We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“: clean, comfortable, family friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kolping Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kolping Hotel to your Saves list
Kolping Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fo u. 120, Alsopahok 8394, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alsopahok
Samorin, Slovakia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“: clean, comfortable, family friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Bit overpriced but good services and clean rooms. Very friendly to small children and kind people in the whole area. Good ideas for in and outside activities for kids. Tasty food for breakfast and diner. Try the adult only area with pool and sauna area. Great time for the whole family.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KolpingHotel_Hungary, Manager at Kolping Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your review. We were really happy to read that you were so satisfied with our services. We look forward to meeting you again! Your Kolping Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    22
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
95
Couples
0
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I travel a lot and stay in various hotels in various countries very frequently. Kolping Hotel at Lake Balaton sets the standard for all hotels in the area, and is by far the best hotel I've stayed in in Hungary.
Most of the hotel has been refurbished and well conceived.
The service of the staff was excellent, well above its peers in the industry.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough for families that want to have some time with their children, whilst having the option to have some time to themselves as well.
Well done Kolping Staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in House Ulrich, an although I cannot comment on other apartments, this was great and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KolpingHotel_Hungary, Manager at Kolping Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your review. We are happy that you liked our refurbished rooms! We wanted to make something very special for families, and it is good to hear if it is succeeded. We look forward to meeting you and your family again! Your Kolping Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I spent two days in the hotel because of a congress. We were not accomodated in the main buildings but in a separate house (so called BioHouse). During my stay only the main swiming pool was avaible all other wellness attractions were under construction. The biohouse itself is very spacious, my only problem was that the whole building was made out of wood so when someone moved everything cracked.

Overall the hotel is average and if you compare with its prices it's surely overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KolpingHotel_Hungary, Manager at Kolping Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of your stay. We were sorry to read, that you were not completely satisfied with our services. During the registration process you had the chance to choose from several room types, among them our refurbished rooms and family apartments. I am sorry that the biohouse, you have chosen did not meet your prior expectations. Unfortunately during your stay our family aqualand was indeed closed because of a reconstruction, which ended last week. I hope you visit us some time later, and try our refurbished rooms or family apartments and our reopened family aqualand. I am sure, that you will have a better impression. We look forward to meeting you again! Your Kolping Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Great for all ages from infant all the way to teenager. Lovely colurful rooms, several indoor and outdoor playgrounds, programmes for all ages (from arts to archery, and from child puppet shows to go cart and adventure park.). Safe premises where you can let your kids wonder around on their own. Great cuisine and very-very friendly staff. Saunas at all levels from baby all the way to adult. Relaxation area for adults (no kids). Several indoor and outdoor pools, bars and restaurants. Situated on a lovely hillside with a garden full of flowers. We have travelled there every year since the kids were born, and they never want to miss it, although the oldest is 10 yrs old.

Room Tip: Chose the Bio Houses for more privacy and your own "lawn".
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KolpingHotel_Hungary, Manager at Kolping Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your review, and of course for visiting us from year to year again. We look forward to meeting you and your family again! Your Kolping Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankt Polten, Austria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was there with my wife and three years old daughter. The structure for families is just perfect. Everything were planned for the small people. There is an area where kids can stay while the parents can enjoy the pools or just relax in other areas of the resort. This area looks like a school class with at least one or three people taking care of them, by the way, very nice people. They keep your phone number in case the kid asks for the parents or same issue come up.
My daughter just love it.
The restaurant (half board included) is excellent. The apartments, although the one we stayed was recently renoveted, just excellent.
The fou days we spent there were just perfect. We will be back again. That´s for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KolpingHotel_Hungary, General Manager at Kolping Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your very positive review. We were really happy to read, that you were so satisfied with these 4 days spent in our hotel. We look forward to meeting you again in Boboland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed the 3 nights we spent at the Kolping. Travelling with a 3 year old and a 9 month old is challenging but the facilities available at this hotel are excellent. We stayed in a family room which is essentially a very large room sub divided. The kids section had everything we needed and the adults room has a kitchenette with a fridge and microwave. A kettle would be a good addition. Our room was in Erszabet Haus, about a 3 minute walk to Boboland and the restaurant, a further 5 minutes to the wellness area. We found the food good with a good selection for both children and adults. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our 3 year old loved Boboland and the girls working there! I look forward to returning soon to see the renovations to the family wellness. The adult only section is beautiful, very clean and very quiet. My husband had a massage which he said was excellent, very relaxing. Overall, a great family break!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KolpingHotel_Hungary, General Manager at Kolping Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your very positive feedback, it was really nice to see how much you enjoyed your family vacation in Boboland. We look forward to seeing you and your family again!

Your Kolping Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We spent 2 days in this hotel. arrived there with high expectations which was build up by their homepage/and photos. All of the photos was taken in the new wellness part, which is only available without kids. Of course we were lucky enough to get a room in Istvan house - which had old, used furniture. The positive side was, that the room was spacious.

http://www.kolping.hotel.hu/kepek-kolping-hotel/40

When we arrived to the kids wellness area, we were shocked.
'85 style design, which needs: RENEWAL. Holes on the celling, sand in the pool - which supposed to be very clean as small children should use it.

The childcare is very well advertised but in reality the animators were not taking care of the children but fixing the designs on the wall - rarely you could find any children without their parents. Which is very sad.. as this was our only opportunity to use the adults wellness area.
Which we could not as we did not dare to leave our child there.

We had to walk around 15 minutes to get to the wellness area and the corridors were not well heated.

We tried to negotiate the price - as this service is overpriced with at least 60%. They gave us 10% discount and acknowledged that the children wellness area needs refurbishing.

We travelled for 2.5 hour to get to the place, but if we would have been without our son - we would have left the place immediately.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KolpingHotel_Hungary, General Manager at Kolping Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of your stay. We are really sorry, that our services did not meet your prior expectations, and you had to leave our hotel disappointed. Now let me respond to your comments in details.

We find it very important to inform our guests properly about all our services, therefore we have a detailed description on our homepage of what we have, and also several photos and a virtual tour that show exactly how our hotel looks like. It is also true to our wellness area. The gallery you have linked here really contains only photos of our adult only wellness area, because our photos are grouped according to themes. But on the very same page you can find 20 more galleries, among them one called “Splashing fun”, where you can find several photos of our indoor pool area, too. What more, in our virtual tour you can walk around the hotel (also the wellness area and all of our rooms), and look around as if you were already here in reality.

Anyway, we are planning a complete reconstruction in our family aqualand and wellness centre this year, which we have already started with the reconstruction of the roof and will continue this March. So the reason why the roof looks like on the photos you have taken, is that it is currently under renovation, and not because it is in such a bad condition.

We are really sorry, that you were not satisfied with the room you had. 2 out of our 4 buildings have been completely refurbished and 1 of them partly, so all of our unique family apartments and most of our rooms have brand new furniture already, and we are planning the reopening of our completely renovated 4th building this summer. As almost all of our rooms were already booked, and you were calling us only on your day of arrival, we had no other free rooms, than the one you stayed at, which has not been refurbished yet. Although they fulfil all criteria of a 4-star-hotel room according to the unified hotel rating system of European Hotelstars Union, we guaranteed you 2500 Ft discount/night already at booking and early check-in and late check-out without any extra costs.

When you were complaining here at the reception, we offered you the following choices: we give you a discount of 10% more, upgrade you to one of our suites for a minimal extra fee, or you can leave the hotel without paying anything for the room and services you used until that time. You have accepted the discount and decided to stay.

Regarding the childcare, we offer free child supervision 9 hours a day all year round, which is provided in no other Hungarian hotels at the time. But it is of course not compulsory, therefore most of the parents play together with their children in Boboland, so it could happen, that our kindergarten teachers had no supervised children at the time you were there. But I am sure, that in case you have told them that you want to leave your child there, they would take care of him gladly.

I hope that despite your negative experiences, your child had fun staying in Boboland, and you will give us a second chance to show you that we can provide high quality services. See you after the reconstruction of our family aqualand again in one of our brand new rooms or family apartments!

Your Kolping Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kolping Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolping Hotel

Address: Fo u. 120, Alsopahok 8394, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Western Transdanubia > Zala County > Alsopahok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alsopahok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kolping Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a place where hippos turn up unexpectedly, zeppelins take off from the basement, messages are spiralling on the walls and petrol stations for little scooters pop up on the corridors. This place is Hotel Kolping, in the Hungarian countryside. The hotel, where 18 years of development has been based on families' needs. The hotel, that has become known for its child friendly services as well as plenty of ways for adults to relax. Friendly, professional staff, specific architectural solutions and family based services gurantee unforgettable holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kolping Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kolping Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.