooms are light and airy with individual balconies/patios. nice and relaxing atmosphere even with wedding reception at the Far Out by the beach one night. We definitely intend to return in he future for another 'unwind session'.

Room Tip: ground floor facing the pool give excellent sea and sun set views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    58
    12
    8
    1
See reviews for
35
96
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights while we were exploring Ios. The hotel is in a perfect location set a couple of minutes walk from the beach, down a little side road. Because it is not on the main road there is no traffic noise or bother from the partying that goes on in Ios but it is close enough to the beach/far our beach club to easily wander there when desired!

Just a 3-4 minute walk out to the main road and to the left is where the local bus leaves from. It costs 1 euro 80 cents per person and this bus takes you to the port or into the town. Very handy!

The hotel itself has a gorgeous pool area and restaurant. We were able to eat our breakfast every morning without being bothered by too many flies and didn't see any wasps. The breakfast included a wide spread and everything was delicious. Nothing better than getting up in the morning and eating in such a gorgeous location next to the pool!!

The rooms are reasonably basic and I agree with previous reviews that the beds are quite hard and bathrooms small/basic. We did have a smelly bathroom when we first got there due to some plumbing issues however they hotel were quickly working on this and it improved immensely over our stay! If you go on holiday to spend a lot of time in your room then this hotel may not be the best choice for you, however if you are usually out of the hotel having a good time and exploring then the basic room doesn't really matter!!

There was free wifi throughout the hotel which was great for keeping in touch with home.

Despite previous reviews we found the reception staff to be particularly accommodating giving us maps of the island and pointing out places to go. They also arranged an ATV for us and arranged for our laundry to be washed off-site. We couldn't have asked for anything more and would definitely stay here again if we were lucky enough to return to Ios one day

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our stay here was perfect bar a few small issues. Absolutely beautiful place, fabulous pool and service, and a breakfast for champions! The food was delicious and very reasonably priced. The place was nice and quiet, which made for great relaxing and a nice break away from the party festivities down the road.
Only two small things which were a bit of a hassle. At the time the Island has just experienced a power black-out the week before, and were apparently still having troubles so our aircon would turn on and off during the night which was noisy. Also the wifi didn't work very well either. We also didn't realise we hadn't already been charged for the accommodation until we went to check out, which was a surprise but was our fault entirely for not reading the original email properly.
Over all it was one of the nicest places I've stayed and the staff were very friendly, professional, and made you feel at home!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Dionysos is an amazing hotel, great facilities, beautiful pool and bar area, rooms are great, very clean. Staff go above and beyond for the guests and are all lovely! Will definitely recommend and will definitely stay here again! Location is great, the beach is on your door step and only a few minutes walk to bursting up bars and resturants. Loved every second!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Having read some of the negative reviews on Trip Advisor prior to our stay, we were mildly apprehensive about what to expect from this hotel because people seem to either love it or loath it! As usual, I think, it's mostly about expectation.

We booked the Dionysos a few months before our trip to the Cyclades and managed to secure an excellent nightly rate (almost half the usual price.) It was actually the cheapest accommodation we stayed in and in many ways surpassed some of the more expensive hotels..

Firstly, its location is wonderful, as are the grounds and pool area. I have honestly never experienced such good quality sunbeds outside of a five-star hotel. Although there is a wasp problem at this time of year (mid-August) we found it to be the same all over the island and not just limited to the hotel restaurant. Breakfast was lovely, with local, home-made delicacies and plenty of choice. We ate a few times in the restaurant and the food was always excellently prepared and presented and relatively inexpensive.

Many people have complained about hard beds and older-style bathrooms. Yes, the mattresses are firm (although I actually prefer that to a soft, saggy one) and the bathrooms aren't all marble and rainforest showers... but then you don't get luxury for nothing and compared to many other hotels in the Cyclades, the Dionysos represents extremely good value for money.

The rooms might be a little basic but they're comfortable and clean and if I had to make the choice between a luxurious room and an amazing pool area and restaurant, I'd go for the latter any day! That being said, I think if the rooms were updated to the standard of the public areas, this hotel could be absolutely perfect.

Lastly, as always, the hardworking and professional staff also played a huge part in making this a special place and we would certainly recommend it as a great base on Ios.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room overlooking the pool. If possible, request a pool rather than a garden vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel at a great rate of 44 pounds a night, usually it's at least a 100. Even at this price, the room was too basic with very uncomfortable twin beds pushed together being a 'superior double'. Large double doors linked to the room next door. Every sound carried. The shower curtain was spring loaded and at a touch would fall and smack you on the head (bit of comic relief I guess). Mirror in the bathroom was also cracked. I asked if we could move to a room with an actual double bed, none was available, the chap I spoke to was also quite rude about it. The breakfast was poor, and impossible to eat anyway without being attacked by wasps and flies. These were never a problem at any of the other restaurants. Honestly the worst hotel experience I have ever had, with much more budget hotels/hostels easily beating it for comfort, class and character.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Full honest review: nice and close to the beach, and the pool area is amazing. Pool is refreshing and the beds are comfortable. Food was pretty good although the prices were high and the flies and bees are extremely bad while trying to eat. Drinks are typically over priced. Free breakfast consisted of greasy bacon, little hot dog weiners (???), not cooked scrambled eggs and fruit and yogurt. The rooms are okay - beds are extremely hard and uncomfortable, plus the "duvet" is basically a plastic tablecloth it seems. Bathrooms smell because of poor plumbing, they only cleaned our room once out of the three days. We had some insects in our room which made our visit start horrible because we hate spiders. Honestly we came from a hotel that we just wanted to stay in all day to this hotel where we just wanted to not be anywhere near our room. Decent price and we booked based on these reviews on tripadvisor but we were really disappointed and counting down the days till we checked out!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dionysos Seaside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dionysos Seaside Resort

Address: Mylopotas Beach | Ios, Milopotas 84001, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Ios > Milopotas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Milopotas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dionysos Seaside Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter a sublime setting, ideal for holidays and romantic getaways.Overlooking the majestic Mylopotas Beach, Dionysos beach resort is one of the most enchanting 4 star sea side resorts in Ios and a cozy Greek Island family hotel, also ideal for anyone seeking for a fun and relaxing holiday.The chic and simple Aegean architecture of this 4 star beach hotel in Mylopotas is merely exceptional and the sea view, as the sun caresses the golden Mylopotas Beach, will capture your senses.Fill your vacation with unforgettable moments of relaxation in Dionysos 4 star beach hotel in Mylopotas Beach on Ios, Greece.The warm atmosphere, the elegantly comfortable rooms, the colorful gardens and the grandiose swimming pool make this beautiful 4 star Beach resort on the popular Ios Island in Cyclades, Greece one of the prettiest family hotels in the Greek Islands.Mylopotas Beach in Ios is a must amongst the island's visitors.Guests can enjoy their drinks by the picturesque pool of the hotel as they gaze away at the tranquil sea view of the gorgeous setting of Ios, Cyclades, Greece.Maintaining a balance between an intimate island family hotel and a glamorous sea side resort in Ios, Dionysos beach hotel in Mylopotas is a true haven.If what you are looking for is a beach resort set in the most beautiful location while offering high quality service and personal care to all your needs, welcome to Dionysos hotel... your island-vacation dreams are about to come true! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dionysos Seaside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dionysos Seaside Hotel Milopotas
Dionysos Hotel Ios
Dionysos Seaside Resort Ios, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dionysos Seaside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.