We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget stay with awesome views and good breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goulielmos Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Goulielmos Hotel to your Saves list
Goulielmos Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akrotiri 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Akrotiri
SF Bay Area, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Budget stay with awesome views and good breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was our first hotel in Greece. We tried not to spend too much, yet have decent accommodations that meet our travel plans for the days of stay. Here are the impressions:

Location: The hotel is close to Akrotiri, which is a smaller village that is less touristy. Yet one can walk to beaches on two sides of the island, including the famous Red Beach. It is a nice walk through vineyards (mostly), and you can visit the ancient excavation site too. The only negative is the typical in Greece absence of sidewalks, so a walk to the Akrotiri center is a bit uncomfortable, with cars passing close by. The nearest beach is down below, so it is a workout to get back, but that's pretty much everywhere on Santorini except Perissa (where the beach is really nice, by the way!). There are less people, no tourist crowds, so it is nice this way. But if you want to experience that as well, then it is better to split your stay and move to Fira, Immerovigli, or Oia for half the stay.
Accommodations: a small room that is not that small, actually, by European standards. Pretty basic set up. They should go easy on "starching" the bed linens - they are almost hard - but clean. Another advice would be to fix little things like squeaking doors, windows, set up a keyless lock from inside (a common omission in Greece - you need the key inside too!), and minor other things. Otherwise it is good, and the AC works too :). The view is fantastic! That alone would cost you double in Oia.
Other: Their breakfast is very good. They really nailed the omelet! :) There are fruit, yogurt, drinks, cereals, baked stuff, and more. Try the grape jam! The two sisters and their father, who manage the property are very friendly and nice. They speak decent English, albeit with a heavy accent. You can arrange for an airport pick up. There's a bus stop right across, and a bus schedule is available. The direct bus is to Fira. One bus change will get you mostly anywhere on the island. You can also rent an ATV - it looks like fun, although it may be a scary ride, if you go to Oia.
Overall, I was pretty happy with this hotel, and I would recommend it to anyone desiring a quieter cheaper place with an awesome view and away from tourist crowds.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view (some face the other side). No elevators to the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    11
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was our first hotel in Greece. We tried not to spend too much, yet have decent accommodations that meet our travel plans for the days of stay. Here are the impressions:

Location: The hotel is close to Akrotiri, which is a smaller village that is less touristy. Yet one can walk to beaches on two sides of the island, including the famous Red Beach. It is a nice walk through vineyards (mostly), and you can visit the ancient excavation site too. The only negative is the typical in Greece absence of sidewalks, so a walk to the Akrotiri center is a bit uncomfortable, with cars passing close by. The nearest beach is down below, so it is a workout to get back, but that's pretty much everywhere on Santorini except Perissa (where the beach is really nice, by the way!). There are less people, no tourist crowds, so it is nice this way. But if you want to experience that as well, then it is better to split your stay and move to Fira, Immerovigli, or Oia for half the stay.
Accommodations: a small room that is not that small, actually, by European standards. Pretty basic set up. They should go easy on "starching" the bed linens - they are almost hard - but clean. Another advice would be to fix little things like squeaking doors, windows, set up a keyless lock from inside (a common omission in Greece - you need the key inside too!), and minor other things. Otherwise it is good, and the AC works too :). The view is fantastic! That alone would cost you double in Oia.
Other: Their breakfast is very good. They really nailed the omelet! :) There are fruit, yogurt, drinks, cereals, baked stuff, and more. Try the grape jam! The two sisters and their father, who manage the property are very friendly and nice. They speak decent English, albeit with a heavy accent. You can arrange for an airport pick up. There's a bus stop right across, and a bus schedule is available. The direct bus is to Fira. One bus change will get you mostly anywhere on the island. You can also rent an ATV - it looks like fun, although it may be a scary ride, if you go to Oia.
Overall, I was pretty happy with this hotel, and I would recommend it to anyone desiring a quieter cheaper place with an awesome view and away from tourist crowds.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have views (facing back hillside). Be sure to ask. Second floor has no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel was a really budget place for travellers. Its location is quiet and scenic, but dont stay here if you really want to hang around Fira or Oia, where the main tourist spots and town centre are. This hotel is rather out of the way and if you wish to stay here, have a rented car to travel up and down the island.
The rooms and bathrooms are really basic so dont expect much from this hotel. The rooms are clean and beds are somewhat comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We arrived at 2 am and the reception was closed.We had to knock on locked doors for minutes in order to get accommodation to check in to our room which was quite tiresome.Also,the room we were in was not as spacious as we'd thought it'd be,the television was not working and there was no shower gel in the bathroom ..Not to mention,a lady from a room near us saw 2 cockroaches in her bedroom ...However,the hotel had an extraordinary view overlooking the beautiful island and also breakfast was very good.Overall,if I happen to go again to Santorini I won't choose my stay to be in there,but if you want something simple andaffordable I recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony so you can see the view more clearly
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at Goulielmos for just one night. This was our 4th time in Santorini. We wanted something a bit calmer than Fira/Firostefani/Immerovigli but with caldera views, so we focused on Akrotiri. Goulielmos looked fine, plus it was only €80 - which for August in Santorini - is very reasonable. The hotel is family run, and has been open around 20 years. Sisters Anna and Maria took care of most administrative chores. Only 16 rooms, nonetheless, it felt even smaller. There isn't too much construction nearby (as in other Santorini caldera-facing towns).

Our room had excellent views of the caldera. It wasn't too big, but provided just what we needed. It was on the second floor. We had a private balcony with a small table and two chairs. Our bathroom was renovated recently (no shower curtain though...but it's not uncommon in Greece). There is a tiny beach down the road in front of the hotel, as well as a simple taverna. Not too many people on the beach or the taverna, which was absolutely perfect for us.

If you rent a car/vespa/quad, you could explore the southern tip of the island between Akrotiri and the lighthouse. It is much calmer than other parts of the island. For me, it felt like staying in a different island altogether.

Wi-fi was excellent, throughout the hotel complex. Breakfast was very good, including a good variety of salty and sweet things (homemade omelette, spanakopita, cookies, breads, cake...).

Overall a simple hotel in a quiet location with caldera views. Excellent price/quality ratio. An authentic hotel, without a rowboat on the deck....

Room Tip: Choose room 16 or any room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at Goulielmos for just one night. This was our 4th time in Santorini. We wanted something a bit calmer than Fira/Firostefani/Immerovigli but with caldera views, so we focused on Akrotiri. Goulielmos looked fine, plus it was only €80 - which for August in Santorini - is very reasonable. The hotel is family run, and has been open around 20 years. Sisters Anna and Maria took care of most administrative chores. Only 16 rooms, nonetheless, it felt even smaller. There isn't too much construction nearby (as in other Santorini caldera-facing towns).

Our room had excellent views of the caldera. It wasn't too big, but provided just what we needed. It was on the second floor. We had a private balcony with a small table and two chairs. Our bathroom was renovated recently (no shower curtain though...but it's not uncommon in Greece). There is a tiny beach down the road in front of the hotel, as well as a simple taverna. Not too many people on the beach or the taverna, which was absolutely perfect for us.

If you rent a car/vespa/quad, you could explore the southern tip of the island between Akrotiri and the lighthouse. It is much more calm than other parts of the island. For me, it felt like staying in a different island altogether.

Wi-fi was excellent, throughout the hotel complex. Breakfast was very good, including a good variety of salty and sweet things (home made omelette, spanakopita, cookies, breads, cake...).

Overall a simple hotel in a quiet location with caldera views. Excellent price/quality ratio. An authentic hotel, without a rowboat on the deck....

Room Tip: Choose room 16 or any room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This Hotel was so different from the others, the owner and his daughters made you feel like you were Royalty. Their kindness and helpful nature was so refreshing. We arrived late at night (around 11:30pm), and thought we would have to take a bus to the hotel, when we realised, the owner, George himself, had personally got out of his bed, to fetch us from the dock. When we arrrived we couldn't see much, but OH MY WORD....the next morning we work up to the most magical, mesmerising view you can imagine! (and i live in Cape Town and know all about beautiful views ;) We enjoyed the loveliest breakfasts (i can still taste their greek pastry specialities...delish) and meals at the hotel and we could walk down to the beach, which was private. The sunsets from the Caldera was a most spectacular event! Unfortunately I happened to get sick during our stay and the Owner, George ...again ...gladly offered to drive me to the hospital where i received immediate attention and medication which sorted out my problem, so i could enjoy the rest of my stay in Greece. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel. I can't wait to go back to Magical Greece again....and to say hi to George and his girls :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Goulielmos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goulielmos Hotel

Address: Akrotiri 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Akrotiri
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Akrotiri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Goulielmos Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Goulielmos is situated at the village Acrotiri at the cladera rim of Santorini. It has a scenic view into the volcanic caldera and to the sunset. The simple but nice equiped rooms have a view to the caldera or to the garden. Taverns, the Balos-Beach and a rent a car are situated in about 5 minutes distance by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Goulielmos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goulielmos Hotel Santorini/Akrotiri, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goulielmos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.